Imitation MOMO Steering Wheel

risyia

Just saw the unthinkable happened to a friend. His steering wheel came off the base as he was driving the car. Good thing it was in slow heavy traffic, had it happen at high speed along the highway he might not have survive to tell his tale. After that he had to drive slowly using the T-angle spanner to the nearest car park.

Moral of story avoid these imitations at all cost.

iam not liking the news, but thank you for the heads up sir, appreciate it

how old is that steering btw?

got pix of the damage?

Geez... Thanks for that warning man... There are a lot of copy momo flooding the market... But seriously, what can happen? I think if the steering comes off, it has more to do with installation fault/neglect.

OMG this scares the hell out of me more than anything coz i can just imagine if it comes off while driving let it be on the highways or on the streets
dam that would be horrible :banghead:

how exactly did it come off? did it break off ? or the nuts were lose and it just came off?

From what I can see the steering components come in 2 pieces, the actual steering wheel and the boss kit.

The boss kit is bolted to the steering column but the steering wheel is only hammered/mounted into the boss kit without any screws, the way I figured it out over time the steering wheel came off from its mounting on the boss kit.

Will take photos when I meet this guy again.

MOMO steering is lock to the boss kit with allen bolts..

happpened to me once while driving a rented kancil... but it snapped not at boss kit... rather at the spoke... i guess I had that coming since I felt the steering bendable... like its made of plastic rather than metal

....imagine... have to tow the car back to the owner just because of the stupid steering...

OMG this scares the hell out of me more than anything coz i can just imagine if it comes off while driving let it be on the highways or on the streets
dam that would be horrible :banghead:

Imagine attacking corners :biggrin:

From what I can see the steering components come in 2 pieces, the actual steering wheel and the boss kit.

The boss kit is bolted to the steering column but the steering wheel is only hammered/mounted into the boss kit without any screws, the way I figured it out over time the steering wheel came off from its mounting on the boss kit.

Will take photos when I meet this guy again.

Cannot be just mounted on la... Tink Titan Rev's explanation should make sense... Hmm... Didn't know low quality boss kit can cause this much danger :nurse:

what is the boss kit?Is it the release hub that look like the suspensikon thing bolted on steering main column before attaching the steering wheel to it?

Kinda lost here but my car also equipped with that...second hand car what to do but this story is make me have all the good reason to turning back the steering wheel into OEM one.

i think this isolated case should not cause panic to everyone to change back to OEM.

I myself have used imitation momo on my wira since....2003 and till now, nothing has gone wrong besides ............nothing.

Using Original Nardi on my putra for 2 years and its still feels the same.

Using original steering on my Inspira for 5 months, nothing wrong ( DUH, if it breaks, then i break proton's head )

so yeah. guys, just keep using the imitation as how we normally would.

Darkaccoon, is correct before the steering came off there was sign like 'loose feeling' but this friend of mine choose to ignore it until the complete failure.

what is the boss kit?Is it the release hub that look like the suspensikon thing bolted on steering main column before attaching the steering wheel to it?

Kinda lost here but my car also equipped with that...second hand car what to do but this story is make me have all the good reason to turning back the steering wheel into OEM one.

Ok. on a stock steering. The steering wheel is attached to the spline shaft of the steering system with a big nut around size 14. IIRC.

When we change to aftermarket steering most of them need to be bolted by 6 allen bolts. Therefore, the need of the boss kit comes into the picture, The boss kit is like an adapter. The boss kit is fitted over the spline shaft then tighten and lock with the original nut. Then only you fit the aftermarket steering wheel onto the boss kit with the allen bolts supplied together with the steering.

oh crap...i used a cheapo boss kit for my cheapo momo...

hope i installed it right dat time...

until we see the clear picture of that broken parts then we can justify which was the cause....

u suspect it was the installation (screw/boss kit)

I suspect its caused by human error, either by the installer or the owner. I have used immitation momo steering with quick release boss kit for almost 2 years - and using it on track summore. It feels fine. I have done regular self-inspection on every components before any event though to make sure everything perform as it should.