ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

Saw a couple of nice pictures of your Corona's, 2Old2Rusty.
I think, I stop looking for changes at my 3A!! :bawling:

And watching these pictures, I saw something, that leads to the next question:
Your shocks are fixed on the front position of the dome, mine to the back.

'Cause I did not look at that, before my shocks got changed, I have no idea, how it was before.
Also I guess, b/c of not only your 2 cars, I should turn them to the front position.
Even if it is only 1-2 cm, how much does that change, please?
I do not experience strange differences. The car runs straight, the wheel is coming back, so.....?
Nice to get another info.
By the way, a Engine swap, like in your car, how much is that, in Malaysia?? :hmmmm:

• Dome.jpg
    Dome.jpg
    28.7 KB · Views: 97
Hi sifus and fellow bros.

Want to ask xMika or other ST171 with 3S-FE engine users, whenever u guys step on the oil pedal to rev the engine during maybe a race during those traffic light red, green go situation, usually which range of rev would u guys feel the engine produce most of the power when moving? And when do u guys shift?

Ever pass 4k rpm? Cause usually for me during those more racing situation, I usually shift somewhere at 4k, cause I usually get tht feeling tht u know u should shift at that rev level.

Btw, as an added information, for Kuching ppl like me, even during racing situation, most of us would only go somewhere 90kmh or 100kmh speed (very rare tho) due to the poor road condition in the city plus not much long straight road here.

mcjrc1899: well bro, i don't know how the roads are at kuching, but i can tell u, it's not really a bed of roses here as well... would love to have singapore kind of roads with... but when u go there, scared to speed coz to many cameras, and they'll make u pay b4 u leave their country... the only really nice bit of road would be the new maju expressway...

phileos:don't worry for ur car, i've seen many parts in klang and shah alam chop shops... u just have to be a bit hardworking to find them...

---------- Post added at 01:41 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:38 AM ----------

Saw a couple of nice pictures of your Corona's, 2Old2Rusty.
I think, I stop looking for changes at my 3A!! :bawling:

And watching these pictures, I saw something, that leads to the next question:
Your shocks are fixed on the front position of the dome, mine to the back.

'Cause I did not look at that, before my shocks got changed, I have no idea, how it was before.
Also I guess, b/c of not only your 2 cars, I should turn them to the front position.
Even if it is only 1-2 cm, how much does that change, please?
I do not experience strange differences. The car runs straight, the wheel is coming back, so.....?
Nice to get another info.
By the way, a Engine swap, like in your car, how much is that, in Malaysia?? :hmmmm:

most probly ur mechanic put them in the wrong side, but i don't know bout the side effects... well if u think properly, i would assume that 1cm on top the movement at the bottom would be more at the bottom rite, i.e the front tyre would move to the front???

Hello Corona Ice,
thanks for the answer.
Maybe the last mechanic, during the changes, or one/some mechanic before that, who knows!
I try to picture that, but I will have to take off the tyre and look. I saw that knuckle only one time, till now.
How many mm will the front tyre be able, to move to the front? Side effect b/c of this will be??
:hmmmm:
It should be a change in the castor, from best straightforward to better handling. That's how I understand it. Anything else, beside that?
It might be, that there is something more, that I miss in my picture. That's why I'm asking.
Looks like, I'll have to try it, anyway. But will wait till the weekend, maybe I can find/get more information before!
Thanks!

Coro

i'm just assuming that the front wheel will misaligned, i'm not to sure what will really happen, coz i'm normally at the mechanics shop when i change my stuff on the car...plus i buy my own parts so that this kind of mess wouldn't happen... but than again, if nothing is wrong with the way ur car is handling and performing, i guess there's nothing to worry about...

That shock absorber top mount being mounted towards the headlamps or towards the firewall/brake servo is called caster, if I'm not mistaken. I'm running with the top mounts facing inwards (towards the firewall) too, my car is having some bump steer problem but I'm not sure whether it has anything to do with the way the top mount is positioned. You can take a look at some info (go to the "caster" section) here:

http://www.ozebiz.com.au/racetech/theory/align.html

Interesting info in that link, thanks!!
Looks like, I have a plan for Sat. and Sun. :idea:
Have to change the wheels from back to front, anyway. So not a big deal, to turn the mounting position, also.

And your 'bump steer problems', did you modify your car with rims and/or wheel spacer's to a different offset?
In case, you did, I know that to much 'less' can create steering problems. In case, it is now a zeroset or a inset = good looking/bad driving.

But my car is mostly untouched, I guess. At time, I do not really experience steering problems. Running 14" alloy with 'asphalt cutters'. The biggest modification (beside the bloody 3A engine) is probably, that the part shop delivered T171 struts instead of T151's, the garage collected and installed them, without questioning that. And I saw it only, because I did read the sticker on that box. But till now, no problems, b/c of this. (eh, I think ;-)

It's 'only', that I saw it on several pictures, and wanna know about this 2 options. And, of course, I did not see a single picture with 'my' position, always the front mounting, only, what makes it a bit more interesting.

Is anyone knowing a Toyota mechanic, 'willings' to tell us, WHY there are 2 positions available? :hmmmm:

Take a look at this photo, copied from the Nology thread:

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/hs250.snc6/179888_1269110304005_1717285882_485822_1696384_n.jpg
(Sorry yea bro Boode, borrow your pic..)

This is installed in an LE (AE80) but the top mount is identical to the Corona's. On this car the top mount is installed facing the firewall too..

@MCJRC1899

Hihi .. I'm here to answer your question haha ... well, i dont really look at the rev meter when i drive .. just a glance only .. I dont shift gears according to rev meter but I feel my engine instead .. during daytime where the air temperature is hot, I have to shift earlier which is around 2.8k rpm .. at night time where its the optimum temperature for engine to run .. I shift gears at 3.2k rpm ...

For average lah this is my driving style

1st gear ~2nd gear - 2.5k rpm
2nd ~3rd ` 2.8k rpm
3rd~4th gear 3k rpm 4th~5th ? Seldom shift to 5th gear unless driving like uncle or cruising at highspeed, above 110kmph because the throttle response is not so good at this gear

My favorite gear is 4th gear because thats the best haha .. always maintain rev range 3k~3.5k .. when overtake is around 3.8k~4k rpm

This is installed in an LE (AE80) but the top mount is identical to the Corona's. On this car the top mount is installed facing the firewall too..

So someone more, makes us 3, having the mount installed this way.
Actually, as more I think/read about it, as less I'm worried. 1-2 cm on the top, that will not change the caster to much. Still the strut will be 'behind' the upright position, I think. 'll see that at the weekend.
My guess, it's made for little adjustments between directional stability and handling.

Used for T151 and AE80, minimum. Any other models with this mount, maybe some rwd's?
Anyone????
:hmmmm:

@MCJRC1899

Hihi .. I'm here to answer your question haha ... well, i dont really look at the rev meter when i drive .. just a glance only .. I dont shift gears according to rev meter but I feel my engine instead .. during daytime where the air temperature is hot, I have to shift earlier which is around 2.8k rpm .. at night time where its the optimum temperature for engine to run .. I shift gears at 3.2k rpm ...

For average lah this is my driving style

1st gear ~2nd gear - 2.5k rpm
2nd ~3rd ` 2.8k rpm
3rd~4th gear 3k rpm 4th~5th ? Seldom shift to 5th gear unless driving like uncle or cruising at highspeed, above 110kmph because the throttle response is not so good at this gear

My favorite gear is 4th gear because thats the best haha .. always maintain rev range 3k~3.5k .. when overtake is around 3.8k~4k rpm

Hahaha... We have two totally different shift point during normal drive, I usually shift at 2k rpm or below a bit, usually by somewhere 50kmh I'm already in 5th gear. Tho this is because I usually drive like an Ah Pek cause usually like to drive slow in the morning and afternoon. You drive something like my father, he would usually drag the gear higher when compare to me.

But then if u ever come to Kuching and was driving around in Kuching city during late in Saturday night, if u ever saw a silver Corona pass by u, most likely it me, haha... Tho this car is a great cruiser at low speed, but the engine sound when u rev it high is so good that u can get addicted to it even with stock exhaust.. Plus, my car don't have a player cause the old one spoil and never find a reason to replace it, so the car engine sound is my music when I drive the car, haha..

Actually, as more I think/read about it, as less I'm worried. 1-2 cm on the top, that will not change the caster to much. Still the strut will be 'behind' the upright position, I think. 'll see that at the weekend.
My guess, it's made for little adjustments between directional stability and handling.

Update:

I changed the mounting position, :driver: it, and..... changed it back.

The changing from the back to the front position made the car a bit more 'nervous', I think (that I could feel that).
Maybe only, b/c I expected it, or simple and easy, because I have only 175- tires on it. Steering is anyway not needing much power, would probably feel different, with 2xx tires.
And it is, till now (today ;-) a car for wet conditions, so a bit more straightforward can't be wrong!

Also I had a smalltalk with a guy from a tire shop. He told me, that the Corona did come with the back position, some decades ago.
Without some other modifications (camber, toe, tires, suspension, maybe engine power, use of the car), he would question the need of it.

That's for now, I'm focused on my carb problem, again.

Update:

I changed the mounting position, :driver: it, and..... changed it back.

The changing from the back to the front position made the car a bit more 'nervous', I think (that I could feel that).
Maybe only, b/c I expected it, or simple and easy, because I have only 175- tires on it. Steering is anyway not needing much power, would probably feel different, with 2xx tires.
And it is, till now (today ;-) a car for wet conditions, so a bit more straightforward can't be wrong!

Also I had a smalltalk with a guy from a tire shop. He told me, that the Corona did come with the back position, some decades ago.
Without some other modifications (camber, toe, tires, suspension, maybe engine power, use of the car), he would question the need of it.

That's for now, I'm focused on my carb problem, again.

i'm also on 175 tires temporarily... need to burn sum rubber till my hearts content than change to larger width...

so when u changed the mounting, u feel that it became worst???:hmmmm: that makes me want to change to ur setup just to try..well the carb is pretty hard..:idea:maybe u can check with ragerunner if he hasn't sold his old engine, u can buy his carb cheap from him to try...

---------- Post added at 12:51 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:48 AM ----------

http://www.mudah.my/Side+mirror+toyota+starlet+ep71+turbo-8075236.htm

for ragerunner! u'll have a matching pair! happy family!

lol, thanks for looking out for me bro! looks very tempting.. but price abit.. haha, you know la..
can ep71 side mirror fit our Corona? :hmmmm:

i think technically can... coz he did say 3 wires... try first la...or swap with him...
and do think about helping coro3a, see if u 2 could strike a deal for ur carb...

so when u changed the mounting, u feel that it became worst???:hmmmm: that makes me want to change to ur setup just to try..w

Hi _Ice, thanks for trying to get me a carb! But I still have to find out, what is wrong with the old one. Or what is wrong with the adjustment of the old one! Part of the carb problem is the vacuum system. I need to get some information, how the right connecting will be done. What part I do not need, b/c no more SCV. I'm looking for a manual about 3A/4A engines, to light that up. Also I can't identify this bloody carb, start thinking, it is a taiwan model.

But back to the mounting:

Don't get me wrong, please. I'm not a mechanic, it's only personal feeling and reading a lot, in the last 2 weeks, about. Pretty sure, I didn't understand all the coherences. Changing one parameter, only, may not be a big result. So if you change, I wouldn't expect major differences!
Oh, how about the driving differences, with your :burnout: tires (175) and your driving tires (2xx?)
Also, is the offset the same?? Original it is 38 mm, I got told (and my rims have 38mm), what about your other rims? positiv/negativ

But anyway, it needs 2x5 minutes, a wrench for 2x4(3) nuts, and a jack to lift the tire 1 cm, that you can spin the mounting.

I tried it for a 20 minutes drive, one of the roads with less traffic and some nice curves.
My feeling was, that the corona followed the curves easier, but needed a bit demand, to come back to straight forward. If I would drive this adjustment some days, it would be as normal, probably, as my actual one!

Also one question: The adjustments for toe and camber, at your car, done with the front mounting position, right?
My one is done with the mounting on the back. After the car got new shocks, I went for adjustment. But b/c I know, how most adjustments are done, I checked first the middle position of the steering linkage myself. (My Corona has 4 turns from right to left / left to right, so middle position is 2 turns). I adjusted the wheel to that middle position, BEFORE driving for adjustments.
And than I had to push a bit, that they adjusted toe and camber to that, and not the steering wheel to their adjustments, after!
(But the car is driving fine, only the wheel...)
The good thing was, I could show them, why I wanted it that way: Full turn right, the left tire did touch the plastic cover, inside. And that for longer, cause previous work on that 'problem' led to 'cut of a square of that cover, than it doesn't touch'! :adore:

That means: I know for sure, that the adjustment is well done. And for slalom driving, the motorcycle is a better choice, here! :biggrin:

But anyway, I could buy a Toyota Manual for the AT151. Will get it next month, and will check, what Toyota is saying about the mounting. If it is interesting, I will post it!

And today, I will look around and ask for a Toyota 3A/4A engine manual. Maybe I'm lucky :nurse:

:driver:

• driver-rhd.gif
    driver-rhd.gif
    9 KB · Views: 504