i have 1 extra up for grap
taken off halfcut
mint condition

feipepe

May 12, 2010
balakong
meg_omen,
how comes to setting the 20valve without using the VVT? do u have any detail? have anything part need to prepare it? do u have set it before?

meg_omen

Oct 28, 2004
Home - Klang; O
it's all depends on your usage...:hmmmm:
coz VVT actually to give better drive at low rpm, it's normally closed around 6800-7000rpm...
some people in AE111 Owners Club Forum disable it even while using stock cams...

you need adjustable intake cam pulley, then just unplug the VVT selenoid wire connector...

ps... VVT light seller will advise you otherwise...:love:

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
i think the VVT is to increase torque.. right?

if u disable it, torque would be lower..

so, not good for daily driving on normal road..

simple solution is this :

if u always rev around 2-5k rpm, u need the VVT..

if u always rev around 6-8k rpm, u dont need it..

Gudluck :burnout:

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
To be exact, VVT helps a lot in the lower rev range as the 20v was originally designed to have poor low rev torque. With VVT, it improves driveability and saves fuel as well due to increased intake timing when VVT kicks in. Unless if you're using hicams over 272 duration, there's no need to remove VVT unless you totally cant take the "diesel noise" anymore =)

Its best to retain VVT since one of the main feature of 20V is its VVT and Toyota spent tons of money doing R&D for the 20V. Luckily, for us in malaysia we get the choice to get it serviced professionally. Just so you know, VVT pulley is a wear & tear part which needs to be replaced over time & mileage.

tonyops

Oct 28, 2010
Sarawak
does anyone of you 20v enthusiast know whether the VVT pulley can be serviced?? Or is it just a one time use item and must be changed to new one???

2slow

May 2, 2005

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Is my vvt pulley need to be service or kong already? Coz I notice when vvt kick at low range RPM (below 3.5K), the engine behave like choking, Instead of giving more output when vvt kick, if feel like it give lower engine power.

Then I disconnect OCV socket so that no more choking feels. Today, I've carried out few trouble shooting.
1-Connect OCV direct to battery and start engine --> VVT kick all the time but idling very bad. Idling drop to 500 rpm and battery voltage also fluctuated.
2-Dismantle OCV and wire direct to battery and start the engine (OCV port blocked to prevent oil leak)
-->OCV engage,vvt not kick and normal idling.

Is it this problem came from vvt pulley?
Did oil pressure give effect to vvt operation?

cuscostrutbrace

Jul 10, 2004
Yes the oil pressure have huge effect on vvt (or any other systems with variable valve phasing or switching)

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
So how am I to generally check oil pressure?
When I open the oil cap while engine running, I can saw oil splashing from it. Can oil pressure check using this way?
Or must have oil pressure gauge?

pcmoddingmy

Mar 23, 2006
www.pcmoddingmy.com
Yes, VVT works best when oil pressure is good. Normally, when VVT kick in, oil pressure will drop a bit and climb back up.
Oil pressure gauge is the only way to check oil pressure. You can get a sandwich adapter n install it between your oil filter. Then mount the oil press sensor to the sandwich plate be it mechanical or electronic sensor. I have one sandwich plate which im not using at the moment. PM me if u want it ;)

me2kimi

Jun 25, 2007
Puchong
Is BT and SVT cam pulley interchangeable? Coz if I mot mistaken, there is a different between BT and SVT timing belt. Currently I am using SVT and if I want to use BT cam pulley, is it necessary to change timing belt as well?

beyond

Sep 14, 2005
KayEL
ANyone serviced their VVT?
My regular workshop is not offering the service.
The sound tak tak tak is damn unbearable. LOL