RON 97 or RON 95 for turbo?

turbolover

Nov 17, 2005
Hey guys,
I think i'm sticking to RON 97 come sept 1.what about u guys since turbo engine r on the sensitive side?:confused:

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
ron95

sr20 drinks a lot of fuel,thats more than enough to make me decide to put ron95 on her
not goin to boost anyway,turbo kong,haha,
eh,sr20 can run on ron95 or not?hehe

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
nuthing wrong in using d 95 pun, just get ur tuning right jer ler. in fact, my puny 4efte is factory tuned for 88RON so a 95 (or a 92 for dat matter) is way better den what is recommended by the manufacturer. what engine are u using?

turbolover

Nov 17, 2005
wei!u guys r hardcore la.haha.maybe ur rides r thirsty.lucky mine is still ok if i use ron97.wont be too costly to my pocket.anyone know whats the minimum requirement for 4g93t?

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
can sure can ron95.if everything ok for a while,let say,a month,then it would be fine.hahahaha.(please dont follow this advice)

put gen2 with ron92,the minimum is ron 95,selamber,rev here and there,engine still ok.hahaha

SkYwAlKeR

Mar 12, 2005
ePoh ~ malacca
if boosting high, use higher octane fuel... this reduces detonation....
if u not boosting (like egb18c), low octane fuel also ok... coz forced induction engine has lower compression compare to NA engines... hence, they will not experience knocking as long as turbine doesnt spool up...

bebolagalas T

Jul 18, 2007
dont put this thing on EVO...high risk huhu..

turbolover

Nov 17, 2005
Then mine should be ok la since my boost only 0.5 bar.hehe.

xtremeleo

Oct 18, 2005
no, use the recommended ron or higher

most cars nowadays have been fitted wit an ignition retarder aka knock sensor, so using any available RON pun takpe. a 95 is the minimum specified by proton for the gen2? then there shudnt be any issue ler kan

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
just wondering, issit the ron97 we using now is Real ron97..?? u know la... sometimes in malaysia, anything can happen 1... announce ron97 & ron95, but actually just put the ron95 on ron92, same goes to ron95 then put ron97...

khoyos

Nov 23, 2003
what i plan on doing is to run 95ron with water injection kit. at least can help reduce the potential hazards that might arise...

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
what i plan on doing is to run 95ron with water injection kit. at least can help reduce the potential hazards that might arise...
if 'they' claim that water/met injection can raise the ron up to 116 when using ron97, then how is the ron when using ron95..??

egb18c

Feb 8, 2006
kuantan
simple math, 97-95 is 2,so if 116 minus 2 is 114,so the ron with ron 95 is 114.hahaha.
thats so not right,i guess.

but when the combustion chamber is cooler,so it is safer to use ron 95.
and theres a lot of guys out there are using alcohol+water to gain more power.alcohol for the extra umph,and water to make it run cooler,
a but then,how to mix alcohol with water?aha.ok,this is so out of topic.

Last night me colleague & I was driving along jalan raja chulan heading toward jalan sultan ismail's traffic light, after the traffic lights my colleague signalled to turn right to a lane (she was on the middle lane then). Suddently a black perdana came from behind on the right and we almost collided. He subsequently blocked our car and wanted to drag my colleague out. Luckily her door was locked. She lowered her window to appologies to the guy but he continued to shout and swear at her and...