problem with auto gear box....need help

anakin

Jul 27, 2005
Dear all,

i'm driving a EJ7 auto civic. recently i have a problem with my gear box. during the morning first start of my car, when i try to switch to reverse gear by selecting "R", the gear box actually doesn't switch and remain in neutral. i have to ramp the engine until it become warm enough before it can switchover. this problem only occur during early morning starting. may i know what's the cause of it? what shall i do now?

anakin

Jul 27, 2005
i've tried by changing my gear box oil but this morning problem still occur. can anybody help me on this?

CA Gan

Jan 23, 2006
u can check the gear box oil first, if the oil become black and badly smell, your gear box confirm kong liao! the normal gear box oil suppose to be red color (original oil).

Most of the mechanic was mentioned that Civic auto gear box seldom spoiled even though the gear box oil dry.

So, this is one of the method you can check.

anakin

Jul 27, 2005
when i was replacing the gear box oil yesterday, i found that the gear oil still have a bit of redish...not totally black color. and the dont have a strong smell. usually i'll replace it every 20k+ km. but the problem is the gear box still functioning well, the only problem is during initial startup at morning when the engine is still cold. i believe if the gear box kong liao, i dont think my car can be running. am i right?

CA Gan

Jan 23, 2006
Something is weird... never see this kind of problem b4.
you may send your car to workshop for checking, tel your problem.

How long you got to wait until the gear really can switchover??
maybe due to improper gear engagement for that particular gear.

anakin

Jul 27, 2005
it takes bout 20-30 sec for it to switchover. but if i ramp it, then it will be faster, like 5-10 sec.

CA Gan

Jan 23, 2006
if you're interested in Manual, better convert to manual gear box (cheaper).
the problem will be resolved.

No require JPJ approved for gear conversion.

kuNyit

Jul 27, 2004
Moon
or change the engine with B series...
sure you will satisfied!

anakin

Jul 27, 2005
i do hope i can have the budget to convert to B series....too bad....

anyway, i've just spoken to a workshop nearby my office. they told me the gear box is no good liao, so most probably have to replace it. but he said i can try flush the gear box, but he said the chances wont be that high.

how much does it required to replace with a second hand gear box? if i wanna go for a manual gear box, what else do i need to replace other than the gear box itself? and how much will it cost?

CA Gan

Jan 23, 2006
Do not flush the gear box, it doesn't help much!

I had replaced the second hand auto gear box for my car last time due to
gear box issue as well. Mine one even worst, the gear couldn't change
automatically, the car keep running in low gear..ooh sucks!

The cost for 2nd hand auto gear box is within RM1.8k~2k. You shall know
the gear box condition within 2 months whether the GB is OK or not.

Manual gear box installation will require some modification of engine parts,
i not sure what are the engine area involved but the cost is cheaper compare
to auto GB. Of course the manual GB will be powerful and less maintenance
as well.

So, is depend on you which one do you prefer whether auto or manual.
The reason why i didn't change to manual because that workshop lacks
of some spare parts. Hope this will help...

anakin

Jul 27, 2005
wow....how come replacing with a manual gear box will be cheaper than a direct plug in auto gear box? isnt that replacing with manual gear box will involve more items (like gear knob, gear clucth.....) and more labor charges?

do u have any idea how much cheaper to replace with a manual gear box? for me, i prefer to have a manual gear box cause it will defenitely have a lower maintainance cost, but initially i though it will be more expensive, but i think i was wrong.....

suduRed

Sep 27, 2005
Bdr.Sri.Dmsara
nowdays,i saw a lot of EJ on the road been convert to B series...from the sound comeout surely i know especially when vtec engage time...point here is,you can ask ur fren or any famous honda workshop regarding manual/auto GB for D series...l believe u can find it with unexpected price... The best things is...find B series,press the fuel pedal and u will not regret hehehehe.......BTW gud luk fren

CA Gan

Jan 23, 2006
The price for manual should be below RM1.6k, i'm not sure this price is included
gear knob, clutch...etc.

You can ask any workshop nearby and compare the price...

If you have enuff budget, convert to B series... just pnp..

moosilai

Feb 9, 2006
CA Gan said:
The cost for 2nd hand auto gear box is within RM1.8k~2k. You shall know
the gear box condition within 2 months whether the GB is OK or not.

fren, the cost to replace the auto gearbox at RM1.8K~2K including labor charges or not?

Proton spend money to make

a) Waja cost = RM1.2 billion
b) Gen.2 cost = RM1.3 billion
c) Savvy cost = RM850 million

With that cost Proton should produce car like Camry, Vios, City but sadly to said ....................... :banghead: :banghead: then compare with Produa

a) Myvi cost = RM580 million

Based on that figure, cost lower but quality & performance 3x better than higher cost................... What happen?
Brother, you sure...