Mivec 1.6 upgrade by stages. Anyone can help??

LuKa

Jul 14, 2005
Kedah
maintenance is cheaper since less parts involve... but to increase hp.. a lot you hv to spend for but gains are minimal..

catan

Jul 2, 2004
Png
Hi, i m new guy here, i have question, if 1.6mivec rojak with 1.8 block,why got knocking sound?
what piston used in the engine?

Any piggyback for the A/F and ignition tuning?

might be too high compression or lean a/fuel ratio......

joe2d

Feb 10, 2010
To all the expert out there...
need your help... can anyone PM me for this modification upgrade stage by stage??
tq very much...
for N/A to supercharges...
From NA to supercharger? Stage by stage? ok let's simplify

1st stage
bolt on supercharger, roots type is cheaper & common but less compression, twin screw better compression but more expensive, centrifugal supercharger best max hp but less compression at lower revs. High flow air filter & 4-1 performance exhaust.

2nd stage
ECU, a/f controller, high volume fuel pump, pulley kit to control boost, intercooler.

3rd stage
Forged pistons, con-rod & crankshafts, performance cams, high volume fuel injectors.

For supercharger tuning, the valve timing is very crucial. Since intake pressure is higher than exhaust pressure in a supercharged engine, the boost might escape through exhaust valve if not properly tuned. This problem is usual on supercharged cars but not usual on turbo or na cars, cause turbo cars have high exhaust back pressure to balance the intake pressure while na engine isn't force compressed.

I'm having this problem for sometime in my evo 3, in complete standstill ,engage first gear then when releasing the clutch and the car about to move , there's a rattling soung , like metal to metal (tak tak tak), first I thought wheel bearing but after replacing it , still got the sound, dunno whether its clutch release bearing or maybe flywheel. Anybody got experience this before?,tq