Looking for a BMW E36

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
currently looking for a E36 318 year 92-94.

anyone?

pls call 012-353 2933 Damon interested buyer here.

fardell83

Nov 8, 2005
Why not have a try on 325i E36, it's getting pretty cheap nowadays

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
really?wat the market price now mate?

fardell83

Nov 8, 2005
Roughly around Rm45k for a 1994 325i....why 325i? Because it uses the same engine as the E34 525i, plus it is a new engine known as VANOS engine, use timing chain instead of timing belt as per used in the 318i before 1996. Plus it got more torque....192bhp.....

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
318 from year 92-94 r using timing belt instaed of chain rite?some senior told me 318 tat using timing chain is more powerful than belt,issit true?

gary

May 9, 2005
subang
nothing to do with the chain or belt la.

its just that the later engines running the timing chain have a little more power, have 16valves, and revs better than the older M40 8v engine in the car you are looking at.

but remember, maintenance cost will be higher if you go for the 325. its 6 cyclinders, 2.5 litre.. more road tax, 6 litres of oil per change...etc.

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
actually my bro r looking for tis car,his budget is ard 30k only....

so not going for 325 due to the market price now r not on his side,how bout convert the stock M40 8v to a 2000cc 320 machine or 323 engine?

would jpj approve?

fardell83

Nov 8, 2005
So long as you are using the same manufacturer engine should be fine to them bro. Unless if u transplant a Japs engine.then u are in a big trouble...they wont approve.

gary

May 9, 2005
subang
5115 said:
actually my bro r looking for tis car,his budget is ard 30k only....

so not going for 325 due to the market price now r not on his side,how bout convert the stock M40 8v to a 2000cc 320 machine or 323 engine?

would jpj approve?
i think from 1.8 to 2.0 conversion, is still possible. but if his budget is only 30k.. thats quite a tight budget to be thinking of getting an E36, remember, it still a bmw, and maintenance is still higher than the average japanese car.

Then again, if he can afford the car at 30k, and still have enough cash to pay for an engine transplant, i think its a better bet to just buy a newer 318, something like a 96, or 97 model. Loan would also be easier because of the age of the car, and everything else is newer also. Also bear in mind, even when buying a 96 or 97 model car, one has to be prepared to spend anywhere from RM2000 - RM4000 to get the car up to good mechanical condition.. its very rare that someone does up a car mechanically before selling it. This is even more crucial if you are looking at a 92-94 model.

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
thanks bro fardell83 & gary,my bro got 10k for the 318 & he prefer to get a old 318 instead of newer version coz he is working in a continental half cut shop & he might get some staff price on parts he need.

i would like to know besides 325 machine,is there any engine with lower cc suit tis e36?and how is it's output?

fardell83

Nov 8, 2005
M3 engine, 3.2 liter inline six....chruns about 300++ bhp....not sure about that

equin0x

www.keiconcept.net
since we're at this, i would like to know also.. how's the maintenance of a E36 would be like? general service aside, what if some parts need replacement/broke down.. would the spare parts be easily available? and would be be pricey as compared to a normal japanese turbocharged engines? let say, a E36 gearbox kaput, what would be the cost like to fix it?

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
fardell83 said:
M3 engine, 3.2 liter inline six....chruns about 300++ bhp....not sure about that

wow....i means 323 or 320's machine,bro

fardell83

Nov 8, 2005
5115 said:
wow....i means 323 or 320's machine,bro
Heheheheehe sorry....my mistake.....well m going to send u some video wot u can do with ur car hehehehe

Hi sifus,

Need some advice here.
Few months back, my car a Proton Wira 1.6 has encountered swaying problem.
At times the steering would pull to the left and at times will be to the right even on a straight flat road (Kesas, NPE or Federal highway).
Even on straight road the steering always has to be corrected.
I've changed rims, 4pcs brand new tyres (PS3), all rear bushing (including trailing arm is brand new), alignment but things became worse!
Front lower arm (driver's side)...