bmw e36 318(m) - QUestions~

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
Dear sifus,
im planning to get a e36 318i,year 96' ,its manual, but im worry about the engine of the car. i think its the 4 cylinder 1.8 sohc engine (M43).
Does anyone have any experience of the car ?
-will it be under powered ?
-hard to maintain?
-or it will be a useless engine until the point that i have to converted the engine ?

thank Youuss and any comments is most appreciated.

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
maintenance difficulty - no
underpower - yez

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
yes,like supercharged sifu joe said,maintenance wise wont be a big issue.try to test drive 1 so you could understand better how "underpower" it is :driver:

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
thank you to both of u for the comments, i guess if i really do wanna get the car i would have to change to a 2.5litre engine at least and supercharged it like recently a 325 sold in the market, wanted to get the car but too late. hehe

btw thanks again

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
agreed with you bro test drive and feel it,as i'm still on a learning curve..............:burnout:,don la call sifu sifu here,later ppl will think i am a real sifu LOL

yes,like supercharged sifu joe said,maintenance wise wont be a big issue.try to test drive 1 so you could understand better how "underpower" it is :driver:

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
so humnle...so what's next?supercharged e39?

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
yea u are right,might be an e39 if budget permits,if not just an e36......... :burnout:
but gotta restore the aging e34 1st......:biggrin:
so humnle...so what's next?supercharged e39?

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
i think we gonna see a freshly restore e34 coming soon :)

Bump: i think we gonna see a freshly restore e34 coming soon :)

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
actually its nth much to shout about,jes want to freshen up the old retro look :burnout:

So I broke my clutch. Its from from a 6 speed sr20ve nissan primera P12 gearbox.
24 spline, 9 inch clutch.
My mechanic seems to have trouble finding the correct clutch kit set for me. Left in workshop 2 weeks already.

Anyone have any recommendation? 70% city drive so prefer soft clutch with enough bite for 225hp.
Please guide me to the correct clutch thanks!

PS: Ogura single plate clutch is a bad idea right? Saw one compatible ogura secondhand clutch for RM1600 in FB.