bmw e36 318(m) - QUestions~

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
Dear sifus,
im planning to get a e36 318i,year 96' ,its manual, but im worry about the engine of the car. i think its the 4 cylinder 1.8 sohc engine (M43).
Does anyone have any experience of the car ?
-will it be under powered ?
-hard to maintain?
-or it will be a useless engine until the point that i have to converted the engine ?

thank Youuss and any comments is most appreciated.

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
maintenance difficulty - no
underpower - yez

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
yes,like supercharged sifu joe said,maintenance wise wont be a big issue.try to test drive 1 so you could understand better how "underpower" it is :driver:

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
thank you to both of u for the comments, i guess if i really do wanna get the car i would have to change to a 2.5litre engine at least and supercharged it like recently a 325 sold in the market, wanted to get the car but too late. hehe

btw thanks again

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
agreed with you bro test drive and feel it,as i'm still on a learning curve..............:burnout:,don la call sifu sifu here,later ppl will think i am a real sifu LOL

yes,like supercharged sifu joe said,maintenance wise wont be a big issue.try to test drive 1 so you could understand better how "underpower" it is :driver:

Nobody
Dec 21, 2005
so humnle...so what's next?supercharged e39?

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
yea u are right,might be an e39 if budget permits,if not just an e36......... :burnout:
but gotta restore the aging e34 1st......:biggrin:
so humnle...so what's next?supercharged e39?

hungJAcky

Oct 3, 2007
i think we gonna see a freshly restore e34 coming soon :)

Bump: i think we gonna see a freshly restore e34 coming soon :)

jo-e34

Apr 18, 2005
seremban
actually its nth much to shout about,jes want to freshen up the old retro look :burnout:

hi all. anyone know where can i get report for imported car in MY? going to purchase my first recond car from seller. but the seller told that all car sold by him is in excellent grade. can someone guide some noob here. thanks.