ICE Setup - Budget RM1300 only :(

Kai Sheng

Dec 1, 2006
Hi guys...

I'm helping my friend here... wanna ask you all some advice for him.

He just bought a Satria last week. Now he is planning to install some ICE in his car (his car audio sounds OK.. but he said he is not satisfied with it).

Now the thing is... his budget is only RM1300. Now if possible.. can anyone give any advice or instruction on what can be done with RM1300???

Can he fit in a setup that has a woofer with just that budget?? Does he need rear speakers?? What sort of speaker should he go for the front setup?? What about pre-amp?? How many amp does he need?? And lastly... does he need to do sound proofing in my car??

And also... he is driving in a sort of kampung area. So he wants to know if it is possible to make it so that the sound from his music won't make it outside of his car. Meaning... people outside won't hear what he is listening to...

Lastly... which one would you guys advice. Go straight with full system (comp. speaker, HU, amp, woofer) with that RM1300 or rather... just get himself a good HU and component speaker only.

He told me... as long as the sound produce can be much more better than his Altec Lansing VS4121 (a RM230 2.1 PC speaker) than he is very much satisfied already.

That's all folks... hope you guys can help out and give some usefull advice. Thanks...

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
sound proofing alone may cost u 200-300 juz fior the front door. An ok HU cost around 600-700. means left 300 to get amp and speaker and woofer which is totally impossible. So my advice: save up more :)

Kai Sheng

Dec 1, 2006
until how much is the safe spot to get a quite decent setup for sq??

I mean... how much does he needs???

Another thing... any advice on what should he put with that RM1300 for now?? Maybe a HU first or component or whatever??

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
decent sq might set u back at least 3-4k or even go into 5 digit hehehe..., u can try looking at ICE for sale section and look at this seller mnkh27. There are some nice sq package up for sale. For a starter, get a decent HU with at least 2 RCA pre out..

Kai Sheng

Dec 1, 2006
um... what about if he opt for a setup consisting of HU and Component Speaker only??

I mean.. what he wants is a setup that could match his cheapo Altec Lansing VS4121 (priced only RM230 in PC Depot). He is really impressed with the sound of that speaker and its subwoofer. I've listened to his PC speaker and I would say it is quite good for that price range. But I doubt he will need a good woofer to get a setup on par with that PC speaker (afterall.. its a different thing rite?? We can't compare a PC speaker with a car system).

So now... for quite a good listening... could he do it with just a HU and a front speaker. If yes.. what sort of front speaker?? Component?? 6x9 speaker?? Do he needs an amp for that??

dreamsquall

Aug 9, 2007
then go for beginner hu cost around 300++
then front 1 set 6" 2 way speaker(u can test from accesories shop for comparison) and 1 set good tweeter like alpine(i mean for tweeter only)
try this 1st la coz ur budget so low
if he already have a good hu then no need change la the hu
save for 2way amp and a woofer(i would say atleast 500 for this?)

jchin2

Sep 15, 2006
hi there...
for front spk u dont need the 6x9,just look for 2way or 3way component.

3way component is best for sq listening and might cause a bit more but for this low budget just get 2way component and slowly upgrade it. since you from penang why not try look around at penang acc shop to survey the component and by the way which part of penang u from?
for rm1.3k is not enough for sq listening.:biggrin: suggest that you just get cd player and front component speaker set....save up bit more to 1.5k-1.7k then u can get something branded thats sounds decent...

Kai Sheng

Dec 1, 2006
3 way component... what about the bass of those speakers?? Is it good?? Or very lacking without subwoofer??

hi there...
for rm1.3k is not enough for sq listening.:biggrin: suggest that you just get cd player and front component speaker set....save up bit more to 1.5k-1.7k then u can get something branded thats sounds decent...

You mean... I help him use that RM1.3k for a HU and a comp. speaker first. Then collect more around RM1.5k to RM1.7k and add a woofer and amp with it correct??

*Penang Gelugor area boss... can recommend me a good shop there are?? I assume you are from Penang as well???:adore:

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
Here is my suggestion for 1.3k ICE setup

HU- any brand around 400 (max)
Comp set- soundstream (300 only, look in the forum here)

then set apart around 200 for wiring and installation etc etc. Tats it for now. Next level upgrade, get 4 channel amplifier and sub.

strangex2

Mar 22, 2007
I will definitely go with bafukie's way.

Just split your budget between the head unit and component speakers. RM600 HU will be good for starters so you can stick with it for quite a while. RM500 for soundstream components and the rest will be for wiring. Installation should be FOC if you buy everything from there.

From there, surely tak puas, so you will maybe get a 2 channel amp + subwoofer. But the again, better get a 4 channel amp so you can power your components + your new subwoofer.

Oh yeah, don't waste your money on back speakers first. Concentrate on the front should be enough for now. Later surely regret if you compromise on ur fron components just because you wanna put some rear 3-way speakers.

jchin2

Sep 15, 2006
3 way component... what about the bass of those speakers?? Is it good?? Or very lacking without subwoofer??

yo bro,
are you into sql or spl?:hmmmm: .Why need so many bass in the front component?fix 2way or 3way component at front will give u good front stage, as if the singer sing from in front of u, like when u go see a live performance.nowadays most ppl play sql they usually concentrate on front speakers to get good sound.

You mean... I help him use that RM1.3k for a HU and a comp. speaker first. Then collect more around RM1.5k to RM1.7k and add a woofer and amp with it correct??

Yup..if u want bass u need to add a subwoofer and amp which will be the later stage when u save enough.

*Penang Gelugor area boss... can recommend me a good shop there are?? I assume you are from Penang as well???:adore:
Yes...I'm from penang also..but gelugor area don't hv good shop there...have lots of other acc shop in farlim,hutton lane which is budget ice. High end ice at bayan baru behind of hong leong bank.

I also agree with bafukie ideas.:biggrin:

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
i think no need to change the cd player yet. get a 4ch amp around 700, a sub and box around 500 and then save up bit more for component set also around 500. dont forget u need money for cables and installation, maybe another 200.

take a look at the 2nd hand sections of this forum as well as other forums like mycarhific.om, gr8tunes.net and icehifi.com, better get branded 2nd hand stuff than new cap ayam stuff that wont last long and also sound like crap.

jchin2

Sep 15, 2006
:biggrin: .....totally agree with Zenn here...

as u said early ur friends budget is very tight..slowly urgrade as sql cost more than spl...

We were all crossing our fingers that Lamborghini would have lifted the lid on its Murcielago replacement at the Paris Motor Show but we were instead treated to the Sesto Elemento concept that was a pornographic tribute to carbon fiber and a glimpse at the brand’s future direction.

It was to be dubbed the Jota but according to a FerrariChat...