EG9 No VTEC kick in, why?

ChyanHonda

Jul 6, 2011
Hi sifu, actually is my fren's eg9. What i know is he just change his standard ecu to prelude ecu i m not sure what model coz the standard ecu burn. Okay the problem is when i test drive i dont feel any VTEC kick like b4, but still can drive smooth. Wonder why?tq all sifu answer my question:driver::driver::driver:

mADmAN

Try n get the same ecu as the old ecu n test out...if still no vtec, most likely speed sensor

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
my question is, why did he change to prelude ecu? doubt that there is any beneficial outcome with that move

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
Hi sifu, actually is my fren's eg9. What i know is he just change his standard ecu to prelude ecu i m not sure what model coz the standard ecu burn. Okay the problem is when i test drive i dont feel any VTEC kick like b4, but still can drive smooth. Wonder why?tq all sifu answer my question:driver::driver::driver:
if the prelude ecu is non vtec type,sure no vtec la... plus the ecu might have different wiring diagram which is different from eg, even got vtec also cant engage lor....

virqai

Dec 30, 2010
if the prelude ecu is non vtec type,sure no vtec la... plus the ecu might have different wiring diagram which is different from eg, even got vtec also cant engage lor....
if the prelude ecu code P13 is yes for vtec...mybe you cannot feel when vtec kick coz std p13 switch vtec at 4.8k i think...aspecialy if thats car use std air flow box...u my try cruise at 3rd gear up hill more good for get some weight till RPM reach at 4.8k to 5.2k then u can know vtec kick or not.......me also never test std ecu p13..always chip it then try...for sure vtec will kick...heee:biggrin:

Jakk

Aug 20, 2009
just sharing: my prelude standard ecu p13 vtec point 5k, but most of my friend are at 5.5k

1. just to make sure it is vtec ecu.
2. change back to civic ecu.

ChyanHonda

Jul 6, 2011
hi guys, i guess the vtec still kick in but the sound not same like b4 and it very noisy when accelerate.Compare to last time eg9 std ecu more quiet.Not sure what's the problem?any others setting affect?Thx Honda sifu