Diy : Undercarriage Lights

bridgestoneRE711

Jan 20, 2005
alamak i am in alor star now ... taking form 6 .
when semester break i back to s.kembangan will call u out .
add me into msn
[email protected]
form6 damn hard ...
yeah .. the steel band rocks ...summore can use screw whiout hassle .

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
y wanto go far far n study form 6?? the amoi there more lenglui eh?? :D

i know from 6 is hard... i've been tru form 6 too... but it was my best years in schools... surrounded by gals... kekeke!! :D

Zackwaja R-Spec

Jun 8, 2005
Kajang
Hey thanks BridgestoneRe711,

U also driving waja ? Is it nice having the lights under waja? I can't wait to install the thing into my ride but I dunno where to buy it. Any suggestion Bro..

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Wah...this thread suddenly become so alive ar...so many ppl into underglow already....can organize a Street Glow TT already hahaha

Zackwaja R-Spec

Jun 8, 2005
Kajang
Hello Bro Zen,

Do you selling the underglow lights ah..What about installing, also u do..PM me bro, complete acc. and the price for it.

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
oh... i dun go clubbing ah... n seldom go down KL at nite..

in fact when i go out of serdang i will off de lights... cos i duno where got roadblocks.. keke :D

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
i will on the light only when i got mood to play..normally is off one hehehe...now some more got strobe light liao...attract more attention. :D

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
haha...i very seldom go clubbing one lar... i will only go bangsar or jalan bukit bintang there yam char ar kap lui only.

bridgestoneRE711

Jan 20, 2005
i duno what happend with wiring . the front and rear cant light up ... so i thought that the wiring got problem , exhange the terminal ...and kaboom ...
there goes my RM7 ballast ... very nice , got smoking effect .

i DIY , i not PRO . i am thinking to sell it off already ...
of course used one la ...

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
huh? wat u mean?

my installation is very practical wan... like this... i use a relay.. so tap a wire from battery for power... then use the small light(cigi lighter light) to control the on/off.. on top of dat i add another switch for road block emergency off.. hehe :D

so when u on ur car small light... de undercarriage lights are ON also... if there is road block.. then just use the switch to OFF it...

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Bridgestone, don't give up! Maybe fuse is not functioning? how many amp u use?

bridgestoneRE711

Jan 20, 2005
fuse ar ...
erm ... i am using blue colour one ...
i just tap the + and - from the other ballast + - terminal ...
the problem is the wiring of the tubes , i think too many joints and some joints could be loose .

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
hmmmm blue is how many amps already?

Use cable lug and connector to connect all the wires instead of tie them together...like that the joint will be stronger.

resilienthunter

I just want to drive
Sep 7, 2004
hello diy sifus..

just wanna ask.. is the light lasting? i.e any major problems? like..breakage..fusing.. etc.

also..can someone provide the complete list of stuffs i will need to buy to diy on my car?
i know shnitz about diy..but hoping to attempt the underglow during my coming holidays.. =P

many thanks. any help will be greatly appreciated!!

p.s : really, i know n u t s about diy. :eek:

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Here is the redundant list of what u r recommended to have before DIY:

1. Two 4 feets and two 2 feets fluorescent tube, if u want side, front and back.

2. 4 ballast - 2x 20w and 2 40w DC choke.

3. Wiring - lasting power cable, length is depend on ur wiring map and car size.

4. 10amp fuse.

5. Fuse holder.

6. Switch to on/off the light.

7. Fluorescent tube holder (Used to connect the 2 pins on fluorescent tube to cable one, and hold it in place NOT ON UR CEILING ONE) .

8. Cable lug to connect wires.

9. Steel band for undercarriage mouting. Cable tie also can but not long lasting.

10. Wire insulator.

11. Voltmeter.
12. Cable tie.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Ohh talking about broken light, don't worry, as long as ur light is mounted higher than the lowest part of car, it won;t be hitted and broken. To protect it from flying stone, just stuff the tube into transparent water hose.

All above stuff u can get from Hardware shop and normal electric shop.

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
resilient hunter,

yo bro.. remember me? i'm de one who install de grounding n VS into ur car... :) hehe

anyway.. if u know nuts about DIYing.. i advice u not to do it.. cos this DIY will involve some wiring using relays switch n power tapping... i think a beginner doing this may be a little risky n may burn a few fuses...

resilienthunter

I just want to drive
Sep 7, 2004
yo! its you ar?

wah.. u use 2 nicks one ar?.. :eek: !

humm...so not advisable to do eh..okay. u help me install can a?? haha..

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
khguan got business liao

Ladies and gents, Group Lotus PLC has just confirmed that Mr Dany Bahar is no longer Chief Executive Officer of Lotus, with immediate effect, which follows the result of an investigation due to a complaint made by DRB-HICOM Bhd against Dany.

<!--more-->However, Group Lotus has announced that they have appointed Mr Aslam Farikullah, aged 51 with most of his 26 years of experience having been...