Diy : Undercarriage Lights

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
DIY : UnderCarriage Lights

These Step by step Pictures and detailed diagrams are courtesy of Xarrax from TBS.

---------

Lot's of people asked this question before on DIY UnderCarriage Lights. Last time, I do not have good pictures on the steps or the parts. Now, thanks to Xarrax, we have it..

Not only that, he also come up with his own unique way to have a Brighter and new concept to make your undercarriage GLOW !

Picture : End Result (Rear). Picture taken in TBS Workshop.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Surprisingly, we just need simple simple parts to DIY these lights.

Items / Tools Needed.

1. Test Pen
2. Combination spanners
3.Long nose pliers
4. Lots of cable ties
5. Mini sockets
6. Fuse holder/Fuse 10a
7. Switch
8. 12 Volt 40W Ballast
9. Florescent Tube
10. Insulator Tapes
11. Lots of wires

Picture : 12 Volt Ballast. LEFT : 40 Watt, RIGHT 20 Watt

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Another important part we need is of course the Lights.
You can use these THIN Flourecent tubes... (Available in many colours... White, Yellow, Red, Blue, Green.... )

These are 20 Watt Tubes.
8600 K means.. WHITE... (Really Bright and White)

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
You can use these Mini Sockets/Pins to hold your Tubes and your wires.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
This is the diagram to wire your Tubes and Ballast.

Please take note that the Tubes MUST be placed in SERIES to work.. Will not work if you wire them in Parallel.

puffcurry

Dec 2, 2003
Ampang,Kuala Lu
profiles.yahoo.com
:( its illegal...and its dangerous...
1. only emergency vehicles allowed to use coloured lights
2. the color blind folks will be confused with the spectrum of lights emitting from the car

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Here is an example of how to mount the Rear Lights for a WIRA.

Picture : Flourecent Tube in Wira AeroBack.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
For the front, it is the same thing, Mount the Flourecent Tube.

This is Xarrax's Design. He used these Bulbs for the front (It is really Bright.)
You need a Pair to make the lights even.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Here is the Result if you use 1 Bulb instead of 2..

Booze

Jan 6, 2004
My bed room "on da BED"
www.defcon.org
Can u give us an estimated cost?

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Well.. Basically that is it..
The rest are depending on your creativity...

These pictures only show the front and rear lights. (For the sides, it would be nicer if you have them with Side Skirts.. Which.. We do not have them)..

Happy DIYing..

----------

Remember : These DIYs are not really 'Legal' in Malaysian streets. Please use it with care.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by Booze@Feb 24 2004, 01:42 PM
Yes..

Cost :

Ballast : RM 8.00
Florecent Tube : RM 12.00
Switch : RM 1.00
Wires : RM 5
MIsc : RM 5
2 Cans of 100 Plus : RM 2.40

Booze

Jan 6, 2004
My bed room "on da BED"
www.defcon.org
Originally posted by johnsonlam+Feb 24 2004, 01:49 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (johnsonlam @ Feb 24 2004, 01:49 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-Booze@Feb 24 2004, 01:42 PM
Yes..

Cost :

Ballast : RM 8.00
Florecent Tube : RM 12.00
Switch : RM 1.00
Wires : RM 5
MIsc : RM 5
2 Cans of 100 Plus : RM 2.40 [/b][/quote]
A fully functional U-light = priceless
Where u go get all those stuff, any favorite hardware store?

Wayward

Nov 16, 2003
Penang, Malaysia
johnson:

wouldn't stones kicked up by the wheels crack or break the fluorescent tubes ?

i was under the impression that aftermarket neon lights were made of different materials?

Wayward

Any idea where..? Should be cheaper but good quality..

Not quality is good and the pice is high..
Not quality is bad and the price is lower
Not the quality is bad and the price is high..

Not too cheap, not too expensive..Middle lah..

Area around Gombak, AU1-5, Wangsa Maju, Setapak..