Difference between L2 and L5?

YellowFlash

Sep 28, 2009
Jb
hi dear sifus that owns and drive a kancil here.... can you explain wats the difference between L2 and L5? the engine capacity, hp etc? thx!

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
hi dear sifus that owns and drive a kancil here.... can you explain wats the difference between L2 and L5? the engine capacity, hp etc? thx!
Got this from another forum
this is the different between L2,L2s,L5

L200(EF-CL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.5Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L210s,210v(EF-HL) - 659cc 12v sohc 50ps/7.5Krpm 5.3kg-m/4.5Krpm 4WD turbo
L200(EF-XL) - 659cc 6v sohc 61ps/7Krpm 8.6kg-m/4.5Krpm turbo (carb)
L200(EF-KL) - 659cc 6v sohc 42ps/6Krpm 5.4kg-m/4Krpm NA
L200(EF-FL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.3Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L200,200s(EF-JL) - 659cc 12v sohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 9.4kg-m/4Krpm turbo

L500s(EF-CL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.5Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L500s(EF-KL) - 659cc 6v sohc 42ps/6Krpm 5.4kg-m/4Krpm NA
L500s(EF-FL) - 659cc 6v sohc 40ps/6.3Krpm 5.3kg-m/3.5Krpm NA
L500s(EF-JL) - 659cc 12v sohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 9.4kg-m/4Krpm turbo
L500s(EF-GL) - 659cc 12v dohc 52ps/7.2Krpm 5.8kg-m/4Krpm NA
L510s/510v(EF-ZL) - 659cc 12v dohc 55ps/7.5Krpm 6.2kg-m/4Krpm 4WD NA
L500s(EF-RL) - 659cc 12v dohc 64ps/6.8Krpm 10.7kg-m/4Krpm turbo
L502s(JB-EL) - 659cc 16v dohc 58ps/7.6Krpm 5.8kg-m/5.6Krpm turbo
L502s(JB-JL) - 659cc 16v dohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 10.2kg-m/4Krpm turbo
L512s(JB-JL) - 659cc 16v dohc 64ps/7.5Krpm 10.2kg-m/4Krpm 4WD turbo
Note:
6v denote 2valve per cylinder for 3cylinder configuration and normally single cam (SOHC)
12v denote 4valve per cylinder for 3cylinder configuration and normally twin cam (DOHC)
16v denote 4valve per cylinder for 3cylinder configuration and normally twin cam (DOHC)

YellowFlash

Sep 28, 2009
Jb
thanks bro and btw do u mean tat 16V means 4valve per cylinder for 4 cylinder engines? according to the information...seems that the L5s with 16v are the most powerful of all...so are most of the kancil here fitted with L5s engine?

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
thanks bro and btw do u mean tat 16V means 4valve per cylinder for 4 cylinder engines?
for certain L5, it uses 4 cylinder engine... you can identify it from the list based on its code... it starts with JB, JB-EL for NA and JB-JL for turbo... Daihatsu Move L6 also uses dis engine...

FYI, for Move L9 series it uses JB-DET with a redesigned head... some says more efficient but still the same block as L5/L6 JB series

YellowFlash

Sep 28, 2009
Jb
for certain L5, it uses 4 cylinder engine... you can identify it from the list based on its code... it starts with JB, JB-EL for NA and JB-JL for turbo... Daihatsu Move L6 also uses dis engine...

FYI, for Move L9 series it uses JB-DET with a redesigned head... some says more efficient but still the same block as L5/L6 JB series
icic...thanks for the info...btw i think i edited my post while u were replying so u miss out some questions i asked....i was asking whether there are more L2s or L5s converted on the road? which is better??

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
icic...thanks for the info...btw i think i edited my post while u were replying so u miss out some questions i asked....i was asking whether there are more L2s or L5s converted on the road? which is better??
Nowadays, L5 users are catching up fast due to parts getting easier to get these days.... now its a matter of preference...

L2 Pros and Cons
  1. Pro - Parts exchangeability wif kancil and some kelisa
  2. Pro - Since L2 arrived earlier, most performance tuners already understands L2 design and limitation more
  3. Pro - Easy upgrade from 660cc to 850cc/1000cc simply by changing block from kancil/kelisa/kenari
  4. Pro - Less headache when swapping since its a direct bolt on
  5. Cons - its an ageing design. It last stop production 1993
  6. Cons - Prone to overheat on long distance hi speed cruising
  7. Cons - Suffers same air con issues as kancil even after swapping with L5 dashboard and blowers

L5 Pros and Cons
  1. Pro - for the 16v models, its smoother than L2
  2. Pro - Capable highway cruiser... so far no overheat
  3. Pro - It uses timing chain, so no more timing belt issues
  4. Pro - The aircon are colder and more reliable
  5. Pro - Newer design than L2, so more likely to see untouched (i.e. not overhauled yet) unit at hafkat
  6. Cons - Parts are not easy to come by, but they are increasing in numbers..
  7. Cons - Tuning capabilities are still limited since tuners still learning its design and systems
  8. Cons - Not so easy to swap if you don't have the original subframe...
I hope that L2 users correct me if I'm wrong...

IMHO, L2 are best for performance junkies... L5 for ppl who want to take it easy... but stock vs stock both are the same....

but then, at drag strips, autocross in japan all uses L5 engines right so its a matter of time L5 will replace L2 as a performance option

for me.... I'm a recent convert to L5 16v turbo :biggrin:

...and loving it :proud:

YellowFlash

Sep 28, 2009
Jb
thx for the very comprehensive summary of pros and cons for L2 and L5, anyway congrats on your L5 conversion. Previously were you using L2 convert? btw how much does the half cut for L2 and L5 cost? :)

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
thx for the very comprehensive summary of pros and cons for L2 and L5, anyway congrats on your L5 conversion. Previously were you using L2 convert? btw how much does the half cut for L2 and L5 cost? :)
before dis using 850cc inj from factory :biggrin:

last time i check for turbocharged models in klang valley inclusive installation
  1. L2s manual RM3300
  2. L2s auto RM3100
  3. L5 16v manual RM3800
  4. L5 16v auto RM3800

but budget for 5k in case something went wrong... normal la hafkat, we dun know for certain the condition rite? one thing for sure if you wanna go manual, change the clutch plate + cover first since kancil are notorious when changing clutch i.e. have to take out the engine to take out the gearbox

you can contact dis 2 guys if you are in the klang valley
apeng @

syah @

no need to mention me (prolly won't recognize my nickname)... dis guys are ok even if you just called to ask for price...and easy to nego oso :biggrin:

YellowFlash

Sep 28, 2009
Jb
oh thx for add info but klang sounds far for me, haha ...i am located in jb. Anyway i am aware that kancil comes in many different models, how do we actually classify them and what are their specs for eg: the 660cc and 850cc in terms of their hp and stock 0-100 timing(or maybe stock engine cant really hit 100?). Also how much does a kancil modified/unmodified cost?

I apologise for the huge influx of questions but i think it'd be easier if i ask most of my questions in a single post, so it'd be easier for you to reply... :D

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
oh thx for add info but klang sounds far for me, haha ...i am located in jb. Anyway i am aware that kancil comes in many different models, how do we actually classify them and what are their specs for eg: the 660cc and 850cc in terms of their hp and stock 0-100 timing(or maybe stock engine cant really hit 100?). Also how much does a kancil modified/unmodified cost?

I apologise for the huge influx of questions but i think it'd be easier if i ask most of my questions in a single post, so it'd be easier for you to reply... :D
Refer here KANCIL SPECIFICATION

but that for the older kancil... my 2003 kancil originally came wif ED-DE engine which is 850cc Twin Cam and using fuel injection... power rated at 50hp...same as kelisa's 850cc version but with 3speed auto gearbox...

as per 0-100 timing not sure... but surely stock engine can go 100kmh... just need a long... long road for the 660cc models :biggrin:

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor

papagoines

Orang Tua
Feb 6, 2006
Rawang/Selangor
oh i mean the cost for buying a kancil 660cc and 850cc stock and modified....
haha... i think you should search the "Cars for Sale" threads

mag9556

Jul 11, 2006
Sifu giving advice man!!:adore::adore:ha3..
Actually the most powerful stock mira are L500s(EF-RL) - 659cc 12v dohc 64ps/6.8Krpm 10.7kg-m/4Krpm turbo (look carefully.. its 12v onli.. 3 piston..he3)

Hello I'm from neighbor country Indonesia. I got the 6a13tt engine with the auto trans from malaysia. I am trying to find the FTO manual transmission to mate with the engine. But it's kind hard to find it here.

Just wondering if someone has ever locked the 6a13tt auto trans AWD and run it as the auto FWD?Can this be done?

rgds