Civic EG vs Satria Gti

WRM

Dec 30, 2009
Greetings all sifus n experts in motoring.
I am a student n looking for a 2 door/small car to commute with daddy budget of 25K-30K.
After looking in market i locked down into this 2.

EG vs SGTi.(recommend if thers other!)

Plz ADVISE reg which is better in terms of FC, TopSpeed, and daily driveable(soft clutch etc)

I understand tht eg is very older thn sgti (>17yrs) however,its also a HONDA..
(Ps:i saw this yellow eg on net n heart is touched)

Appreciate your views :)

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
you can consider EK, it is not as old as EG...
I would prefer Honda than SGTi as it has a B16A Vtec engine inside..

or you can take the Sedan type of EG / EK, it is at late 90's..I saw before in Motor Trader it has B20A engine inside

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
i highly doubt u can get an EG for that price, whatmore an EK.

as surveyed, the price for a EG is very close to 40k. Be it transplanted/converted or original.

yeehau86: there's no such things as B20A! B20B got la, and with that i highly doubt it will sell for <30k. those are torque monsters!

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
This is honda forum....for sure everybody say go for EG...:biggrin:

On another note, just take account the pros and cons :

Honda EG :
Pros :
1. Damn sexy
2. B16a....damn syiok engine + infinite mod options
3. Double wishbone suspension front & rear
4. Better build quality
5. Its a honda maa

Cons :
1. Hard to find stock & in good condition
2. Parts more expensive
3. Old chassis / engine (wear & tear) = higher maintenance cost

Satria GTI
Pros :
1. Newer chassis / engine
2. Cheaper parts
3. Quite good handling
4. Easily can convert to turbo/mitsu engine
3. Can join a satria GTI club.... :confused:

Cons :
1. Need to spend money abit to catch up to B16a EG (even in stock form)
2. Higher risk of theft/ break in
3. Build quality (especially interior)

For FC
- in stock condition both are almost the same, expect around RM15 = 110km

For topspeed
- In stock condition, EG B16A has speed cut at 180kmh, if removed you could get around 230 kmh. As for GTI, you could get around 220km/h

As for clutch
- In stock form, both are quite light and easily driven, IMO GTI is just a little bit harder.

Just go with your gut feelings......use the force :biggrin:

Hope this helps.

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
sgti certainly can be loaned higher than eg..if u choose sgti then go 4 turbo, otherwise just get a honda if u wish to play NA..

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
EG !!!! 100% in performance and also looks and handling !!

OVERALL !!!!

:biggrin:

about parts its not that hard to get bro....still can source parts easily

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
i highly doubt u can get an EG for that price, whatmore an EK.

as surveyed, the price for a EG is very close to 40k. Be it transplanted/converted or original.

yeehau86: there's no such things as B20A! B20B got la, and with that i highly doubt it will sell for <30k. those are torque monsters!
opps, maybe I remember it wrongly..B20B is considered big Vtec, right? that's why it has high torque

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
B20 is a hybrid engine. its a combination of either a B16A/16B/18C/18CR head + B20 block from the Honda CRV.

why high torque? cuz its a 2.0!

btw, dont listen to AD_EG.... EK ALL THE WAAYYYYY!!!

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
no prob bro, everybody has to start somewhere.

im also a noob still. i disturb AD_EG alot thats why he ignoring me now... LOLOL!

but really, EK ALL THE WAYYYY !

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
no prob bro, everybody has to start somewhere.

im also a noob still. i disturb AD_EG alot thats why he ignoring me now... LOLOL!

but really, EK ALL THE WAYYYY !
Eh ! don listen to him ...EK FTW !!!! OOoopppsss

hahahha...if got budget i sure say EK la bro...but since its between EG and Satria...i say EG la ...

when i ignore u la wei ?? hahaha don simply say things ah ...after i say in public your next top secret mod ! :rofl: :rofl:

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007

hahahha...if got budget i sure say EK la bro...but since its between EG and Satria...i say EG la ...

when i ignore u la wei ?? hahaha don simply say things ah ...after i say in public your next top secret mod ! :rofl: :rofl:
what is the top secret mod? Ambi Pure Aqua flavour? or Premier Tissue? :rofl:
come tell us :listen:

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ

Omg! U wouldn't!! :banghead: muahahahaha.

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
Would I ? :flute:

:rofl:

A thief can disable a car alarm just by cutting off the power. Most alarm in the market doesn't have a backup battery, even if they have, the thief can still disable it by cutting the wire.

Any ideas how we can foil this attempt?