Buying a Lancer Evo?

alwjmonster

May 12, 2009
Subang Jaya
hereticalvoices.blogspot.com
I'm a day dreamer too, thinking of getting an evo.. after reading all da posts regarding the maintenance issues, really render me speechless.. (da costs) i think evo's owner over here must be earning 5digits income only to able afford an evo.. soo i decided to look for old junk vtec like eg6.. that's my level.. but will trying hard to join u guys asap.. haha damn!! evo 6.5 u shall be mine ONE DAY!!

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
I'm a day dreamer too, thinking of getting an evo.. after reading all da posts regarding the maintenance issues, really render me speechless.. (da costs) i think evo's owner over here must be earning 5digits income only to able afford an evo.. soo i decided to look for old junk vtec like eg6.. that's my level.. but will trying hard to join u guys asap.. haha damn!! evo 6.5 u shall be mine ONE DAY!!
I think ur statement got some error there... Not sure abt others, I just bought my E7 2ndhand less than a mth... I dun earn 5digits, not even half... Working as a sales rep n half of my salary goes to installment... Unless it's a good mth, if not just save on spendings lo... On a better mth, can shopping a bit la, but oso need to save some $$$ for maintaining my ride...

BonesGarage

Jul 12, 2010
Having a 5figure salary to own an evo is not a pre-requisite.

However there's a reason banks have the 1/3 third policy. Lots of truth in that.

To be in a comfortable lifestyle, always make sure your car installments are less than 1/3 of your income. The lower the better. Of course, if you can't achieve 1/3, then you have to put in more downpayment or earn more lah

There are special exceptions to the rule above, for example if you don't have any other commitments except for your car, then you can spend all your money on it...hahaha

alwjmonster

May 12, 2009
Subang Jaya
hereticalvoices.blogspot.com
I think ur statement got some error there... Not sure abt others, I just bought my E7 2ndhand less than a mth... I dun earn 5digits, not even half... Working as a sales rep n half of my salary goes to installment... Unless it's a good mth, if not just save on spendings lo... On a better mth, can shopping a bit la, but oso need to save some $$$ for maintaining my ride...
haha dear calvin i respect ur passionate and sacrifice (money+time) towards ur evo.. haha I think now ur expenses on evo more than ur gf.. wouldn't ur gf get angry? hahaha jk jk :)

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
I feel same as your bro T.T. Once heard of evo's maintenance, wanted to give up. But nevermind, as long as we don't stop dreaming, there is still the possibility...

?nDc?s?ve

Sep 2, 2005
damansara
there's a saying .. "When you look back on your life, you'll regret the things you didn't do more than the ones you did."

and so i bought my evo :D

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
hahaha Veloc how much do you think one must earn at least to afford an evo comfortably?
Err... I guess comfortable depends personally. SOme feel comfortable spending half of their income on car. Some doesn't spend on car at all. For me ah? I guess for me would be 10k. Because although I am a crazy sick diehard evo shithead wannabe, I came from a not so rich family. So I am used to saving and paying off all basic things first, then spend the balance on car. T.T But it was the way i grew up. If want to say comfortable, I think 5-6k okay la... Although personally for me, I wouldn't buy Evo at that level.

I just heard form a friend recently. Tires for Evo 8 MR "federal" RM 750 each. Have to change almost every year due to the power and 4WD, LSD... If gearbox kong, new unit is 45k. But that one rarely la... After time, ACD and AYC will give way due to wear and tear for Evo 7, 8, 9. Those specialised parts not cheap.

Some more, for evos, in our country here a majority get recon unit. We don't know how the previous owner trashed it.

Fuel is another thing... :bawling:

coelho

Jul 4, 2007
thanks guys for this informative post
quick question from a first-time owner
got my car
the clutch is slipping a little
and only when i accelerate hard and suddenly
for about less than a second before it catches back again.

cause for concern and immediate replacement?
or can i continue to drive till i wear it out a little further?

running a twin plate HKS at the moment.
the other question is
overhaul or new?
anyone with experience before?

thanks guys

TomicaGTR

Jun 6, 2010
thanks guys for this informative post
quick question from a first-time owner
got my car
the clutch is slipping a little
and only when i accelerate hard and suddenly
for about less than a second before it catches back again.

cause for concern and immediate replacement?
or can i continue to drive till i wear it out a little further?

running a twin plate HKS at the moment.
the other question is
overhaul or new?
anyone with experience before?

thanks guys
Do you mean it happens during launch start?

calvin9683

Jul 5, 2004
haha dear calvin i respect ur passionate and sacrifice (money+time) towards ur evo.. haha I think now ur expenses on evo more than ur gf.. wouldn't ur gf get angry? hahaha jk jk :)
my gf oso working ma... she can spend her own money... she was the one who supported me to get my evo... telling me since i got the chance to do so, better dun wait, coz if u wait somemore, other commitment will b there waiting, then u can forget abt getting ur dream car at all.... n at wat age u wanna drive an evo??? 40-50??? current age should b the ideal age, althou some ppl will say u r using parents $$$.... which makes perfect sense to me....
at least i've own an evo now... n i'll b working hard for future commitment, hopefully... if lets say the worse happen, i cant sustain for future commitments n expenses, worse come to worse is to let go the car... at least had it before... heehee

---------- Post added at 10:17 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:15 AM ----------

there's a saying .. "When you look back on your life, you'll regret the things you didn't do more than the ones you did."

and so i bought my evo :D
well said... sometimes, impulse buying is needed.... dun b too rational, u only live once....

greenmivec

Nov 10, 2005
Calvin

That was exactly what my girlfriend told me when I was in dilemma mode for about 2 months. With her advice now I m a proud and happy owner of evo IX with no regret and enjoying every liter of Ron 97 my Evo drinks

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
Gee....I want buy an Evo too.... ^^
No doubt Evo parts is expensive but it also can source easily...for daily user the most need to consider is Ron97 at RM2.8 per liter.

mines998

Dec 1, 2010
Ha ha actually I treat Evo as a rival for my 6A12GT but in respect way. I do know is almost no chance for 6A12 to catch up EVO if both engine carry a same housepower. The EVO not just a name but it also carry a reason behind that why it can goes up to 10 generation.

I'm using a wira 1.5 carburator engine........can i switch my standard engine to turbo engine?.......plz any sifu tell me! izzit possible?