B-series with Ron95?97?

khoo198

Feb 11, 2009
N9
Hi,all........can B16/18/20 runs with our government new launching petrol Ron95? or still need to pay more 5cents/liter for petrol Ron97?Hope can get some suggestion here........Thx..!!

bien335

Aug 3, 2009
no problems lah

our american counterparts are putting 89 into their tanks of their B-, F- and H-series.

no problems there.

even their latest k24a, J35a are burning 92RON.

khoo198

Feb 11, 2009
N9
WTF!!!not only pay more 5cents/liter,is 25cents/liter after Sept09'.....!!!That mean Ron95 only can afford.....!!

quite different standards.

have to get clarification from a petroleum engineer :D
Got few petroleum engineer in our country la Bro......but got a lot of supra-class+exceed accountant............!!!!!!!!!

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
but from what i've read, and understood ... high compression engines shouldnt use low ron fuels, it can cause severe knocking....in the US im not sure if petrol grades are the same.Honestly im not a scientist so i cant really touch in depth about that.My mech also mentioned that it will be a bad idea to use ron95.its not CANNOT use, just becareful,if theres severe knocking,youre most likely gonna detonate.

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
I read in the civic service manual (EG) that B16A can run on RON95 or greater...

vanila

May 4, 2006
Ron 95 or Ron 97 almost the same, but still have small differents. :D

khoo198

Feb 11, 2009
N9
Ron 95 or Ron 97 almost the same, but still have small differents. :D
Confirm have different la bro.....if not huhh why can differ to 0.30/ltr:mad::mad:
:listen::listen:How about B18C? I think mayB continue using ron97 laa.......:bawling::bawling:dompet bocor OOOooooo

SePaT

Jan 8, 2004
I read in the civic service manual (EG) that B16A can run on RON95 or greater...
yeah.. on OEM b16a of course no harmful.. but can we trust those "b16a" in msian road?? i dont think so he he he:biggrin:

SePaT

Jan 8, 2004
yo dawg..

still up and running eh?? how come never saw your car at Paroi jaya nowadays?:proud:

D-IV

Mar 11, 2006
If ron 95 and 97 not so different, then 97 and 100 is not so much different too right?:biggrin:

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
if your car is stock, then i guess its fine to follow as the manual says.But if you have upgraded your engine and components, its a different thing right? since the air flow has increased it requires more fuel to cmplete the combustion,if a lower grade of petrol is used,it can cause knocking,if its severe it can lead up to detonation.(sifus please correct me if im wrong).

and for those who have already tuned their cars with piggybacks,wouldnt using a different grade of octane cause severe changes in readings?

which way is better? cut the spring coil or burn and compress it? and how much is it cost? tq.