1JZGTE VVTI Dyno Results with Edamage

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,361
148
1,663
South Africa? I am very scared with South African brands now. Hahahaha...

As for MaxxEcu pros - I know a guy who can do it.
Care to elaborate ?

Oh ? Can this guy install a 5 speed A650E to My 1JZ as well ? Supposing the housing is the same and do not require modification, except for the output flange to driveshaft. If he can install the 5 speed gearbox, wiring up the ECU to both engine and gearbox, i am more than happy to get a full quote on the project.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,149
6,354
5,213
KL
Care to elaborate ?
Can't. I don't want to get in trouble with the local supplier who's known to be particular about these things.

Oh ? Can this guy install a 5 speed A650E to My 1JZ as well ? Supposing the housing is the same and do not require modification, except for the output flange to driveshaft. If he can install the 5 speed gearbox, wiring up the ECU to both engine and gearbox, i am more than happy to get a full quote on the project.
Let me ask him and I'll back to you. What do you want to do specifically? I'll convey the message and let you know if it can be done.
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,361
148
1,663
Can't. I don't want to get in trouble with the local supplier who's known to be particular about these things.



Let me ask him and I'll back to you. What do you want to do specifically? I'll convey the message and let you know if it can be done.
Ok i respect that.

My 5 speed automatic project as below:

1.) Source a Toyota 35-50LS (A650E), chopped out from either Lexus LS 430, SC400, SC430, or Toyota Crown Majesta 4.0 (General year 2000-2004). These 5 models are known to have 1UZFE VVTI engine, the A650e from this era are improved to withstand higher torque rating from the V8.

2.) Mate the A650E to 1JZGTE VVTI, as far as i know the bellhousing is the same. We probably need to look into input and output flanges to make sure they mate perfectly

3.) Wire up the MaxX Pro ECU to both engine and gearbox. Setup the engine and transmission altogether.

I don't want to pay 2 different tuners in this project, so if your contact can do both hardware and software together, i am more than happy to get a quote.

Thanks,
Ken
 
Last edited:

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,361
148
1,663
Alternatively i have an odd idea, i know some 1JZ non turbo variant, especially those 1JZGE with VVTI, factory comes with the same Toyota A650e gearbox to drive small torque 1JZGE engine. I'd thought of using its ECU to control both 1JZGTE VVTI engine and the 5 speeder. Since i already have eManage, i will use eManage to intercept the 1JZGE ECU to control the turbo engine.

This idea is crazy but not necessarily workable. What's your guys opinion.
 

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM
Jul 3, 2014
2,007
656
713
35
Melaka
Alternatively i have an odd idea, i know some 1JZ non turbo variant, especially those 1JZGE with VVTI, factory comes with the same Toyota A650e gearbox to drive small torque 1JZGE engine. I'd thought of using its ECU to control both 1JZGTE VVTI engine and the 5 speeder. Since i already have eManage, i will use eManage to intercept the 1JZGE ECU to control the turbo engine.

This idea is crazy but not necessarily workable. What's your guys opinion.
Basically the Edamage is controlling the engine but the tranny is still managed by the ECU right?
Its just like getting another TCU to handle gb without the tuning process of the TCU as engine already managed by Edamage. Sounds much simpler on paper.

I like the idea of a seperate TCU as i will have an interesting reading material here.
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,361
148
1,663
Basically the Edamage is controlling the engine but the tranny is still managed by the ECU right?
Its just like getting another TCU to handle gb without the tuning process of the TCU as engine already managed by Edamage. Sounds much simpler on paper.

I like the idea of a seperate TCU as i will have an interesting reading material here.
Yes that's what i meant, Edamage will control all the engine operations, while the transmission program in stock 1JZGE ECU still contolls the 5 speed. In theory it could work but whether will it fire up the engine or not, its another question, since the differences betweem 1JZGE and GTE is only the turbo.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,149
6,354
5,213
KL
Ok i respect that.

My 5 speed automatic project as below:

1.) Source a Toyota 35-50LS (A650E), chopped out from either Lexus LS 430, SC400, SC430, or Toyota Crown Majesta 4.0 (General year 2000-2004). These 5 models are known to have 1UZFE VVTI engine, the A650e from this era are improved to withstand higher torque rating from the V8.

2.) Mate the A650E to 1JZGTE VVTI, as far as i know the bellhousing is the same. We probably need to look into input and output flanges to make sure they mate perfectly

3.) Wire up the MaxX Pro ECU to both engine and gearbox. Setup the engine and transmission altogether.

I don't want to pay 2 different tuners in this project, so if your contact can do both hardware and software together, i am more than happy to get a quote.

Thanks,
Ken
I've forwarded the inquiry to my mech/tuner. I'll let you know once I get a reply.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,149
6,354
5,213
KL
Ok i respect that.

My 5 speed automatic project as below:

1.) Source a Toyota 35-50LS (A650E), chopped out from either Lexus LS 430, SC400, SC430, or Toyota Crown Majesta 4.0 (General year 2000-2004). These 5 models are known to have 1UZFE VVTI engine, the A650e from this era are improved to withstand higher torque rating from the V8.

2.) Mate the A650E to 1JZGTE VVTI, as far as i know the bellhousing is the same. We probably need to look into input and output flanges to make sure they mate perfectly

3.) Wire up the MaxX Pro ECU to both engine and gearbox. Setup the engine and transmission altogether.

I don't want to pay 2 different tuners in this project, so if your contact can do both hardware and software together, i am more than happy to get a quote.

Thanks,
Ken
My mech loves this kinda rojak jobs Hahaha... he replied almost instantly after I messaged him. He said "Are you sure MaxxECU Pro? That ECU alone is already RM12k"

Gulp... I said Mitevo got money no problem.

Then he said your rojak mashup is no problem and tuning the TCU with the ECU no problem but he needs to see what you have, whats enabled, whats missing etc before he can properly quote. Let me know if you wanna pay him a visit.
 
  • Like
Reactions: leinnz

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,361
148
1,663
My mech loves this kinda rojak jobs Hahaha... he replied almost instantly after I messaged him. He said "Are you sure MaxxECU Pro? That ECU alone is already RM12k"

Gulp... I said Mitevo got money no problem.

Then he said your rojak mashup is no problem and tuning the TCU with the ECU no problem but he needs to see what you have, whats enabled, whats missing etc before he can properly quote. Let me know if you wanna pay him a visit.
Walao eh dude, what do you mean by Mitevo got money no problem LOL. Well the ECU cost is within my expectation though but i still have to factor in the costs A650e, propeller shaft modifications to fit the gearbox, tuning and ETC, all together will be somewhere 16-17k.

My another option is use 2JZGE that has the 5 speeder gearbox ECU to control the gearbox, think your mech can help advise will this rojak works ?
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,149
6,354
5,213
KL
Walao eh dude, what do you mean by Mitevo got money no problem LOL. Well the ECU cost is within my expectation though but i still have to factor in the costs A650e, propeller shaft modifications to fit the gearbox, tuning and ETC, all together will be somewhere 16-17k.

My another option is use 2JZGE that has the 5 speeder gearbox ECU to control the gearbox, think your mech can help advise will this rojak works ?
He says advice is free. Just drop by chit chat and he'll oblige. Btw, he's only fluent in mandarin, canto and malay. Hope your language skills is there. Heheh...

Google Wai N Lin. Puchong Industrial.

Let me know when you go, maybe I can go there have a mini ZTH meetup
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,361
148
1,663
He says advice is free. Just drop by chit chat and he'll oblige. Btw, he's only fluent in mandarin, canto and malay. Hope your language skills is there. Heheh...

Google Wai N Lin. Puchong Industrial.

Let me know when you go, maybe I can go there have a mini ZTH meetup
Don't worry i am multi lingual, mandarin is my first language. Ok perhaps after this week, bit busy running my own business while still under employment.

Perhaps we setup a date first for majority of us who can attend to feedback, i will go with mine:

1.) Mitevo7 - Ken, 17th Jan - 8 pm (Puchong Old Town White Coffee)
 

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member

6UE5t

6,000 RPM
Senior Member
Oct 8, 2010
6,633
1,279
1,713
Kuala Lumpur
My mech loves this kinda rojak jobs Hahaha... he replied almost instantly after I messaged him. He said "Are you sure MaxxECU Pro? That ECU alone is already RM12k"

Gulp... I said Mitevo got money no problem.

Then he said your rojak mashup is no problem and tuning the TCU with the ECU no problem but he needs to see what you have, whats enabled, whats missing etc before he can properly quote. Let me know if you wanna pay him a visit.
Walao Maxx ECU is that expensive!??
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,149
6,354
5,213
KL
Dude, are you able convey my question of rojak 2JZGE 5 Speed Auto ECU to 1JZGTE VVTI to your friend ?
this rojak mix has been done countless times. No need to ask also I know it'll work. But that 2JZ TCU might need tweaking. Most of the autos that I've seen retain the 1JZ TCU.
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,361
148
1,663
In my case i would need the 2JZGE ECU to act as TCU that solely controls the 5 speed Auto, and i will be retaining 1JZGTE ECU + Greddy Emanage to control the engine, this rojak seems very complicated LOL
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,149
6,354
5,213
KL
In my case i would need the 2JZGE ECU to act as TCU that solely controls the 5 speed Auto, and i will be retaining 1JZGTE ECU + Greddy Emanage to control the engine, this rojak seems very complicated LOL
Mech says meet him up at his place and he'll explain everything you need to know. Too much to type and ask like this. But the rojak like you suggested won't work
 

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Mitevo7

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Jan 14, 2008
1,361
148
1,663
Mech says meet him up at his place and he'll explain everything you need to know. Too much to type and ask like this. But the rojak like you suggested won't work
Hi,

Ok then, perhaps i will find one Saturday to go over. I will drop you a message to inform when i am going over so i don't catch your buddy by surprise.
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,149
6,354
5,213
KL
Hi,

Ok then, perhaps i will find one Saturday to go over. I will drop you a message to inform when i am going over so i don't catch your buddy by surprise.
Mech la... I've been following him for a while so we're cool like that. Anyway yeah let me know in advance. Consultation is free anyway