who expert in ice please help me....help help...

gwsallen

Jan 27, 2004
oldskolboyz said:
Not 100% laa.. it's depend on current flow to amp.. let say your amp 500W at 14.4v.. only at this current the amp will pump 500W (max) to you sub.. if the current flow at 13.8v maybe less than that laa.. around 400-450W.. Hope you can check with manual.. every amp manual will show/state the actual power rating like 100w X 2 4ohm 12.v & 150w X 2 4ohm at 13.8v or 14.4v...
So let says:
HU sending 4V to amp
Amp fuse 35A, rated 200W
Battery voltage, 13.5V

Calculation will be 13.5V x 35A = 472.5W pmpo is this calculation correct?

acidcoller

Mar 29, 2006
wah..
vey difficult to understand if not expert in ice like me...

:cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile:

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
Too difficult? Ok, to make it simple :
Some amps gain can be used as volume control and some are not so there is always have 2 version of stories.
Based on the bcae.com and LA website, amps are from few mv to 4v, maybe some amps can get higher voltage, this I not that sure.
Most ofthe HU pre-outs voltage now are around 1.8-2.2v.
Mid speakers power is around 50-80w rms.
HU and amps tend to 'clip' or distort when the gain or volume set to too high(80-95%) where they cannot give clean signal anymore. I call this the speakers starts to crack.
So if using the calculator from bcae.com under amp gain, you can put the amp gain at max(4v) and HU at 2v and see the power output. Then follow by amp gain at half(2v) and HU still 2v. You will notice amp gain at max power is lesser than amp gain set at 4v.
The above calculation is based on bcae, if this website is cheating, then I also cheating....

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
all also the same lah, volume/level/gain from all the devices (HU, crossover, amp) will all increase signal voltage via RCA

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
Gain = Volume knob

I guess someone else can explain better than me.

thylantyr said:
A bold statement would be to say that the majority of
power amplifier design is as described in previous post about
gain knobs on amps as being input attenuators.

The real amplifier gain is fixed, the knobs to control gain
are really input signal attenuation 'volume' knobs {potentiometers to reduce the signal}.

Example;
QSC PLX proamps;
http://www.qscaudio.com/products/amps/plx/plx.htm

Scroll down;

Voltage Gain = 40x (32dB) across all models.

Each PLX has the game voltage gain by design and it's
fixed. Each amp has different power ratings and the amps all have 'gain controls' even though the real gain is fixed.

The word gain is used loosely and it confuses
people.

This may be the reason on how the issue gets confused.

music signal -> Input attenuation pot -> amplifier input stage -> output stage.

Two gain levels;
Gain is fixed between the amplifier input stage and output stage.

But amplifier gain as a whole measured from
the music signal to output stage is different as you
adjust the input attenuation pot, but it will never be
greater than the fixed gain, only equal or less.

This doesn't imply that all amps are this way, most are.
There is nothing stopping anyone from making the real
amplifier gain adjustable by adding a pot and removing the input attenuation pot.
Sphere said:
Gains on an amp are made to match the Source units Voltage gain...Squeezing twice the voltage through the amplifer @ 4 volts into (2 volts gain setting on amplifier) will yeild a better noise floor and improved dynamics...increasing the gains on the amplifier allow it to accept a small 2 volt signal and use it's own gain properties to increase the signal to amplify it to audible levels...this isn't the best option due in part that the amplifier would undoubtedly amplify NOISE AND HISS due in part that it isn't sufficiently sheilded or designed to prevent noise from entering the signal...(The Source Deck is responisble for amplifing a clean signal)------not the amplifier.

The amplifier gain is a passive helper to accomodate various SOURCE DECKS voltage differences with out the need to purchase a deck with a higher voltage output. Still the gain on the amplifer is NOT DESIGNED to amplify the signal itself perfectly without noise...it is the source unit's responsibility.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
gwsallen said:
So let says:
HU sending 4V to amp
Amp fuse 35A, rated 200W
Battery voltage, 13.5V

do u want to know the amp's real power?

in that case, 35 x 13.5 x (efficiency of amp, usually 50%) = 236.25 w rms total power. if it is a 4ch amp u divide by 4 la, becomes 59W per ch

amp efficiency is 80% for class d, and some high end class AB amps can be 60 or 70%

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
gwsallen said:
So let says:
HU sending 4V to amp
Amp fuse 35A, rated 200W
Battery voltage, 13.5V

No like that laa... there has many thing to include.. HU (4V) just a signal from CD to amp... HU c/w 4V, 5V or 8V will not increase amp power output but only making more clear & clean signal before reach to amp..

acidcoller

Mar 29, 2006
oldskolboyz said:
No like that laa... there has many thing to include.. HU (4V) just a signal from CD to amp... HU c/w 4V, 5V or 8V will not increase amp power output but only making more clear & clean signal before reach to amp..

what ur means bro??

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
wow..so many post and reading here..getting dizzy a bit..lolz....btw, acid did ur hu repair edy?

acidcoller

Mar 29, 2006
howiechoo said:
wow..so many post and reading here..getting dizzy a bit..lolz....btw, acid did ur hu repair edy?

not la bro..

pioneer service in kl os electronic lost lolz..
shit...
i do know whes the location for soon tat electronic

anyone who can hell me plz....................

:cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile:

acidcoller

Mar 29, 2006
help me plz....

:cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile: :cry_smile:

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
acidcoller said:
not la bro..

pioneer service in kl os electronic lost lolz..
shit...
i do know whes the location for soon tat electronic

anyone who can hell me plz....................

wat u mean o?

acidcoller

Mar 29, 2006
howiechoo said:
wat u mean o?
actually i went to pioneer service KL branch but the shop close or bankrupt already..
i do know but at front door shop have sticker word "SHOP TO LET'

now i want go to selangor brand at petaling jaya but do know wheres the place..
very hard to me bcoz im not expert the location there..

so any one can help me...???

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
u know rhb ss2?

acidcoller

Mar 29, 2006
howiechoo said:
u know rhb ss2?
not sure la bro..

dats my prob not expert pj area..

if any one who know any service shop for headunit plz hel me...???

need sum si fu help over here...
as i plan 2 change my 4g91 block to 4g93block
wat do i have 2 plan 2 get after changing the block...

so far the onli i could think of is the ecu cannot kau tim the 1.8
air fuel mixture edi...then injector also muz change...fuel pump...

thx in advance