Alpine CDA9887 vs Alpine CDA9855

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
Hi All,

as some of you have suggested to get the Alpine CDA9855 over the eclipse 3100. i recently went to Autogadget to have a look at the head units. i was recommended to get the Alpine CDA9887 which cost RM1750 haven't fully nego yet instead of the Alpine CDA9855 which is only a couple hundred bucks less. furthermore, the CDA9887 is a 2007 model whereas the CDA9835/9855 is kinda old rite?

i've checked on the net and i've seen the feature for both Head units. functionality wise, i think both head units are the same. but the CDA9855 has a more fancy display, and has a higher RMS output 26watts compared to 18watts. both units have media xpander, built-in electronic crossover with slope and db level adjustments, time correction. But the CDA9887 has the Imprint feature though sold seperately.

so anyways, to all sifu's who recommended me the CDA9855/9835. what do you guys think abt the CDA9887? issit a better head-unit than the CDA9855? coz i need to decide and buy it ASAP b4 i change my mind and become kedekut and not buy any Head-unit. hehehehe :)

thanks in advance.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
9887 is the replacement for 9855, and wow the prices from AG are very low....

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
meaning its a good buy ah Zenn?? i waiting for ur reply whole morning hehehe...finally u replied!!!

RM1750 is not the last price yet ler.....if i confirm want then i gonna try to squeeze off another RM50-RM100.

wats the market price for the CDA9887? and the function is just as good as 9855 if not better? but the graphics of the CDA9855 much better ler.....ah wai showed me the difference of the CDA9887 and CDA9855.

but i dun care much abt the graphics ler...not like im gonna be looking at my Headunit while i drive.

bafukie

Apr 22, 2006
lol... its like ur choosing between chicken or egg come first... 9887 no doubt is the 2007 model and i think its cheaper than 9855. The only thing i can think of 9887 con is that for IMPRINT to be fully utilized, u will need an external device (cant remember the name though) which by itself i heard is about the price of 9887. lol. And 1700 for 9887? i known places that can get cheaper than tat, local WKH set with full warranty... just for ur information and for the good of buyer.

cacin

Mar 9, 2005
I agree with some point by Bafukie. I think some sellers in forum have it for less than that right? The IMPRINT thing need a separate software/hardware to fully utilize it. Crutchfield is selling the CDA-9887 for USD399.99. The imprint tuning kit is sold for USD249.99. The interesting part about crutchfield's offer is that you can 'loan' the tuning kit for 30 days. Once you tune your system, you can return the unit and only need to pay USD50 which they claim is way cheap compared to actually asking a shop to do the tuning for you. By the way, based on crutchfield, the tuning kit is actually supplied to dealers only.

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
for the imprint to work, we'll need to buy a software for it. anyways the imprint is not so much as to what im looking for. basically im more interested in its tuning capabilities like the time correction, electronic crossover etc.

so bafukie, where can get cheaper than RM1700? for the good of all members and future buyers, maybe you wanna share with us which shop and contact details etc?

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
hmmm.....not warranty by WKH wor. 6 months warranty by the seller only. anything wrong and cannot find seller, then this HU can take and throw edi. but its RM500 cheaper.....hmmmm

worth taking the risk?

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
i prefer the 2 year warranty by WKH...

i havent heard 9887 yet, but 9855 is not bad, i just dont like the slide controls. and the model before that 9835 sounded better than 9855.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
probly something to do with production assembly & quality control in china factory, hope they have it solved already...

hi1983

May 7, 2006
now can't get 9855 stock liao,

and 9887 only rm1500 only drop price, eclipse cd3100 around rm8++ now also going to change new year model too.

how to compare both diffrence grade thing leh? 9887 consider high end for alpine but cd3100 consider mid level Hu in Eclipse ,

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
yes, have to compare with the 7100

rattan

Oct 30, 2005
www.itswat.com.my
get the 9855 no regrets one.. the slide touch u will get use to it...

Hz_to_kHz

Jul 9, 2006
9887 vs 9855, my opinion is 9855 is better than 9887 in sound quality.

Last time i used Audio Control RTA to test the pink noise to the 9887, i can see the low frequency response is less little bit, so it will let ppl feel 9887 is no powerful and dynamics.

Finally, i still support to Pioneer p80.:love:

Download and use CarBengkel apps to help you find the nearest workshop with you. You can send pick up service, ask for quotation or find the workshop nearby you to drive in.

This apps available in Apps Store and Google Play Store : CarBengkel

Are you a workshop owner?
Register your workshop with us to be list in our apps and you will be able to post your advertisement/ promotion straight to customers mobile phone!

For more details visit www.carbengkel.com

Contact...