Civic EG vs Satria Gti

WRM

Dec 30, 2009
Greetings all sifus n experts in motoring.
I am a student n looking for a 2 door/small car to commute with daddy budget of 25K-30K.
After looking in market i locked down into this 2.

EG vs SGTi.(recommend if thers other!)

Plz ADVISE reg which is better in terms of FC, TopSpeed, and daily driveable(soft clutch etc)

I understand tht eg is very older thn sgti (>17yrs) however,its also a HONDA..
(Ps:i saw this yellow eg on net n heart is touched)

Appreciate your views :)

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
you can consider EK, it is not as old as EG...
I would prefer Honda than SGTi as it has a B16A Vtec engine inside..

or you can take the Sedan type of EG / EK, it is at late 90's..I saw before in Motor Trader it has B20A engine inside

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
i highly doubt u can get an EG for that price, whatmore an EK.

as surveyed, the price for a EG is very close to 40k. Be it transplanted/converted or original.

yeehau86: there's no such things as B20A! B20B got la, and with that i highly doubt it will sell for <30k. those are torque monsters!

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
This is honda forum....for sure everybody say go for EG...:biggrin:

On another note, just take account the pros and cons :

Honda EG :
Pros :
1. Damn sexy
2. B16a....damn syiok engine + infinite mod options
3. Double wishbone suspension front & rear
4. Better build quality
5. Its a honda maa

Cons :
1. Hard to find stock & in good condition
2. Parts more expensive
3. Old chassis / engine (wear & tear) = higher maintenance cost

Satria GTI
Pros :
1. Newer chassis / engine
2. Cheaper parts
3. Quite good handling
4. Easily can convert to turbo/mitsu engine
3. Can join a satria GTI club.... :confused:

Cons :
1. Need to spend money abit to catch up to B16a EG (even in stock form)
2. Higher risk of theft/ break in
3. Build quality (especially interior)

For FC
- in stock condition both are almost the same, expect around RM15 = 110km

For topspeed
- In stock condition, EG B16A has speed cut at 180kmh, if removed you could get around 230 kmh. As for GTI, you could get around 220km/h

As for clutch
- In stock form, both are quite light and easily driven, IMO GTI is just a little bit harder.

Just go with your gut feelings......use the force :biggrin:

Hope this helps.

ehdrian

I Don't Care!
Dec 14, 2006
sgti certainly can be loaned higher than eg..if u choose sgti then go 4 turbo, otherwise just get a honda if u wish to play NA..

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
EG !!!! 100% in performance and also looks and handling !!

OVERALL !!!!

:biggrin:

about parts its not that hard to get bro....still can source parts easily

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007
i highly doubt u can get an EG for that price, whatmore an EK.

as surveyed, the price for a EG is very close to 40k. Be it transplanted/converted or original.

yeehau86: there's no such things as B20A! B20B got la, and with that i highly doubt it will sell for <30k. those are torque monsters!
opps, maybe I remember it wrongly..B20B is considered big Vtec, right? that's why it has high torque

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
B20 is a hybrid engine. its a combination of either a B16A/16B/18C/18CR head + B20 block from the Honda CRV.

why high torque? cuz its a 2.0!

btw, dont listen to AD_EG.... EK ALL THE WAAYYYYY!!!

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ
no prob bro, everybody has to start somewhere.

im also a noob still. i disturb AD_EG alot thats why he ignoring me now... LOLOL!

but really, EK ALL THE WAYYYY !

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
no prob bro, everybody has to start somewhere.

im also a noob still. i disturb AD_EG alot thats why he ignoring me now... LOLOL!

but really, EK ALL THE WAYYYY !
Eh ! don listen to him ...EK FTW !!!! OOoopppsss

hahahha...if got budget i sure say EK la bro...but since its between EG and Satria...i say EG la ...

when i ignore u la wei ?? hahaha don simply say things ah ...after i say in public your next top secret mod ! :rofl: :rofl:

yeehau86

Feb 10, 2007

hahahha...if got budget i sure say EK la bro...but since its between EG and Satria...i say EG la ...

when i ignore u la wei ?? hahaha don simply say things ah ...after i say in public your next top secret mod ! :rofl: :rofl:
what is the top secret mod? Ambi Pure Aqua flavour? or Premier Tissue? :rofl:
come tell us :listen:

arrowhead

Aug 20, 2004
Damansara/PJ

Omg! U wouldn't!! :banghead: muahahahaha.

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
Would I ? :flute:

:rofl:

From a necessity, the internet has evolved into one of the most important communications medium of today. And with such importance stands today, Malaysia’s first national automotive maker Proton had announced their collaborative move with one of the most advanced 4G networks in the world, Yes, in producing Malaysia’s first 4G internet cars. This new feature will be as a standard, starting from the upcoming new...