Workshop destroyed my friend's Levin Turbo engine!

fly2thesky

This is a true story just happened recently! A friend of mine sent his AE86 to installed power steering at a workshop in Taman Lembah Maju a week a go, the car was in very good condition before sent to installed the power steering, when the power steering installed after a week and the car is ready to collect, he found his car in very dirty condition like just heavy drifting for a long period! The car's engine have some strange sound but do not know what happened and finally resend the car to them to do the checking up.

The result found the sound is a con-rod bearing sound. They complained that we should changed it to racing bearing instead of NA bearing. They told us to refer to the origin workshop who converted the engine and they said they didn't touch on the engine and not even drift the car. They ignored everything and not responsible for what they have did!

Finally the origin workshop who did the conversion told my friend drive the car back to them to see what really happened, during the mid-road the engine's con-rod bearing sound is getting louder and louder and finally the engine burst during the same day.

Here are the picture taken after the engine was destroyed!

Turbomanifoldcolour.jpg

Noted: This turbo conversion setting is at 0.4 bar only mainly for drifting (the standard 4AGZE Supercharger setting is at 0.6 bar), the NA con-rod is more enough for us to drive due to turbo engine, the power is amazing, do not need to press until the maximum. Now the Turbo manifold housing changed colour from red to metal grey, meaning that this was Over Rev! This is not a NA engine, shouldn't press until the maximum for a long period!

botak.jpg

The rear TOYO tyres was Botak due to heavy drifting!

crash.jpg

Some small crashed on the front fender!

dirt1.jpg

dirt3.jpg

dirt2.jpg

Dirt found in overall due to heavy drifting!

cerahpintu.jpg

Paint dropped found at the side door and surrounding car! They didn't take care customer's car!

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a383/ericsign/car.jpg
This AE86 was converted to 4agze Levin Turbo few months ago at a shop who specialise in Turbo modification shop mainly for Levin and Mitsubishi turbo in klang Valley area. He spent about 3 months do to the conversion and spent total of approx. RM18k from bodywork to turbo engine.

Shop.jpg

Now just less than a week the car in this workshop, the engine burst! Somemore this workshop is recommended by his friend from Klang who also owned a AE86. The workshop should take good care of the car not simply drift customer's car!

They ignored what they have did and not willing to pay for the repair! Just imagine if this is your car, it's your life, you haven't really even tested fully with the engine and someone already destroyed it! What will you do?

NOTED: You can write your opinion on this issue! Maybe you know about this car or know who / where is this Levin Turbo was converted, PLEASE DO NOT MENTIONED ANY PERSON OR WORKSHOP NAME to avoid any trouble making since this issue was reported to the Police Station and let the legal action settled the case!

Hope you can say something about this issue! As a consumer, we have right to say! you can stand as a car's owner or as a workshop to say something about this case! Thanks!

dont need to post all over the zth ahh.. anyway, here'z my reply..

yer friend should have paid em a visit or infact stay wit the car.... thatz what i always do.. if my car were to stay over night for the lenghty repair works or whatever... i'll visit em a few trips a day.. u just can't take things for granted.

what to do .....u take THE LEGEND AE86 dfifting king Initial D to workshop....

u know what.......who will not 'try on' the legend lol

First of all, before anyone of us jump to any conclusions, we'd better hear story from both sides.

Sometimes you will be suprised to know wat the other side have got to say.

Fly2thesky,
Thanks for sharing your bitter experience.

Its very unfortunate your car suffer at an alleged unresponsible workshop.

If you want a good workshop, I can introduce you to a workshop in Shah Alam who is expert in AE86s and 4AGEs

I myself drive a TE71 with AE86 engine.

Let me know if you interested, PM.

brother actually what the is the point u are trying to show here???ban the workshop?
????or u want to warn others about being careful of who they trust their car with????i left my car with my friends workshop for 4 weeks already...it is ok...cause sometimes i will go visit the car...and tell them what i am not satisfied with...u have to show them who is the boss there (i mean customer is always right,BUT DONT MISUSE UR POWER)....get it brother???right now u cant do much...except u can sue them...saying ur car was damaged while it is in their garage....thank you...

seems like ppl canot resist AE86, die-die oso must test the car...Very risky...just like having a very beautiful g/fren......kakakakaka....

just now Dionk say

sue them if u have the evidence

pretty sad to hear such a story

being careful can be good too

my god, a nice ride gone to waste... being raped like that... that is not the way to treat your wife.... the workshop is realy irresponsible and un-professional at all.

Not sure whether you are able to sue the workshop.. but hope you and your friend might find a solution to this.

alexklg said:
my god, a nice ride gone to waste... being raped like that... that is not the way to treat your wife.... the workshop is realy irresponsible and un-professional at all.

Not sure whether you are able to sue the workshop.. but hope you and your friend might find a solution to this.

Police said this is a Jenayah case, they will receive a lawyer letter from the court in about a week. If we won, if the person unable to pay for the total money we have spent on the engine and the body, he will get in jail and the workshop will be closed or blacklisted by goverment. My friend oredi tired with this case, let the justice determine who is right or wrong!

the money needed to hire a lawyer and those courting fees and processing fees u have to take in account b4 considering report the case and start sueing

NOTED: You can write your opinion on this issue! Maybe you know about this car or know who / where is this Levin Turbo was converted, PLEASE DO NOT MENTIONED ANY PERSON OR WORKSHOP NAME to avoid any trouble making since this issue was reported to the Police Station and let the legal action settled the case!

then y r u posting the picture??
oh yes..right...u said dun MENTION,nothing about posting pic
hahha
anywayz...for the record,not for offending,"btw,87 out liao ma?87?89 loh!!!"

gohkokeng said:
the money needed to hire a lawyer and those courting fees and processing fees u have to take in account b4 considering report the case and start sueing

Many people dunno goverment will provide us goverment's lawyer with free.