Wira Fuel Consumption

valueshop88

Guys, any one can tell me what should be the normal consumption for a wira 1.8 SOHC. Let say, fuel tank can run for how many KM.

My car full tank is 75, but only can run very close to 300KM. Is this normal? I feel quit high for a car with this kind for power with that kind of consumption. Is it normal? Some of my friend driving civic with DOHC also can go 400k full tank!:confused_smile:

Please give some advise here, is it I need to get the car tune or.... I also don't know.

Please help.

My engine is 1.6 converted to 1.8 SOHC cause ori engineer burn during climbing to Genting:shcokedcamo:

Hope to have some advise here, thanks a lot.

bro, fuel consumption is a very subjective topic. diffferent aspect will vary a different car

1. ur car auto or manual? if manual then try to change gear at lower rpm. avoid unnecessary hard and sudden acceleration. if ur car auto, u just have to accept such FC.

2. engine condition. dirty air filter can increased FC. old spark plugs can incease FC. low grade engine oil can increase FC. do all the necessary.

3. if u r using 16" rims or bigger, forget about FC.

on the other hand, a DOHC may be true to be fuel efficient than SOHC engines driven at similar speed coz such engines produce more power.

and come to think of this...ur friend Civic is a 1.6.

to be fair, ask ur friend to go on a trip from KL to PD. fill both tanks full and after reach PD re-fill both tanks again and see the difference.

my wira 1.6 auto can get 12km for every litre - that is if driven at decent speed.

Hi, thanks for you reply

i drive my car smoothly, no hard driving. it usued to be only able to run for 200-220km full tank. haha, really cannot tahan, my friend evo 6 also almost the same. so i was so piss with it after i hear someone ask me to clean the throtte body. after doing so, it really increase to 250-280km.

last 2 month, just give up my 16" rim, which tyres are expensive and cause my car very jumpy. now my car can goes to 280km, even sometimes sudden acceleration.

air filter always using original one during service, spark part using ngk platinium, engine oil using full synthetic. planning to install pivot vs and ground cable after go back this time, don't know it will effect the FC much or not. But this is mostly for the audio system.

looking at your 12km per litre, if i'm not mistaken, your can should be able to drive for 400-500km. Is your car manual? If yours also Auto, do you think i miss out something causing it to be so high FC? What else i need to do? Hope you can share some experience to me, thanks

dear friend,

my car is wira 1.6 auto, standard SOHC 4G92 engine. normally i will get about 10km/litres but i get about 12km/litre recently. and to get that, i needed to maintain engine rpm to about 2,000rpm and avoid over it. imagine that!!

to be frank, it wasnt easy at all. LOL

i cant think of anything else you can do to get a better FC. maybe try clean/service air flow meter so that the sensor can give more precise info to the ECU.

other suggestion
1) install NGV ha ha JK
2) convert to 1.6 ha ha JK
3) sell car and buy err, Vios maybe? erm...new Vios wil be laucnhed soon in singapore and thailand. it wont be long to reach us though
4) sell car and buy kancil 660.

sigh, all stupid ideas. but really, can u confirm u fill up full aka 50 litres each time refill??

let me suggest one thing.
1. fill up tank full.
2. go 100km.
3. then top up fuel tank again.
4. if it takes 11-12 litres for that 100km, u r doing not bad at all.

p/s i am buyinga scooter soon. Modenas claimed the 35km/litre for the 150cc Elegan. how's that...tempting or not??