Fuel consumption and cc

• Thread starter prolog
  • Start date
  • Replies 19
  • Views 2K
P

prolog

Sorry newbie here,

Is fuel consumption directly proportional to the vehicle's cc (cubic capacity or displacement)?

Does it mean that 2000cc drinks exactly double the amount 1000cc takes?

What exactly is cc anyway?

Please enlighten me guys

Last edited by a moderator:
oops.

erm.it might not be.it MAY be purpotionate if the injectors are of the same CC.
but nvm.

i can cut to the chase and say most prolly NO. :_:

cc

The engine only does not 100% effect on the fc..

The shell (body) weight, tranny, load, driving style, engine technology
(turbo,vvti,vtec) all these play a part as well...

A wira 1.5 auto drinks more fuel then a wira 1.6 manual even a putra manual...

But technically, if just test the engine only, higher cc will consume more fuel...
How much is more is still subjective....

Fluffy said:
cc is Cylinder Capacity.
sure ar? i thought CC is cubic centimeter, just like the americans measure their engine in CI (cubic inch)

if cc is cylinder capacity then rotary engine die lor.. hahhaha

i thought cc is used as measurement when u donate blood??... hahaha...

as for fc for certain displacement engines.... varies alot....
lets concentrate mainly on NA engines... most of us see that bigger displacement engines will have higher fuel consumption... but a car with an underpower engine (too small cc engine) i also fuel consuming... this is because u need to step on the accelerator pedal more to get it going...

so, vr much depends on what car u driving... if proton saga, wira, iswara, i guess the best is 1.5L.... waja and perdana, 1.8L...

and engine design too.

my old carburator pushrod 8 valve engine consume as much fuel as a 4age.

and and... rotary 1.3liter consume more petrol than a 2 liter inline 4 wahahhahahaa

*cabut*

SkYwAlKeR said:
most of us see that bigger displacement engines will have higher fuel consumption... but a car with an underpower engine (too small cc engine) i also fuel consuming... this is because u need to step on the accelerator pedal more to get it going...

So 600cc Kancil does not necessarily have good fuel economy?
For example compared to Ford Telstar 1.8?

fuel consumption affected by many factors....Air,Fuel,Electrical system....these 3 r main for my opinion.

others can be tires,load,maintenance....etc

huakenny said:
fuel consumption affected by many factors....Air,Fuel,Electrical system....these 3 r main for my opinion.

others can be tires,load,maintenance....etc

Yes,assuming all of those things are equal..
Shape, structure, design, streamliness and all other things are equal..

Suppose there are two cars.

Car A
====
2.0 L
1000kg

Car B
====
1.0 L
500kg

What can you say about the fuel consumption?
Same type of engine..Same design..

i really dunno wat the reason for u to start this thread n ask this Q....

if everything is the same n one is 2.0L 1k kg n another is 1.0L 0.5k kg.

the fuel consumption should be 1:2 logically...

in fact, not sure...

fuel consumption varies in alot of ways la.... driver's driving style, tyre pressure, engine health condition, transmission, bla bla bla.... every part that is connected to the car has a possibility of affecting the fuel consumption....

What do you mean same type of engine.. that wan hard 2 compare my friend.. refine your question ... a 2.4 honda accord could be doing better FC compare to its older siblings even though both are using fuel injections...

Good topic raised.

FC is NEVER proportionate to the engine capacity. There are too many variables involve. There's fuel mapping whereby different cars have different mapping. And then there's gear ratios, there's aerodynamics, there's tyre friction and most importantly the driver itself.

Its not unusual to see a 1.6 litre car being more fuel efficient than a 1.3 car.

prolog said:
Yes,assuming all of those things are equal..
Shape, structure, design, streamliness and all other things are equal..

Suppose there are two cars.

Car A
====
2.0 L
1000kg

Car B
====
1.0 L
500kg

What can you say about the fuel consumption?
Same type of engine..Same design..
imposible to compare like that.

there's no way to say everything is the same, fuel, electrical, shape of car or any other stuff when you talk about engine capacity.

for one, different capacity already mean different bore and stroke, and the friction generated by them is already different.

and then there's the balance of the engine. Inline 4 engine is not really balanced, and it get worse as displacement climb.

Of course the 1.0,500 KG car is more fuel efficient. Assuming everything is identical. Same power to weight ratio,but the 2L engine needs more power to push 1000 KG where else the 1.0 is burning less fuel to push its lighter body.

i u want to compare your FC with others,write down ur fuel consumption daily divide by kilometre for several months..more practically..

if just talk2 theoretically,no point at all la..~

How about comparing a 1.3 Gen2 and 1.6 Gen2 on the FC? Is it a fair comparison? I mean, the two share a common chasis/ electrical/ but the weight differs according to the engine weight. So, topic starter, you might try this?

prolog said:
Is fuel consumption directly proportional to the vehicle's cc (cubic capacity or displacement)?
NOPE

prolog said:
Does it mean that 2000cc drinks exactly double the amount 1000cc takes?
NOPE

There IS NO direct formula to do Fuel consumption calculation like

cc = 2000, weight = 1000kgs, and the FC will be xx.xx lit/km

No, no such thing. I believe you are not science stream student.