Windsreen

alan_ling

Hi just want to know which one is better
1. buy the screen from half cut then fix it at the workshop OR
2. let the workshop cover everything?
pls advise

if u can find a half cut shop who has ur windscreen, then i guess it would work out cheaper that way. but its rare to find i believe. they can't exactly import glass without breaking it in the process. and then it would be condition, see through condition?

u may be better off finding the windscreen from spare part shops and having someone installing it.

the installation is not cheap, i have smashed mine twice. the glue required and the workmanship. there are special tools to remove ur old windscreen neatly, dun just let anyone with a pen knife do it, u'll find leakage.

firstly, before its necessary to spend money for windscreen replacement check whether its covered under ur insurance policy. if its covered, then juz find any PIAM workshops to replace them and make sure the bill doesn't exceed the sum insured. if u think, going to franchise after sales service will do a proper job, then go for it. provided the total cost is lower than sum covered.

ask ur insurance provider whether is it necessary to lodge police report or not. some insurance do not require them, photos taken before and after replacement will do sufficiently. a simple report may do...like this..

pada 'date' lebih kurang jam 1530 saya memandu dari rumah ke stesen minyak di blah bla bla dan saya memandu di belakang sebuah lori. tiba-tiba saya sedari cermin hadapan saya retak, dipercayai terkena serpihan batu yang terpelanting dari tayar lori. saya tidak cedera. tujuan repot adalah untuk tuntutan insurans. jumlah kerosakan tidak pasti.

juz an example.

if windscreen is not covered, prepare to korek ur wallet thinner. cars that has local made windscreen from MSG (malaysian sheet glass) doen't cost u a bomb to replace. the more cars on the road, the cheaper they will be.

there are varieties of windscreen glasses like tempered and laminated. normal windscreen glasses like the one used on toyota hilux LN106 tend to break into various sizes and this may be harmful. proton sagas use tempered glass which will break into thousand of small pieces to prevent serious injury especially face and eyes.

on the other hand, laminated are being used widely including the latest kancil and iswara since 1994. laminated are actually 2 glasses bonded together. the effect is that they are stronger and hold together upon an impact but can get easily cracked. the crack may also grow longer as u drive into a pothole. this is normal.

tempered glass for saga/iswara cost around RM80. plus workmanship and sealant gum, it wud come up to a total of rm120. laminated will cost around rm180-250 to replace depending on workshop.

other than national cars, try to shop around if u have the time and get the best quotation. make sure they provide guarantee against poor workmanship. otherwise come rain or after a quick wash, there will be water dripping in onto the dashboard.

i remeber during my time working at toyota, an owner of this TCR11 estima came over to change his crakced windscreen. to my surprise and him too, the parts dept informed that the glass alone (imported from japan) cost RM11,000++!!

that doesn't include labour charges, sealant gum and windscreen moulding which may be necessary if not properly removed (kiaw).

what if i want to just remove the windshield and reseal the seams, and use the old windshield?
how much would that cost?
im asking because some fella replaced the windshield and its leaking. dont wanna go back to the bugger.
thanks in advance.

hai poiki. in my work work to assess insurance claims, we allow RM45 for the cost of sealant gum. labour we give RM120 which a simple mathematic will tell you its a 4 hour job.

but in reality, i know it is cheaper. a lot cheaper. he he :)

i only worry the worker will crack the windscreen as they remove it. becoz they need to kiaw first and in that process, may damaged the windscreen moulding.

best thing is to stay while they do the job. and advisable to do it on a sun shiny day. simply avoid rainy day unless u hv no chice.

Originally posted by zan@Apr 4 2005, 23:00
i remeber during my time working at toyota, an owner of this TCR11 estima came over to change his crakced windscreen. to my surprise and him too, the parts dept informed that the glass alone (imported from japan) cost RM11,000++!!

that doesn't include labour charges, sealant gum and windscreen moulding which may be necessary if not properly removed (kiaw).
[snapback]868433[/snapback]​

WTF??? :blink:
please tell me this is a typo :o

no, this is true back in 1998. i was attached to seremban branch UMW toyota before transferred to puchong branch. after 3 years, i moved to Kia Technical service but now i am working as insurance claim assesor.

get u few more examples later on..

any of u guys knows how much is needed to replace
wira windscreen, those double layer 1?????

If I were to get the windscreen from chop shop, what shd I tell them?
any japanese screen compatible with Satria?

double layer windscreen (or laminated) whether made by MSG or MCIS (both glass manufacturer) can be purchased from EON and Proton Edar at the price of RM244 per piece. advisable to replace one of the moulding; at RM8.40.

u could definitely get a lower quotation from independent repairer as they can play with the profit margin. shop around first.

to alan, windscreen for satria are as follows
1.280.38 for tempered
2. 575.00 for laminated (double layer)

both price quoted by Proton Edar.

if u r looking for used ones, similar model is Mitsubishi Colt/Cyborg. but usually they will be broke first as the chop shop will cut the body halfway at windscreen pillar.

anyway, we can alwiz try our luck... :)

zan dude,

wat about installation workmanship?? how much they normally charge??

those sightly original tinited windscreen from mitsu expensive?
i notice there r ori mitsu side door screen also original tinted 1? u know the price for tat???

mine windscreen leaking water when heavy rain lah, bcause last mech fix not properly

yo jdj6632!

labour charges can vary from 50-150. dun wori, the workshop wont press u on that. but normally, they will give u only one figure; meaning everything included. there are chances they mark up price but normally not the case. they still make money even though they charge low.

imagine, its not so hard to remove smashed windscreen glass. they use knife to cut the edges and vacuum all the minor pieces. too bad if shattered glass pieces dropped into the air vent on top of the dashboard. worse still, if ur dashboard calar as a result of carelessness.

the job maybe kautim within 2-3 hours. but longer period needed for the sealant to dry up before they can do a spray test. if possible get a week guarantee on leakage, best if can drag for one month.

as far as i am concern, nowadays workhsop will do the job properly. this is becoz if u come back and complaint of leak, not only headache to face u but headache to refix the work. FOC pulak tu. juz be extra cautious. thats all...

as for imported tinted glass, its nothing new in oversea countries. other than that, there is also semi tinted glass which looked 'cool' in brown or green. i am sori i do not have the answer on how much does it cost and the availability :(. jdj, u kena cari member yg kaki potong for the answer...

p/s kaki potong = kaki half cut bukan potong orang!