Why Rollcage Is Illegal ?

i've said it before and i will say it again ..

In Malaysia ... - If it's not standard, its illegal !

hehe .. roll caging? :rolleyes: .. i think road version skyline supras dont have roll cage put in :rolleyes: malaysian oways like dis .. doing all funny mods .. end-up by getting caught and summoned :P

Originally posted by TiBuN@Apr 17 2005, 01:39
Earlier got a post discussing about this already... if i remember correctly, the significant factor that say this is illegal is due to :
1) Hard to extract the victim if involved in accident, not easily accessible due to additional metal around
2) If they approve this mod, then your kedai "Abang" will be selling the beng version, which further void all OEM warranty on the car & also the actual safety standard.
3) Like you said, accident could cause head injury.
[snapback]903759[/snapback]​
thats correct.. the problem with rollcages is that its hard for them to cut you out of the car in the event you are stuck

some of the laws are stupid.. but some make absolute sense

lol yea lerrr.. sure its photoshopped, mine just 4g13 niaa.. useless engine .. T_T .. if got SR20det inside .. hahah sure i go play at off the street event lorr.. heheheh only wira in there drift ... :P

roll cage i understand lerrr. but then sometimes ah .. cases like exhaust, gt wing and sun shade ah .. 1st they ban then they do it ... gila betul... aiyaa proton cars just drive carefully lor kenot do anythign wan .. accident ... with rollcage u knock ur head and u die .. without rollcage, u still die when the car kemek and compress u into tomato paste..

Road cars = keep it stock, less hassle from authorities and puking thieves.

Rally cars = max it out, since you will have sponsors with unlimited budget... or it depends on the T&C.

Don't do rollcage...go for autofoam then :D stealth mode :D ...how they detect?? hoho...question is how much it harden the chassis... :lol:

hi acbc
u into rally?
malaysian rally?

i cant find any sponcer...
i hear from ppl
first few years must use own budget....
when u got good result only the sponcer comes..
:(
is it true?

Originally posted by jaywat@Apr 18 2005, 00:24
Don't do rollcage...go for autofoam then https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' /> stealth mode https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif alt='biggrin.gif' /> ...how they detect?? hoho...question is how much it harden the chassis... https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/laugh.gif alt='laugh.gif' />
[snapback]905700[/snapback]​

How to stealth it?? what is autofoam? any pic?? idea. what d process is done.???

autofoam ar..all ur bolts in the car will loosen within 6 mths man,harden ur chasis...den the reason ur chasis is hollow so the if it rains,u got standard drainage system n wont clog up ur car..if u put autofoam,ur drainage system poor n ur car will eventually rust to an old heap..IMHO :ph34r:

the good side however,will provide better control of the car n prevent flexing.so ur cornering can whack as tho u got strut bars :P , then more stability lorr...more quiet ride too,cuz the hollow part of ur chasis got outside 'wind' sound when travelling at 100 or more,by sealing wz autofoam,it acts as a type of soundproof.

did abit of homework cuz i wanted to do also...thinking of the consequences,better not la

Well from all the replies..I think rollcage has its good and bad.
if said hard to extract a victim trap inside a rollcaged car. i think its not, juz my opinion. Cause the rollcage is placed strategically in the car so still leaving some space for escaping and extracting.

And heads hitting the rollcage is possible but maybe less ? cause you are wearing seat belts woth pre tensioner that dont allow exessive movements suddenly in an accident. :)
Juz my own opinion.....
JPJ is the dai ko mah...say this wan, then can loh. Say this wan cannot, then cannot loh... :D

Rollcage, be careful. If you ever looked into a car with a rollcage, you'll find that the interior space is greatly compromised, some even taking out the rear seats. There will be an overhead beam, and side beams, which compromises entry and exit from the vehicle. Now this would create several problems:

1) Head injury
Bear in mind that if you drive in a car with a rollcage without a helmet, and you impact into something, the beams crisscrossing within your vehicle will possess a risk to your moving body parts. Even if wrapped in foam, your head crashing into those beams at 65 kmph is enough to rip the entire skull apart.

2) Iron wrapping
Rollcages are not indestructible. If it is legal, expect to see a lot of cap ayam rollcages around, and these serve no purpose other than making the car look fast. These kinda rollcages might bend and wrap in the even of an accident, and these steel bars might stab into the passenger or make the recovery of an accident victim from such vehicles extra hard.

3) Difficulty of rescue
In the event of a collision, imagine the driver suffering neck fracture, and has to be carried out of the vehicle carefully. Now if you have rollcages, you'll have side beams and these will complicate the rescue effort. it will take longer time for these people to get the driver out. Now imagine a more serious condition - the car is on fire, and they have to get the driver out. This will turn into mission impossible when rollcages is in the way.

If do rollcage...wear full racing gear whenever u driving...even u go paktor... :ph34r:

Wah if wearfull racing outfit even going for paktuo. ppl will look at you with strange eye... :D wearing full racing gear to TT session too. Hahahaha :D

my car got rollcage...have been stopped by jpj and police...the jpj just ask me to change my plate number cause i use aluminium one...they didn`t kacau my rollcage...but the police very langsi one...those fu*kers talk like they know everything...like shit man i told u...they ask for duit kopi somemore...fu*k they think i wanna give...i said to them `mintak no. badan encik"...then they said i can go...no summons or whatso ever...before leaving i sound them ' lain kali agak-agak skit ye encik'...they look at me once and then they chow...those fu*kers...but not all of them re like that...some of that is very good one...friendly summore...

im surprised that got ppl ask why cannot put rollcage !!!!! its a simple logic that those bars will injure your head & body in the event of a crash or even minor accident. why blame jpj when what they mean is for the safety of US !!!!!!!! jpj are actually quite reasonable wat......from my experiencelah........even the tinting issue....when the jpj relax a bit....car owners go to the extent of tinting so dark or so reflective that we cannot even see the driver's face........so i feel the "cikgu" must be very strict so that car owners will not go to the extent of modfying their cars foolishly !!!!

actually insurance company has the right to refuse to pay for damages if the feel they are not able to identify your car to their satisfaction or the car does not look as per the original description in their record . what am i trying to mean if i take out the "wira" sticker at the rear of my car & put the words "Mitsubishi" on it ??? am i saying my car is not a wira anymore but a mitsubishi ??? if thats what i mean then its against the law because in the jpj registration record my car is a "Wira". but if i take out the words wira from my car but leave it empty then its alrite . now got the idea why the MOVE emblem got problem one ??

I wonder.
Okay, rollcages are illegal, but how if you're wearing your helmet while driving full time, just like motorcyclists?
If JPJ sees you with helmet and your car rollcage equipped, do you still get fined?

-e f i n i- said:
I wonder.
Okay, rollcages are illegal, but how if you're wearing your helmet while driving full time, just like motorcyclists?
If JPJ sees you with helmet and your car rollcage equipped, do you still get fined?

WHETHER OR NOT WE WEAR HELMET , WE WILL GET FINED FOR THE ROLL CAGE....the matter is installing rollcage in a normal car being used for daily commuting is illegal... i think jpj will burst into a laughter after seeing u driving with the helmet !!!! do ppl actually do that ah ??? i think its illegal to drive a car with an helmet......if jpj does not catch you then the police will.......

RollCage= Sangkar Golek Rock & Roll= Batu dan Golek

Hey guys why dont you all set up a PVC pipe rollcage? If kena Block then you just take it out lah....... but dono maybe they will give saman "jenaka yg tidak sesuai".....???

now i understand why canot put rollcage in car liao...

that means we must be track car and put rollcage only lah...

upon installation, can rollcage be removed after that??
any damage to the car?

I think the roll cage would be welded onto the car chasis right? so if u plan to remove it after putting it on, i suppose there will be some effects.. just guessing..