Whistling noise from engine

Zeroed

Hey guys. Got a problem that i have been unable to fix.

My engine (4G93P), after bolting on a turbo, now makes this whistling sound when its on load, mild load even (30%-100% throttle). Its coming from the right side of the engine (timing belt side). The whistling sound is like " ngee ngee ngee ngee ngee, high pitched, very quick intervals "...

My mechanic has disconnected all the beltings including the aircon compressor, alternator and power steering pulley belt but the noise is still there, so I would think that it isnt a bearing or belting problem. The timing belt has been conveniently changed, too.

Has anyone ever had this problem before?
Im still using the original intake manifold and engine head.

And no it isnt the turbo spooling noise... that one I like, no need to get rid of. :biggrin:

Anyone? Thanks

Termizi: You crazy ah... You think all these workmanship cheap ah... :biggrin:
Timing belt already replaced bai... said in first post...

Freedom_Blue: Err. Already mentioned in my first post that all the belts and bearings were removed for testing but the noise was still there. Besides the idle pulley bearing was replaced sometime ago.

MSDN suggested on another forum that it might be the clutch bearing...hmm...

Eh no la I where got use good stuff one... Like your car meh bodykit only also can join beuty contest liao... heheh Im using a budget semi-racing clutch only... dunno la got to get it checked one day... ish

simple piping leak.. it boosts.. it leaks, t whistles, at a connection point on the pressure side. get some real hose clamps .,. f those tiawanese crap ones.. and make sure some ignorant b'stard didn't strip one of those cheapo clamps when tightning.

Peace,
Auochild

Hmm will try replacing the clamps, thanks for input.

Thing is I dont even have any turbo pipings on the right side of the engine... XD

Oh and the noise appears during negative boost pressure as well. As long as there is some torque its there. Its also mostly audible only when the bonnet is closed,which is a troubleshooting problem...

Hence why im cracking my head for this. ARgh.

Never mind .. small problem.. it's siple leak.. on vacuum or pressure.. we use the Stealman mike to detect where the sound is coming from and fix it.. if u have hoist and a good ear you can do the same.. no worries.. happy problem.

Peace,
Autochild

I think is the engine mounting, either loose or kong liao.
Theory : Earlier engine mounting is ok, then bolt on turbo, additional torque, wear off the mounting earlier, then now squeeking ONLY when apply torque (only when your engine block move front and back).

I'm also facing the same problem... But mine is an iswara... Anyone can help out?? It becomes louder as i accelerate faster...

and i also got squeking sounds when i drive trough uneven road or humps... why is it so? Asked my foreman before.. he told me it is due to the 'base' for my strut bar( i have taken off, just left the base) which is attached on top of the absorber...

thanks everyone.. :-)

something spinning is causing the whistling sound.movement of air created.i dont know what...sorry,but im sure its a moving,spinning item

Autochild: Stealman mike? Whats that?

Tibun: No way its the engine mounting.. its not a squeak, its a constant whistle that is there whenever there is torque from the engine.

theoreks: Have you checked all the bearings and bushings?

PocketR: Heheh im thinking either that or some leak somewhere... but an airleak shouldnt cause the sound even during vacuum...

I guess my best bet is the clutch bearing.

I did change my timing belt few months ago for my 4G93p. After that, got sound like whistle came from the engine as well. As i rev higher it becomes louder and this quite annoying me. I don't really understand what is actually happening but it happened right after i changed the belt. I haven't got any problem with the engine yet so far, but that sound comes out from the engine makes me sakit telinga oi!!

Not the clutch bearing. Will get my mech to check la... sigh

misfire: If your problem is already identified then it would be easy to solve right...heh

Stereo Interference from change of ignition parts (dist. cap, Rotor arm, wires etc..) or the whine of a final drive of an automatic ?

Peace,
Autochild

Not sure about stereo interference... does that even make such a loud noise?
But definately not the whine of a gearbox, and mines manual too. =)

Oh and not air leak either.