Which GPS navigation is most suitable

I started off with the Garmin 10x bluetooth adaptor but found it troublesome when a call came in on the phone at the same time. So now I use a Garmin Nuvi instead.

Cud u revert the cost of the Nuvi being sold in Malaysia? Also which map is it running on & the cost?

Thinking of getting it here in the US & bringing it back to Malaysia to use.... see if can save a little

Mio units are ok but not reliable. We were using Mio units back in 2005, a bit buggy but had good satellite reception.
Garmin was a bit slow to get into the mobile navigation device market as they were more focused on outdoor and military equipment. They basically played catch with Tom Tom and other brands. Now that they have caught up, they have left every other brand behind. Garmin now offers more models with more options.

In Malaysia Mio supplier has stopped selling Mio because of low volume sales and too much technical backup required.

one more thing, my advise is to buy authorized garmin units. There are many parallel or AP sets for sale at cheaper prices but cannot give real warranty. they claim to give warranty but the dealer has no link to the factory. You will be lucky they take your unit back to fix (meaning send to factory). Many AP dealers are hit and run guys so beware. it pays to buy an original authorized unit to get full after sales support.

Cud u revert the cost of the Nuvi being sold in Malaysia? Also which map is it running on & the cost?

Thinking of getting it here in the US & bringing it back to Malaysia to use.... see if can save a little

I bought both my units from Singapore. US should be cheaper. Go to tigergps.com and if you can get cheaper than tigergps, then chances are they will be cheaper than Singapore or Malaysia.

thanx for the tip!

Brand & Model: HP iPAQ rx5915 Travel Companion (Mapking)
pro : Pretty fast Sattelite lock. Tons of memory. Cradle is flexible on positioning and firm on support.
con : Unable to connect to headunit, volume can be quite soft.

A PDA phone which doubles up as a GPS generally can be quite troublesome when it is guiding you when a call comes in.

I've been using a Garmin nuvi 255W for about 6-7month or so. Was previously using a tom tom and i have to agree with some of the comments on tom tom. So ,when i got a chance to play with this garmin, i sold that one off and been a happy customer with the garmini. Very simple and fits quite flushed in my dash.

My 2 cent of looking for a GPS.
1) If u have frens who have one, ask them to let you play around with it. Within a few minutes you will know if it's what you are looking for or not.
2) Don't get one with all the bell and whistles (if your dont need it la) Be clear with what you looking for. Don't get drawn in with the sales talk of "This GPS can even speaks in Hakka!" You will laugh at it for the first few minute when u hear it talk, then u will never us it again :P
3) Find out how easy is it about uploading new maps and the free mapping community.

If to use it main in M'sia, it's the map compatibility that matters. No point having some state of the art machine but with a very outdated map or worst still, don't even have a map.

So it's either Garmin or MapKing.

there are many china brands out there but many don't have sufficient support because it is a bit of a chicken and egg situation. No volume means it is hard to justify having a proper setup for a support team. Many unknown brands in the market survive only for about 1 year then mati because lack of volume and no technical support.

Best thing to do is to try out a few types from various brands and then check the history of the GPS brand in the market and also the history of the company supplying it. If they have been in the market for more than 1 year and they are still surviving then chances are that the unit you buy won't be left hanging without support later.

A PDA phone which doubles up as a GPS generally can be quite troublesome when it is guiding you when a call comes in.

HP iPAQ rx5915 Travel Companion is not a pda phone with crappy receiver, it's a dedicated gps devide with multimedia function.

Bro's...

Juz got my Garmin Nuvi 200w today... but seems like it delay for few seconds for navigation... how do i make it correct announcement? For example:- Supposed to turn right less than 200meters, and my navigator only announce right after i turned the corner....
2nd issue is when i travelling LDP, near the uptown tunnel the gadget allert me "Police Ambush at Exit 1112" but when reaching SS2 flyover, its alerts me "Police Roadblock at SS2 junction, then out of my curiosity i make a turn in, which is nothing there :(

Any suggestion?

Looking forward to hear from u guyz....

Thanks..

Just got my self a packard bell navi system with updated maps of Malaysia and Singapore. Using it for a mth and happy with it. Accurate and updated maps.

Lanevo6,

How much u bought tat ? can upload any overseas MAP ???

Road coverage in KL you dont need to worry with malsingmaps.com. New housing area will be track by hardcore trackers with gps unit that compatible to do tracking like 76csx, 60csx, colorado, oregon etc.. I've owned this unit for quite sometimes to search for new track especially in klang valley. There are about more than 30,000 members in malsingmaps has contributed their tracks, POI, report road error and more good news it's free of charge.

Overseas map can be purchased but its quite pricey. If anyone needs an overseas map at affordable price, just let me know

It's updated at least once 2-3 months. One of the member have even tracked the new LEKAS Kajang-Pajam highway.

Check out the road coverage below
208.jpg

301.jpg

362-1.jpg

264.jpg

159.jpg

178.jpg

I bought a Garmin Nuvi 200 unit about 4 months ago from an authorised reseller. Paid about RM1.4K for it. This is my first ever GPS unit and first time ever using one. I'm very happy with it though I think the distance measurement is about 10m out. Apart from that the user interface is extremely simple to use.

You have to be careful about the scale (whether you are really zoomed in or not) when navigating in areas you are not familiar with as sometimes if there are small streets you can turn into the wrong ones.

About 3 weeks ago I went on a business trip to Seattle, USA and found out that the units sold there are much, much more cheaper than here in Malaysia. I'm talking about a few hundred ringgit cheaper! And this is even with the high conversion rate!!

So if you are planning to buy a Garmin unit, try and get a friend travelling to the US to buy one for you.

I dont really believe in h/p GPS. Saps the battery too... a dedicated gps is always best. Currently using RCG GS-961. Huge screen loud and clear speakers comes with bluetooth pairing to you handphone too. I heard there will be Raya promotions for GPS coming.:biggrin: