Which one better hks racing bov or Greedy/trust type R? and... Does GFB bov be used 4 hi boost application
sorry to ask again but wat about GFB bov? looks like it's quite good isn't?
i personally hate GFB... kekkekee
i bought a used boost controller from one forumer... use allenkey to adjust that... i bring back sabah and use.. can boost 1psi increase only... kanasai... actuallly is the o ring of the controller nipis liao...
this the problem maybe u need to always change the o ring ... after i throw it liao....i bought a Trust greddy manual boost controller after ward with rm200.. so far i bought 3 to used on different car of mine and one for my friend... total got 4..
so far no problem, no need service.. from lowest boost of ur car setting to maximum i adjust 2.1bar...
there are still many choice out there... i not sure about GFB BOV good or not , because i not yet use it be4.. see what ur requirement racing use.. i think HKS type 2 racing or Greddy Type R/ Turbo Smart race port is suitable for u
the greddy type-r is for sure to surge , the turbosmart is also high boost application
go get a synapse bov :P , it will open up even at 0.1bar , and it will still close shut at 3bar without leak :P , eliminates compressor surge after i changed to it, it won sema awards & etc , also have started to be used on drag cars , feel free to view the videos at youtube , bt warning, its not suitable for MAF fitted cars, so is the Turbosmart , both turbosmart and synapse will leak at idle , if u r having a MAF fitted car, "stall"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2--IIMSa9A&feature=channel_page
the greddy type-r is for sure to surge , the turbosmart is also high boost application
go get a synapse bov :P , it will open up even at 0.1bar , and it will still close shut at 3bar without leak :P , eliminates compressor surge after i changed to it, it won sema awards & etc , also have started to be used on drag cars , feel free to view the videos at youtube , bt warning, its not suitable for MAF fitted cars, so is the Turbosmart , both turbosmart and synapse will leak at idle , if u r having a MAF fitted car, "stall"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2--IIMSa9A&feature=channel_page
sometimes i wonder if Synapse paying any commision to you for promoting their products?![]()
![]()
hahaha cos only of one thing , i was speechless when i used it
not a single sign or surge and also no boost leak , hehehehhe if i have another turbo
car , i will still buy synapse
hahaha cos only of one thing , i was speechless when i used it
not a single sign or surge and also no boost leak , hehehehhe if i have another turbo
car , i will still buy synapse
there are a few reasons why i would use a synapse, ok let me write my karangan kakakakka
first , it has something similar to the HKS type-II & ssqv , the more boost, the more secured the BOV will be , because boost pressure will pressurize inside the bov which will press the valve against the bov, diffrence between HKS and the Synapse ? , HKS uses a diaphragm , while synapses uses o-rings
another diffrence between a HKS and a Synapse
both are pull type BOV , HKS uses only one single nipple or vacuum source to pull open the valve when u want to open up. While Synapse was designed a diffrent way , it uses two vacuum source to pull the piston and one boost source to help push it , so all together 3 nipples , this wht makes the BOV very very responsive , that is why it opens up at low boost and also high boost , and it closes shut to no leak when boost rises.
![]()
http://www.rhdjapan.com/images/product/51919/Image/Normal/Image.jpg
the left side is somehow wht the HKS looks like but lesser one nipple , as you can see there is a spring that pushes the valve down , and a vacuum source on top to suck up the air and open the valve when u let go your throthle
wht the synapse has done is that it has 3 nipples , see right side pic, when boost hits in , it doesnt let the piston move up or down , because both side are pressurised , it has two niples pushing the bov down and only one nipple pushing the bov up , and there is a spring pushing the valve down , making it not to leak. When you lift your throthle , the top right nipple will get vacuum source , the left middle one will also get vacuum source , the bottom nipple will get boost source from intercooler piping, causing the bov to open up freely :)
ready to see greddy design ?
![]()
the greddy bov's have a diaphram , it uses a spring to push the valve down and also a vacuum source that will push the valve down on boost and also pull the valve up when u let go your throthle , wht is the downfall of this design is that , boost pressure builds below the valve
unlike the HKS & Synapse , they build boost inside the bov , greddy pushes the valve from down , so if you run high boost and the spring cant support, the BOV will leak. What happens if you tighten the BOV nut above ? yes now it will stand high boost , but it will have a diffrent problem , it will surge like a horse at low boost because its too stiff for low boost
but ahaks , there is an alternative way for the greddy bov , you may tune or help the bov to open up at low boost , that is by fitting a BOOST source from intercooler piping to the down nipple of the greddy BOV. But then again, the BOV easily leaks when u run high boost cos the down nipples makes the valve to open up more easily. The down nipple is recommended more to cars that run very low boost and is unable to open the bov even after loosening the spring tension.
conclusion : why i chose synapse, no worries about diapfram , Greddy Mutiara motorsports does not sell diapfram for the type-s or type-r , u can buy online but it cost bout RM300 just for the diapfram , im not sure bout HKS's , i have a few frens running the greddy, all have torn their diapframs, nothing can be done unless u buy one new diapfram or close one eye , why i dint like the HKS Type-II , its because its too stiff for daily drive application, its sure to surge at low boost , but withstand high boost . Why i dint like the Tial or Turbosmart ? cos if your setup has changed , cams changed, vacuum readings start to differ , you need a spring change inside , i havent got a change to open up a Tial or Turbosmart, thus i guess SDF should give better reviews on them ,
and the wonderfull synapse, you only need rm1 to change a o-ring, it has about 3-4 o-rings which u can purchase locally , thats it :P , bt err if your car runs on MAF , u need to buy some gadgets for it to work properly & recirculate the BOV :)
hehehehehehe, happy boosting , motorsportttzzzz
that is a very good explanation/ karangan..hehehe..thanx and i think it will be beneficial to each and every other user. This really makes me to ditch my Type S and see what Synapse can do heheheeh...
So are you planning to use Synapse Wastegate as well? since it uses the same concept, and also built in boost controller?![]()
not saying type-s and type-r is not good
if u do not face boost leak and surge, (lil surge is ok)
then u should be ok la , just make sure dnt surge at high boost, quite destructive
drag cars are totally diffrent from daily drives, they can use type-r or hks type-II or etc with stiff springs, they only let go their throthle at very high boost , so their important motive is to not let boost leak at high boost as well as open up only at high boost, low boost isnt their concern at all , cos they wont go there :P
but there are cons of synapse too , u cant have any leakage on ur vacuum hoses, if you do , it will cause surging too , the hoses must be 100% secured, their wastegate , i will buy it when i have the money la , hehehe
yeahh how much u bought it taigoh jinkl