partyJOE

where 2 get stuff for DIY grounding...
such as 8awg cables n others...
sum say can get in pasar rd..
but im nt sure which shop...
pls help...thx:)

hi..

just ask for power cable at any shop in jln pasar..
red color wan...
last time i asked RM4.50/meter
then cable lug alsooo need to buy.

but i'm thinking to get from c-ground also..
mebbe + RM10~20 expensive... :)

true 4 gauge cable is about that price lo...those selling in jalan pasar abt RM50 one is 8 gauge...

jaywat said:
true 4 gauge cable is about that price lo...those selling in jalan pasar abt RM50 one is 8 gauge...

zen is right..and wrong.

Those selling in jalan pasar is 5 or 6 gauge. But definitely not real 4awg.

You can see it from the size and thickness of the lugs used. The attachment below might help in differentiating the cables. Red one is the real 4awg cable that we used to have, the blue one is the Jalan Pasar stuff.

Anyway, lets do some costing for a DIY project.

Materials:

1] real 4awg cable (such as what we use), if you can find it, costs about RM18/m... a typical setup (take Wira as example), needs about 4m OR MORE. Minimum cost = RM72

2] good quality 4awg tin-plated copper lug (such as what we use), if you can find it, costs about RM1 each in small quantity. A 6-cable kit needs 12 lugs. Minumum cost = RM12

3] Heat shrink, 13mm, about RM3/m. You have to buy at least 1m. Cost = RM3.

4] Solder wire. 60/40 compound, 1.2mm thickness. You need about 4m to solder 12 lugs. But no one sells 4m. So got to get a roll, cost = RM10 (estimated)

Total cost = RM85

Tools:

5] instead of soldering, you can crimp the lugs. A good crimp tool for 4awg size costs about RM90 - RM120.

6] solder iron, 100W. Price varies from RM15 (made in china) to RM80.

7] etc etc etc that you can imagine..

Everything can be cheaper if you buy in bulk.

Most of the shop at Jln Pasar sell 8awg power wire between rm3.5 - 4 , I think can get rm3 if you buy 10m and above, depends on your bargin skill. 8awg able slug is rm2 for 4. You don't need to solder it, just hammer will do and you don't need heat shirnk by just using tape cause you are connecting -ve only, just make sure it is secure and tight. If you are not heavy on ICE, 4m of 8awg is enough and for 5points for most the car, buy 5m to be safe. 4awg is not common at Jln Pasar, you can get it from accs shop, it is about rm15 - 25 for non branded one.

The grounding cable package as c-ground shown (blue color), I use before, it is not 4awg and material used I don't think is high quality copper. I got it for rm50 per set from Jln Pasar.

kww said:
Most of the shop at Jln Pasar sell 8awg power wire between rm3.5 - 4 , I think can get rm3 if you buy 10m and above, depends on your bargain skill. 8awg cable lug is rm2 for 4. You don't need to solder it, just hammer will do and you don't need heat shrink by just using tape cause you are connecting -ve only, just make sure it is secure and tight. If you are not heavy on ICE, 4m of 8awg is enough and for 5points for most the car, buy 5m to be safe. 4awg is not common at Jln Pasar, you can get it from accs shop, it is about rm15 - 25 for non branded one.

That's a pretty crude way to make a set of grounding kit for yourself. I did exactly the same thing years back. Nevertheless, a very cost effective way.

Happy shopping around and DIY. :biggrin:

Ha ha ha, I know is a crude way but DIY is not just to saving money, it is an exercise to pactise you to solve problem with limited resouce and learn from the process no matter success or fail. Enjoy DIY is most important.

kww said:
Ha ha ha, I know is a crude way but DIY is not just to saving money, it is an exercise to pactise you to solve problem with limited resouce and learn from the process no matter success or fail. Enjoy DIY is most important.

can get at the shop.outside got many ppl sel fishes on...at the road there...forgot the name

if u juzx buy few meter..then is rm4 for one meter.... if u get one 'gulung'..it is about rm130-140....i think is 45meter for oone gulung if not mistaken....

SMS me...i can go wit u...if i at kl la..normaly lepak at times...nearby jln.pasar nia..cheers

thread starter....pm me if u wan go...

the cables normally comes with 50m a spool. But please take note that those cables selling in Jalan Pasar at RM130 - 140 a spool will get rusted (oxydized) pretty fast under the humid and hot condition in the engine bay.

That was the reason i went look for better cables everywhere.. before c-ground was started.

c-ground said:
the cables normally comes with 50m a spool. But please take note that those cables selling in Jalan Pasar at RM130 - 140 a spool will get rusted (oxydized) pretty fast under the humid and hot condition in the engine bay.

That was the reason i went look for better cables everywhere.. before c-ground was started.

DIY to learn himself on how to do all these stuffs.....

1st to gain experience, 2nd to gain fun, 3rd to satisfy own need....even myself wil diy in many areas...if i know how to do so...

timer,meter,filter,ice system,engine minor parts.....etc wil do it my own

my 2cent

huakenny said:
DIY to learn himself on how to do all these stuffs.....

1st to gain experience, 2nd to gain fun, 3rd to satisfy own need....even myself wil diy in many areas...if i know how to do so...

timer,meter,filter,ice system,engine minor parts.....etc wil do it my own

my 2cent

Agree agree.. don't get me wrong, not to mean to discourage DIY.. Please remember that c-ground fellas are all DIY freaks too. That was how we learned. :biggrin:

Just been a little technical and particular. Tell you all about the cable quality there lar.. not saying that those cables are useless.. :smile:

cheerz! :cool:

c-ground said:
Agree agree.. don't get me wrong, not to mean to discourage DIY.. Please remember that c-ground fellas are all DIY freaks too. That was how we learned. :biggrin:

Just been a little technical and particular. Tell you all about the cable quality there lar.. not saying that those cables are useless.. :smile:

cheerz! :cool:

agree agree.....lolz

Hey guys, pardon for my sillyness, but as I'm unfamiliar with the roads in KL (only been driving here for a few weeks). Can anybody guide me where is Jalan Pasar? I'm from Bangsar.

Many thanks.

Write your reply...