What material for HEAT SHIELD

gohkokeng

eh guys here....i was wondering u guys was DIY heat shield.....what material u guys using?

like i wanna put something sticking underneath the bonet near the AIR FILTER area to prevent the hot BESI creating hot air around the air filter. So which material is the most suitable to stick underneath the bonet inside the engine bay?

i saw so many people using ALUMINIUM FOIL and ALUMINIUM ZINK........but didn't aluminium is a good conductor of heat instead of good blocker of heat?

hey goh, 1 of my friend using those aluminium zink stick with superlon to do the heat sheild, i'm going to follow his step next but not so soon....hihi
about the superlon u can check it out here - http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=407

How about Corrugated Plastic Sheets which you can find from some art stationary shops?

http://www.conservationresources.com.au/images/products/48.jpg

More info at http://www.conservationresources.com.au/home/products/product.php?pid=48

Maybe use this corrugated plastic with superlon to make heat shield?

if you combine corrugated plastic sheets with SuperLon, it'll work great.

ninja_iga said:
if you combine corrugated plastic sheets with SuperLon, it'll work great.

According to the website, Corrugated plastic sheets can resist heat..but dunno up to how high lah.

I was thinking of using corrugated plastic sheets instead of zink or aluminium sheets because it's easier to cut the corrugated plastic sheets to shape the heat shield.

Ninja, the SuperLon should be on the inside part of the heatshield or on the outer part of the heatshield?

inside or outside part also can .... if u have enough space to put on both sides, even better.

well, i'd put it outside, and it'll help to protect the plastice board from being too hot. (and melt?!)

yeah try putting outside first .... but if u're using the aluminnium foil kind , then the inside will also be hot .. so if u have space, paste on both sides...

unless if u're using the plastic board then, try the outside first la ...

hhmm.. just one stupid question. if i do my heatshield using the superflon covered plastic, how can i *mount* the hose (air ram) to the heatshield? tape it can ah?

May i know where did u guys buy the aluminium sheet in PJ ? by metre ? how much ? Thanks

Aluminum sheet can be easily koyak, unless it is backed by some cloth or some paddings.

Anyway, The other day, I sibuk-sibuk at BROTHER store, saw some pre-cut (donno what size) heat insulation/sound deadening cloth on sale. I think it has self adhesive backing too. Cost abt 48 bucks.

ken yeang said:
Aluminum sheet can be easily koyak, unless it is backed by some cloth or some paddings.

Anyway, The other day, I sibuk-sibuk at BROTHER store, saw some pre-cut (donno what size) heat insulation/sound deadening cloth on sale. I think it has self adhesive backing too. Cost abt 48 bucks.

Ken

i sell those heat-insulation/sound deadening material, SuperLon,
RM35 a pc, 3ft x 4ft

more value for money guaranteed!

Stanley

Stanley,

hehe, I don't meant to promote Brothers stuff. Just only telling ppl out there their options.

Yeah, I hear Superlon is good. BTW, out of curiousity, is Superlon treated with any fire retardant? I'm mean, anything can happen under the bonnet right?

Ken

no worries, i'm just here to tell ppl their options too.
LOL!

SuperLon is a fire-retardant material. Self-extingushing rated.
but under the right conditions, anything can burn. Including metals.

where exactly do you use the heat shield?i mean which part u need to cover?the ram or the filter itself?