Weird substance inside radiator

Sifus, how about coolant. Which color better?
and extra question. Radiator cap pressure, 0.9, 1.1, 1.3 ?
Should i worry ?, because sard radiator come with 1.3bar cap.
So far hose not yet burst. Or i must get 0.9bar cap as from original specs.

coolant i also xtau....

about the caps, their main task is to try maintain a certain pressure at which when reached, will allow the coolant to flow into the reservoir.
the pressure affects your coolant boiling point.

one risk of installing a higher pressure cap on your car is.... im not entirely sure your system can tahan... if your hoses are not in good condition ~pop~

**im also in the mids of figuring out if
1)i should install a higher rating cap
2)if i can buy one of those fake china crap with a temp gauge (i mean i like bling bling alot and its not that exp)

Your battery not MF? As long is distilled water can use.....:driver:

MF battery. Just asking because Madman posted about using battery water for radiator. Not using the water for battery.

Apparently people say the red coolant from Toyota is the preferred one. Avoid green coolant. That is what I read before over here.

ya know..... i distinctly remembered filling up with RED coolant..... but now..... its green~ dad reckons it was green in the 1st place not red~~ bottle was thrown out. Its one of the mysteries which has baffled me till this day

What? Means your dad switched your red coolant with green? On your 6A12?

nolah haha what i mean is ..... i remember putting in toyota red coolant....

it was only after like.... 4-5 months when it hit me.... hmmm didnt i put in some red stuff.... why is this green~~ when i asked my dad he said, coolant cannot change colorlah, I must have imagined it was red. well since nothing bad happened, i buat xtaulah carried on with life~:smokin:

*just to clarify, am not colorblind!!!

it was only after like.... 4-5 months when it hit me.... hmmm didnt i put in some red stuff.... why is this green~~ when i asked my dad he said, coolant cannot change colorlah, I must have imagined it was red. well since nothing bad happened, i buat xtaulah carried on with life~:smokin:

Well, you can still change the coolant now to red one.

I checked the radiator cap again just now. Now those substances seemed to have taken form of dried up or hardened air bubbles. Could it be that these things are actually oil? I attached some pictures of it.

• DSCF0874.jpg
    DSCF0874.jpg
    86.4 KB · Views: 107
  • DSCF0875.jpg
    DSCF0875.jpg
    80.4 KB · Views: 103
Well, you can still change the coolant now to red one.

I checked the radiator cap again just now. Now those substances seemed to have taken form of dried up or hardened air bubbles. Could it be that these things are actually oil? I attached some pictures of it.

thats looks like very much is oil bubbles.....

could be just minor internal oil leaks at head gasket...

can use your car...but make sure check the coolants and engine oil always (twice a week or so)

thats looks like very much is oil bubbles.....

could be just minor internal oil leaks at head gasket...

can use your car...but make sure check the coolants and engine oil always (twice a week or so)

If it is oil leak, that means a top overhaul is needed? Or just a head gasket change?

Not the color lah! Go for brand.
Real good stuffs, Redline Water Wetter, Royal Purple Purple Ice. Lugegard Kool It.
If not Toyota LLC (Long Life Coolant) which is red, However Toyota LLC used to be concentrated but they change to Premix and raise price some more (RM22), so now I switch to Mitsu LLC (RM17.90) which is green.

As for cap pressure, better use original pressure. Too high a pressure if your system is old, may start a leak somewhere......lol

hahaha...but color blind is between red and green woh......lol:biggrin:

I start to suspect that these weird substances are oil stains. I showed it to my aunt which she said years ago, her Proton Tiara had similar issues with her radiator. Her mechanic told her that her gasket is leaking and she did an overhaul to get it fixed.

hmm... ever try run the car with no radiator cap? if you see bubbles then definitely head gasket kaput... if no bubbles, still a possibility....

if i were you, if it isnt a major issue, i would just keep running it as is but keep an eye on both the radiator and engine fluids.... oil masuk radiator i would close one eye BUT if water is mixing with the oil in the pan, thats when i would take action... (dont know why there's a double standard here)

hmm... ever try run the car with no radiator cap? if you see bubbles then definitely head gasket kaput... if no bubbles, still a possibility....

if i were you, if it isnt a major issue, i would just keep running it as is but keep an eye on both the radiator and engine fluids.... oil masuk radiator i would close one eye BUT if water is mixing with the oil in the pan, thats when i would take action... (dont know why there's a double standard here)

I will try it later and post the results here.

So far, the fluids seems to be at a stable level as I did not notice any significant reduction in coolant or engine oil. But isn't it hard to check if there are any small amounts of water mixing with engine oil?

There are bubbles but large ones and not a lot of them. Is like one large bubble that came up, then stop for a while. Then another came up later. This only happens when the fan kicks in. After I turn off the engine, the water rises up and down repeatedly.

I will try it later and post the results here.

So far, the fluids seems to be at a stable level as I did not notice any significant reduction in coolant or engine oil. But isn't it hard to check if there are any small amounts of water mixing with engine oil?

hmm if its small amounts i guess should be quite difficult to find unless you drain it all.... dont think the water would get enough to turn into steam and condense on top of the head anyway.

bubbles could be trapped air or well............ exhaust (if its trapped air, should stop after a while i guess)

sorreh, noidea how to post videos
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7UyhjT7nWY0

hmm if its small amounts i guess should be quite difficult to find unless you drain it all.... dont think the water would get enough to turn into steam and condense on top of the head anyway.

bubbles could be trapped air or well............ exhaust (if its trapped air, should stop after a while i guess)

sorreh, noidea how to post videos
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7UyhjT7nWY0

Oh, the bubbles in my radiator don't look like that. They feel more like a large wave coming up. Or maybe they are not bubbles? After I turned off the engine, I noticed that the water on top is covered in thin layer of skin/film. Looks like a layer of oil...

I want to ask, if it is indeed a leak from gasket, is it still okay to drive the car or should I leave the car until it is fixed? I still have another car to use.