Wawasan 2020.

You still don't get it, do you?

Yes, we are all happy to be Malaysians and certain things about our country is worth lauding. But there are also many things, many aspects that can be improved on. Things that are done better in other countries which we should emulate or exceed. It's not that we want to be LIKE that country. Get it? You are able to look at how we are better off than some countries in certain aspects, why can't you see how some countries are better than us in certain things.

We understand your whole "be grateful" point. It is you who don't seem to understand the "be better" point.

gtishadowfax said:
bro trance...

are u a malaysian?
are u holding malaysian i/d card(change to mycard already aaa???)
are u STILL here in Malaysia?

if all your answers are "yes", i congratulate u, bro!BRAVO!!!FEEEEWIIITTTT!!!!
CAYALAHH!!!!

oh..and one more....are u STILL BREATHING malaysian air?

coz i've breathe in US for a few years...UK for one or two...and hell, do they stink!
heheh...cool man...

arent u earning a good living here?
arent u eating good food here?
arent u able to go out at any time, not afraid of being shot?
arent u lucky to be here?

or are u one of those dealers who got sumtin stuck at port klang?
aisee.....no wonder laa...so berapi one...heheh...

chill off, bro...

wonder how it is, to start over in another place...people like u...and wonder how those people will take it, when u start mumbling of how bad our country is...maybe they would say "hey good la this guy, once he's here, he waste s no time talking bad of his hpmeland...wonder what he'll say about ours if he moves to another country after this...?"

and probably they'll give u a pat in the back and a warm-red carpet welcome!

bro...

sayin we are better than those poor country is not lame, coz its the truth, whether u like it or not...

and i think we are slightly better than US,UK and all those crap countries that shout out loud about human rights, equality, world peace, but then in front of the whole world, stepped on others mercilessly...

being an asian (not sayin malaysian), in another country and tried to earn a living...i know how hard it is...

maybe u wanna try...if its so bad here than...lu berak dekat mana pagi tadi...if not in your toilet, in your house, on this blessed soil of beautiful malaysia...

while u were walking into toilet, do u have to go slow...see left right left right...mana tau ...ada orang mau tembak lu....ada bom mau jatuh ka...?

or just....adooiii!!!sakit perut...cepat cepat mau berak laa....then rushed into toilet...and aaahhHhhhHH!!!....LeGaAaAAA!!!

no need to think about bomb.
no sniper around to blow your brains out.
no quake to split your toilet bowl.
no volcanic erruption to spill your shit all over.

sudah berapa lama u think, those people in those country..mau berak pun trak senang?

peace...

Gtishadowfax,

based on you above posting, you have PROVEN that you are NOT WORTHY to debate at all. IF you have bothered to read my posting, i countered your POINTS for what it is. i have NOT attacked your character in ANY WAY, i've NOT called you names, i HAVE NOT ACCUSED you of anything (other than being a hyprocrite, of which i POINTED out where u CONTRADICTED yourself).

so now i ask you again, are you not able to debate the topic which is wawasan 2020 WITHOUT resulting to accusing/attacking my character and person??

this is why i seldom post anything here anymore. time and time again there are people are too childish debate the topic properly WITHOUT personal attacks. how sad. and we want to be a developed nation? HA! what a joke. badawi once said, it's not the first world facilities that makes the country first world, it's the PEOPLE that makes it first world.

p/s: you have NOT countered ANY of my points made, other than making attacks on me. do you think yourself a worthy debater? if so, then act like one.

sorry bro..didnt mean to hurt ur feelin'...maybe got a little carried away...thinkin of what those mat saleh really bullied me when i was tryin to earn as a part timer there a couple of years back.

really sorry!

probably i just love this land so much...

no mood for debate la today....u guys are right here and there. i'm right here and there too...

everytin's sure got room for improvement..

haiyah...this govt officer tested my temper again la just now...
thinkin of mau continue cari makan with them or just give them a piece or two...

wat do u think?...have a family to feed la...if last time bujang one...sure this guy got it already...bukan kita tak penah tido lokap...

haihhh........so sad la...and pissed-off!!

si|verfish said:
You still don't get it, do you?

Yes, we are all happy to be Malaysians and certain things about our country is worth lauding. But there are also many things, many aspects that can be improved on. Things that are done better in other countries which we should emulate or exceed. It's not that we want to be LIKE that country. Get it? You are able to look at how we are better off than some countries in certain aspects, why can't you see how some countries are better than us in certain things.

We understand your whole "be grateful" point. It is you who don't seem to understand the "be better" point.

silverfish,

seems like gtishadowfax has counted his blessings and is content with status quo. or at least that is how it seems to me after his latest posting (not to mention all the personal attacks and name calling). anyhow, i await his reply to mine. i'm glad at least u see my point of 'we can be better', rather than 'we're better than some of the rest' (which incidentally what DrM did a lot of when he was PM. maybe it has rubbed off).

gtishadowfax said:
sorry bro..didnt mean to hurt ur feelin'...maybe got a little carried away...thinkin of what those mat saleh really bullied me when i was tryin to earn as a part timer there a couple of years back.

really sorry!

probably i just love this land so much...

no mood for debate la today....u guys are right here and there. i'm right here and there too...

everytin's sure got room for improvement..

haiyah...this govt officer tested my temper again la just now...
thinkin of mau continue cari makan with them or just give them a piece or two...

wat do u think?...have a family to feed la...if last time bujang one...sure this guy got it already...bukan kita tak penah tido lokap...

haihhh........so sad la...and pissed-off!!

u hurt my feelings? hardly. my concern was if u were able to debate this. if you are, then i'm more than game to do so. if you're not and insist on bashing my character and person, then i'd see no point in posting at all cos i might as well be talking to a wall or to myself.

i see no harm in you loving msia. but i do see a LOT of room for improvements if we're to be a developed nation and not be satisfied as with it, as it is now.

Driving to work today, I was reminded just how uneven our roads are. Ever notice how when they dig up the road and re-tar it's never even? Stevie Wonder could tell you that right? The one I encountered today was across the road, I assume it was for some minor piping or cables. It's cuts across a major road where cars at travelling at some speed. It's one of those annoying narrow but high bumps. That shit'll put a dent in your rims man if you don't notice it. There's also a big hole (bout 3' x 2') in front of my office entrance now, sigh... A Ford Ranger went in it and I took notice of how deep is was. There is always so much construction going on but no results. I still remember it took me 30 mins to get to town some 10 years ago. Takes me just a long now. Don't see any improvements here...

Just felt like a rant.

beware of that long ones...crossing the road...

my kenari kena one time....not only tayar pancit...rim oso tembus!

near SS19 subang...be xtra careful...

Wah that's a killer hole man.

I also hate it when they don't paint speed bumps in dim lit areas. I have a suspicion they do it on purpose and hide in the bushes. They get a kick out of seeing the expression on the faces of unsuspecting victims. I don't see any other explanation.

trancebum said:
silverfish,

seems like gtishadowfax has counted his blessings and is content with status quo. or at least that is how it seems to me after his latest posting (not to mention all the personal attacks and name calling). anyhow, i await his reply to mine. i'm glad at least u see my point of 'we can be better', rather than 'we're better than some of the rest' (which incidentally what DrM did a lot of when he was PM. maybe it has rubbed off).
Exactly. What scares me a lot is that I suspect there are many many more Malaysians who think the same way ie. being happy with status quo. Which BN is happy enough to do. Keep these people happy by tending to big fires and appease them; but behind the scenes continue to do whatever they want and fill their own pockets with these ignorant folks money.

Therefore we can all kiss goodbye to development and positive change and the Vision 2020. We will continue to make the biggest roti canai and longest this and so on so forth, thinking "Wow, look at our achievements...Malaysia Boleh!"...while in truth we are slowly being relegated by the upcoming nations who work harder.

I love this country for what it is, and I'm sure a lot of you think the same. But precisely because I love it, I want it to be better and I know it can be better. Introduce better laws, better administration, better education, better healthcare, better execution, etc. Just that for some reason, people resist change. I know this for a fact because I've seen it. You introduce some new technology or new business process to increase effectiveness and eficiency but they refuse to work with you because it would require them to change, more work, more thinking and less of what they are used to. It really is a "Who moved my cheese" situation.

These people are "happy with status quo". That phrase describes it so well.

but the thing is, bro...u cant do it as an "outsider"....

see wat happened to anwar?

have to do from inside...but it will take a lot of time...maybe we wont see any different in our times...but hopefully our future generations will...

being an outsider...bang this and that..oppose this and that..wont make much...
better be inside...wait and be patience...strike bit by bit when u've got the chance...

this is the way i see it. no point being so vocal, majority wont accept it. malaysians cannot adapt to drastic changes, see this thread...this is a good topic, why only a few posting? so many waiting on sidelines only and not participating...a lot of followers, but only a few choose to lead...

the big question is HOW?

i lie awake at nights, being pissed off with stupid govt servants, arrogant mpsj officer, bodoh sombong police officer...thinking of what to do to this people...and how to do...

anyone with the answer to this big WHO?...definitely get my vote...
for the time being, i wont waste my time voting. not worth it. be it UMNO, DAP, PAS or any of those.....all have their own agenda...

probably can nominate a rockstar for a candidate...at least we can rock till we drop and have one hell of a good time before we close our eyes...

cheers!

actually,

being a malaysian i am abit worry. Our education system was providing good people in the past decades but its slowly going down. young grads today from the high school are not as competitive to previous one. The English just so so only, chinese or malay are also so so only, mathematics and other also so so only.....and the worst is, many of those top students probly end out leaving malaysia after they studied abroad because malaysia gomen failed to provide them a attractive platform to develop.

looking at our neighbour, singapore and thailand. they are doing well and our country is falling further and further behind from them.Vietnam and cambodia also catching up in a very fast phase. Cant imagine if BN continue like this then what will malaysia be in the year 2020.......

i dony agree if we dont vote........of coz' each of the candidate have their own agenda......either if its good or bad.....but if all of us dont vote...then we will decent to anarchy....anyway......for me personally...ill vote based on the nominees him/herself.....if her track record serving the peopl of the area is good....then ill vote him again if necessary.....if not....ill vote the other guy who can make changes (which we not confom yt...but ill give him a chance).....i wont vote based on party....as long he served the peple.....deeep inside him knowing the tite "YB" meens "Yang Berkhidmat" not "Berhormat"....he/she deserved my vote..... so....lets debate more...this is interesting food for thought....

si|verfish said:
Exactly. What scares me a lot is that I suspect there are many many more Malaysians who think the same way ie. being happy with status quo. Which BN is happy enough to do. Keep these people happy by tending to big fires and appease them; but behind the scenes continue to do whatever they want and fill their own pockets with these ignorant folks money.

Therefore we can all kiss goodbye to development and positive change and the Vision 2020. We will continue to make the biggest roti canai and longest this and so on so forth, thinking "Wow, look at our achievements...Malaysia Boleh!"...while in truth we are slowly being relegated by the upcoming nations who work harder.

I love this country for what it is, and I'm sure a lot of you think the same. But precisely because I love it, I want it to be better and I know it can be better. Introduce better laws, better administration, better education, better healthcare, better execution, etc. Just that for some reason, people resist change. I know this for a fact because I've seen it. You introduce some new technology or new business process to increase effectiveness and eficiency but they refuse to work with you because it would require them to change, more work, more thinking and less of what they are used to. It really is a "Who moved my cheese" situation.

These people are "happy with status quo". That phrase describes it so well.

I think the bigger issue here is not the introduction of laws but rather enforcement of these laws. The government has always asked that the public be more civic minded or rather they expect the public to be more civic minded. Initiatives have been made at the grass root level but children being children, are very impressionable at that age. While they learn about 'gotong-royong' and all that, their parents and other adults litter. I am left dumbfounded whenever I come upon a trash can surrounded by rubbish. I've come to the conclusion that many Malaysian's aspire to be NBA players.

Onto enforcing the law now. I remember back in college where the municipal council officers would go round looking for patrons who smoked in video arcades and non-smoking restaurants. Instead of feeling fear however, I felt challenged. It was an adrenaline rush being able to smoke in a prohibited area and get away with it. Why was there an absence of fear? One can only fear something that a commands respect. Fire, heights, a boss with a raging temper, etc. Needless to say the law enforcement officers in our country command no respect as they display traits that position them 'beneath' us. Again this can be traced back to the government and it's salary structure. Preservation of life is of the utmost priority. While the government has embarked on a journey to produce the biggest and longest insignificant structures, the people got left behind. The people were left to fend for themselves and through any means necessary, strove to make ends meet. It is hard to take pride and passion in your job when your boss shows no appreaciation. A pat on the back isn't going to buy you a house for your family. Hence law enforcement officers take whatever they can from whoever the can. I've also always felt the need for law enforcement to comprise of more educated people but given the poor pay, which educated person would want a job there?

The majority of our citizens have to be treated like children. They have to be told what to do and exactly how to do it. They have to be punished with enough force to not repeat mistakes. Even with these punishments in place, we know we can still get away with murder.

duke red, si|verfish, tracebum , i suppose you guys are well into your late 30s-40s. You guys probably have witness the transition period of our malaysian education.

back then; the language of teaching was in english; there was a a lot of pride in self /personal development. Even teaching then was an noble profession. There were "outsiders" or to some label them as missionary schools; they always instill personal development/betterment/self belief etc.

Unfortunately all my education began in an "all" BM language as the main medium. now before anyone attack me of being "pro-mat selleh" ; please look at things objectively.

my ex boss (a bumiputra from kedah) even did acknowledge the poor contribution of malay development is their way of thinking. This has been the sore debate even amongst bumiputras. Mind you, he (my ex boss) is learned person & I have great & many respects for him. He is not pro mat-salleh but pro-malaysian . He started as a teacher, have seen the ways of the "old" school & the introduction of so-called new education.
By controlling the way they are taught you are in fact controlling the way they "think". (i think theres even is a book on this)

"Be contented in what we have" & its very easily manipulated by people in power & by instilling "fear of losing status/or the fear of losing the greater unity/brotherhood is in fact instilling a pathway for accepting third-class standard as standard of fulfillment (jaguh kampung or syok sendiri). this is not a launch act of attack of our federal constitution of protecting the rights of the malays but trying to see the better picture of contribution of all & the continuation of betterment for ALL malaysians.

Nobody like wars, nobody like losing & telling malaysian people that we should be grateful for peace is clearing not looking at the bigger picture.

there are a lot of "insights" offered by my ex-boss on why our G is not completely caring out the task effectively. They were many salient points but the forum here isnt the most conducive & this can easily catapult into a sore point for some.

back to the "wawasan 2020". a good & noble sight then, but we are in fact threading 4 steps backward for every step forward. AND many of us don't see that but instead rebuffing it as we are in fact better then a third class country.

koolspyda said:
...si|verfish... , i suppose you guys are well into your late 30s-40s...
:rofl: :aetsch:

koolspyda said:
back then; the language of teaching was in english; there was a a lot of pride in self /personal development. Even teaching then was an noble profession. There were "outsiders" or to some label them as missionary schools; they always instill personal development/betterment/self belief etc.

Unfortunately all my education began in an "all" BM language as the main medium. now before anyone attack me of being "pro-mat selleh" ; please look at things objectively.

my ex boss (a bumiputra from kedah) even did acknowledge the poor contribution of malay development is their way of thinking. This has been the sore debate even amongst bumiputras. Mind you, he (my ex boss) is learned person & I have great & many respects for him. He is not pro mat-salleh but pro-malaysian . He started as a teacher, have seen the ways of the "old" school & the introduction of so-called new education.
By controlling the way they are taught you are in fact controlling the way they "think". (i think theres even is a book on this)

"Be contented in what we have" & its very easily manipulated by people in power & by instilling "fear of losing status/or the fear of losing the greater unity/brotherhood is in fact instilling a pathway for accepting third-class standard as standard of fulfillment (jaguh kampung or syok sendiri). this is not a launch act of attack of our federal constitution of protecting the rights of the malays but trying to see the better picture of contribution of all & the continuation of betterment for ALL malaysians.

Nobody like wars, nobody like losing & telling malaysian people that we should be grateful for peace is clearing not looking at the bigger picture.

there are a lot of "insights" offered by my ex-boss on why our G is not completely caring out the task effectively. They were many salient points but the forum here isnt the most conducive & this can easily catapult into a sore point for some.

back to the "wawasan 2020". a good & noble sight then, but we are in fact threading 4 steps backward for every step forward. AND many of us don't see that but instead rebuffing it as we are in fact better then a third class country.
I agree with many of your points.

si|verfish said:

16???!!!!!!!!! hehhe

the little time i have to contribute here (zth), so naturally i may have missed out any insights that may allow me too guess/access your wisdom.

but nevermind, minor...heheehe (j/k) this 38 year old fart do acknowledge that i may be slightly ignorant of the path(s) of the the yougling(s) of today.

koolspyda said:
duke red, si|verfish, tracebum , i suppose you guys are well into your late 30s-40s. You guys probably have witness the transition period of our malaysian education.

Darn you mean I sound so old?:) I just turned 29 lah and still have enough energy to go clubbing and drinking on weekends! Just so happens I like to read and learn from discussions like this one. Helps stimulate the mind.

I would like to express my deepest appreaciation to you uncles for tolerating the rantings of this young punk :P

Duke Red said:
Darn you mean I sound so old?:) I just turned 29 lah and still have enough energy to go clubbing and drinking on weekends! Just so happens I like to read and learn from discussions like this one. Helps stimulate the mind.

this aggurs well for the future. l was begining to lose hope.....
cant help it lah, too much third rate rubbish fed so naturally tot malaysians are losing it...