vibration on new wheels

bryan90s

hi folks,

just got a set of new rim KR brand from klang. my upgrade was from stock 13" steel rim to 15". on a wira

did all balancing and adjustment accordingly.

on the way back, when i travel above 100kmh, i feel vibration on my sterling.this is not happening while i on my stock 13". straight i went to a local tyre shop and told them my problem.according to them, since initially my stock was 13", i have to add....sorry i duno i heard it correctly o not .."rim cone" to the center of the hole in between the bolts.it costs rm35 a piece.

after installation, i tried sped up to 100kmh again. vibration is still there, but alot better than b4 putting on those "rim cunas"

whats the problem?

check ur balancing..means the ppl at the place u did the rim change shud add pcs of weight to ur rim
bryan90s said:
hi folks,

just got a set of new rim KR brand from klang. my upgrade was from stock 13" steel rim to 15". on a wira

did all balancing and adjustment accordingly.

on the way back, when i travel above 100kmh, i feel vibration on my sterling.this is not happening while i on my stock 13". straight i went to a local tyre shop and told them my problem.according to them, since initially my stock was 13", i have to add....sorry i duno i heard it correctly o not .."rim cunas" to the center of the hole in between the bolts.it costs rm35 a piece.

after installation, i tried sped up to 100kmh again. vibration is still there, but alot better than b4 putting on those "rim cunas"

whats the problem?

i believe its spacer that they added. to change your wheel offset more towards outside.

well, problems with steering vbratiing has only one thing relating to it. poor or improper balancing. 6 points to remember :-

1stly, make sure the tyres are all new which came with the alloy wheel, not used ones. its hard to justify bad rims using used tyres.

2ndly, make sure the wheels are properly balanced on the INNER side and OUTER side of the rims. certain rims have no lips, therefore need to paste weight on the inner wheel itself.

3rdly, bigger wheels are in fact have more inertia than smaller wheels therefore little vibrations can really be felt but still, such problems shud not incurred at all with new rims.

4thly, make sure the rims are covered by warranty. keep all receipts as well as warranty card. take precautions by sending warranty card to the manufacturer to avoid it being null and void.

5thly, do try to balance all wheels at some other shops, preferably recommended by zthians. if ur at seremban, try ah cheng at rahang. he's capable of doing perfect on wheel balancing with many years experience.
try also, swapping the rear ones to the front. it may help.

6thly, lift up ur car at the front using jacks, then start engine and engage gear. dont forget to apply parking brake, and block rear tyres movement. see if the wheels spins smoothly or not. if not, its manufacturer's poor QC. where the holes for the wheel studs had been machined offset centre.

in short, check 1) balancing 2) tyres condition 3) the wheels itself - defective.

Whoa....pro huh!

My advise is don't simply send ur car to other workshop all around the street,they'll chop u like hell!Really....:angry:

zan said:
i believe its spacer that they added. to change your wheel offset more towards outside.

well, problems with steering vbratiing has only one thing relating to it. poor or improper balancing. 6 points to remember :-

1stly, make sure the tyres are all new which came with the alloy wheel, not used ones. its hard to justify bad rims using used tyres.

2ndly, make sure the wheels are properly balanced on the INNER side and OUTER side of the rims. certain rims have no lips, therefore need to paste weight on the inner wheel itself.

3rdly, bigger wheels are in fact have more inertia than smaller wheels therefore little vibrations can really be felt but still, such problems shud not incurred at all with new rims.

4thly, make sure the rims are covered by warranty. keep all receipts as well as warranty card. take precautions by sending warranty card to the manufacturer to avoid it being null and void.

5thly, do try to balance all wheels at some other shops, preferably recommended by zthians. if ur at seremban, try ah cheng at rahang. he's capable of doing perfect on wheel balancing with many years experience.
try also, swapping the rear ones to the front. it may help.

6thly, lift up ur car at the front using jacks, then start engine and engage gear. dont forget to apply parking brake, and block rear tyres movement. see if the wheels spins smoothly or not. if not, its manufacturer's poor QC. where the holes for the wheel studs had been machined offset centre.

1st. yes is all 4 brand new tyres as well.
2nd. is only balanced at inner side. stick type weight

btw. i went to a diff shop, they added "rim cone" 23rm/pc. problem not solve but slightly better

go back to any other tyre shop. re-do balancing again.

personally request to do balancing on both side of the rims. prevent stick type weight. its only for aesthetic values.

i had gone to soon huat melaka today. saw the thing u mentioned rim cone, to cancel any vibration due to poor machining during manufacture. not so confident myself.

if they treat u bad since beginning, leave immediately...that/s my sincere advice.

is it possible u din put HUB ring?...coz that day i go change rim also...the fella offer me the hub ring, it say it will never shake after install it....it's actually install at the centre of the rim to make the rim more firm when connect..

sonictheory said:
is it possible u din put HUB ring?...coz that day i go change rim also...the fella offer me the hub ring, it say it will never shake after install it....it's actually install at the centre of the rim to make the rim more firm when connect..

i think rim cone mentioned by brian90s refers to hub ring.

thanks buddys for the advice.

what i scare is, if i go to any other tyres shop, they will start to blame each other for the problem and try to push the problem around

sonictheory, yes. thats where they install the rim cone aka hub ring at my wheel.

they wont say things when you dont talk too much... pay attention to what they are doing -as if like u know everything one...

just tell them that ur car steering vibrates at 90-100kmh. very minor.

tell them, u suspect the balancing is out. suggest 'ONLY' balancing done as tyres and wheels are new. tell them its only 6,000km ++. so, they wont suggest other craps like on wheel balancing, or to the extend of changing camber bolts!!

insist of balancing on both side of the rims.. good luck!