Very worried

CIVIC EK5

Sifus,

How come my Silvertop to very loud tepet sound. The damn sound got when the car is idle and get louder as i push da gas paddle.....dont know much abt toyota coz just started...did i buy a "kong" engine.... :( ...

20v doesn't run on tappet it runs on under bucket shims. Most of the sound is coming from the VVT pulley .. some from the valve clearance .. the only way to solve it is to change pulley but if change 2nd hand pulley most likely the sound will come back .. so it's either change to brand new pulleys or change to adj pulleys ... but of course change to adj pulleys is cheaper than buy brand new vvt pulley laaaaaaaaaa B) :lol:

Originally posted by yolk@Jan 28 2005, 09:46
20v doesn't run on tappet it runs on under bucket shims. Most of the sound is coming from the VVT pulley .. some from the valve clearance .. the only way to solve it is to change pulley but if change 2nd hand pulley most likely the sound will come back .. so it's either change to brand new pulleys or change to adj pulleys ... but of course change to adj pulleys is cheaper than buy brand new vvt pulley laaaaaaaaaa B) :lol:
yolk,
I dun quite understand bout the cause you said bout the taxi sound syndrome.
Ok, the sound is from bucket shims, valve clearance and oso the vvt pulley. You mentioned bout buying a new vvt pulley. My silvertop engine is quite rather new, engine kosong, inside is gold in color, which might means that is ha only gone thru very few mileage thatn most of the h/c we got in m'sia. So, it menat that the vvt pulley oso rather new. But the sound is still there but of course very much less than my previous silvertop which the block blown away. So, if the pulley is rather new but it still have sounds. If a new vvt pulley installed, will the sound comes back after a few months later?

Btw, heard that it was mentioned b4 that the main reason of the sounds is the octane % in our fuel? What's your opinion?
So, how's ur ride now yolk? Manage to shut out the taxi sound after changing to adj pulley and change the shims already?

Ya ... is sound like disel engine... ke ke ke ke ke ke. same like me too.

this is cause. cheap quality oil use for the engine. nevermind... just add another oil treament will solve the problem.

well,my hcut is around 20000+km only.......thats new for me...inside no gold colour..........pure metal colour..and yet still have this tek..tek..tek..sound...

its from VVT pulley.not shim or whatever u want to called it.

if u install a new VVT pulley,i wont say a couple of month lar..but maybe a year or two the sound will come again.

u shud hear yolk car with trial adj cam pulley..no more sound..a real sleeper.:)

for me, i won't add.

adding oil lubricant will not solve it. instead, so much sticky slimy liquid inside your engine will make it more heavier and refuse to work efficiently.

hm.. like this means i consider myself very lucky laa :lol:

Originally posted by 4agze@Jan 28 2005, 13:33
You ? of coz lucky.

Got a nice powerful 20V engine. That why you're in MCFB category. :lol:

Originally posted by EG9+Jan 28 2005, 13:37 -->
QUOTE (EG9 @ Jan 28 2005, 13:37 )
--QuoteBegin-4agze
@Jan 28 2005, 13:33

You ? of coz lucky.

Got a nice powerful 20V engine. That why you're in MCFB category. :lol: [/b][/quote]
very lucky because engine is quiet :lol: and not because of MCFB :D

Is this sound happened to all Silvertop? coz I just heard one mechanic said, silvertop will have this problem, while blacktop don't have. Is it true ?

silvertop yup...diesel sound like engine...but can make it quiter by doing shim clearance n like yoga said...change the VVT pulley...TRIAL tuning can help u to solve the problem

about blacktop ...i'm not quite sure...

this adj pulley from trail....how much RM will fly?????? :( <_< :angry: :blink: :unsure:

Originally posted by chinozie@Jan 28 2005, 15:16
silvertop yup...diesel sound like engine...but can make it quiter by doing shim clearance n like yoga said...change the VVT pulley...TRIAL tuning can help u to solve the problem

about blacktop ...i'm not quite sure...
as i know blackie also got diesel sound lah ... why? coz is my car mah .. :P

Guys,

Trial tuning address & phone number please. Try to get my engine for tuning.

ai ya..... not need to do one lah... let the sound be.... until the thing rosak then change to 4A-FE. is the quite engine in ever seen. :P

Originally posted by hans@Jan 28 2005, 18:42
Guys,

Trial tuning address & phone number please. Try to get my engine for tuning.
hans,

TRIAL TUNING SPIRIT SDN BHD
No. 8, Jalan 2/108C, Taman Sungai Besi,
57100 KL, West Malaysia.

William HP: 012-2139861

i'll be there later in the afternoon so contact me @ 017-3013119 if you like to go with me after a visit to Shah Alam first :D