V6 Gear Box damage

vernoz

Hai frerz

I just bought second hand v6 year 01.After use for few days my gear box got problem.Cannot enter reverse gear and suddenly gear free.I send back to used car shop and they will change second hand g/box since car still under warranty for 2 weeks.

I need advise for below question

1- Normally how long the second hand g/box can be used?
2- Any tips to ensure that the replacement g/box in good condition.
3- How much the repair cost including the g/box if I have to pay.

thanks dude

1. Depends, if you like to high rev..it wont last long. Better install an ATF cooler.

2. Try shift to D from N position, make sure it will shift no longer than 1 sec. If it need more than 1 sec to shift..better careful. Try drive it to see how it shift, smooth or not..any jerking or slip, from moving to stop, if there any sound..

3. 2nd G/B from rm500 - rm1k, rebuild GB about 2k & half-cut about 1.5k

anyway, I recomend you to installing ATF cooler, New batch pv6 from sept 2005 also come preinstalled ATF cooler. Make sure you change ATF oil every 20k, use only Proton Original ATF SP3 oil & Full flushing every 40k.

Good luck bro!

Thanks bro for your reply

Do you know the cost to install ATF....any wshop you can recommend ? somewhere in subang or puchong area.

Since I just change s/hand g/box..should I do full flushing

another 1 v6

my sister in law juz send he car to repair.............

vernoz said:
Thanks bro for your reply

Do you know the cost to install ATF....any wshop you can recommend ? somewhere in subang or puchong area.

Since I just change s/hand g/box..should I do full flushing

A brand new one at Eon service cost about RM 800 ++
Second hand at chop shop about RM 2 - 3 hundred bucks...

You better flush the g/box especially it being 2nd hand...

Hi all

No offend anyone.

Just sharing.......... I Own V6

If your gear boxes is second hand is better dun want flushing,just normal changing ATF oil will be more better and safe.

Bcos if you flush ATF,you will damage your gear boxes.

Also common sense, gear boxes has serious problem is no related with oil.
That mean you need find specialist to repair or service the body valve.

Change ATF oil every 20,000km. It will extend your gear boxes working hours.

Cheers with your V6:shades_smile:

Better install an ATF cooler.
change every 20000km.
about flushing i don know...
better install manual g/b ....save f/c

hi all,

I also install the ATF oil cooler. That is so good for V6 gear boxes,prevent over heat. If over heat will burn oil seal and clutch pad inside.

When u install the S/H gear boxes, it better just change the oil with normal flushing.

If you using M/C to flushing it, the workshop won't take care your G/B if any problem. Remember it.

It better go to specialist shop for service only. ( cost you few hundred only )

ATF m/c flushing also cost u RM200 more.
It better keep this budget to service the gear boxes,more pratically.

Just for sharing............No offense
Coz i love my perdana :shades_smile: