using other g/box with standard gsr

wildboar

heheh...more gsr related questions...

wats the benefits of using 2wd g/box instead of using the locked gsr g/box?? no power loss cos its fwd...anything else??

wat types of manual g/box is best if i like acceleration (but preferably not lost too much top end)?? but also must consider fuel consumption...so gear ratios also play a role...had a ride in a gsr using wira 2.0 diesel g/box...yummy....who has changed to 2wd g/box?? care to share ur experience??

cheers...

im not a gsr user but then im using my standard 1.3 F5M21 gearbox , standard 1.3 driveshaft and coupled with the vr4 engine on my iswara.

why im using the 1.3 gb , cause its lighter , if pecah can get a replacement for a cheap price , if driveshaft patah also can go buy recond shaft for a cheap price . and any chokia mechanic know's how to handle .

problem with the gearbox cause the clutch is too big 9" clutch , so to make it fit into the standard gearbox need to skim off the belly housing or you can skim the clutch cover off . skiming the clutch cover off will lead to unbalance clutch if not done the correct way .

what i best recommend... use back the g/box that comes with the engine. I already have 2 frens use g/box kawin.. both of them g/box pecah..hancur into small pieces.

One fello use GSR with 1.8 putra g/box.. use less than 6months pecah already.. he is a frequent weekend sprinter.

Another fellow also GSR but with 1.6 g/box.. same case.. also pecah.

Me and my fren GSR with it's 4wd G/b locked.. use until now.. still ok.

wokay..advise taken...but just for my own knowledge...wats the downside of using locked 4wd g/box?? is the loss in power significant?? or just very minimal and un'feel'able??

Originally posted by ezwong2002@Jul 26 2004, 10:48 AM
what i best recommend... use back the g/box that comes with the engine. I already have 2 frens use g/box kawin.. both of them g/box pecah..hancur into small pieces.

One fello use GSR with 1.8 putra g/box.. use less than 6months pecah already.. he is a frequent weekend sprinter.

Another fellow also GSR but with 1.6 g/box.. same case.. also pecah.

Me and my fren GSR with it's 4wd G/b locked.. use until now.. still ok.
hehe my car is a 1996 model , trash it kau kau aready before transplant , and still using back the same gearbox , its 7 years old and its been 1 year ++ using that gearbox with the vr4 engine , so far no problem's . i donno how your friend drive , maybe they drive like bull ? :lol: . cause i know quite a number of people using their standard 1.3 gb and the way they trash like there is no tomorrow , trust me , they really dunk the clutch & slam the gears , memang drive like bull . i never drive like that but then it really surprise me their gb is still intact without porblem's for years . :lol: anyway just sharing experience not arguing .

yalah ves... those fella trash their car like there is no tomorrow.. even i trash my car once in a while... but to be on the safer side mah.. i'm advising wildboar..i mean susah wanna resist the new found power mah.. sure trash the car 1... so buy half-cut oso..better use back the gb.