Can wira1.5(A) use 1.6(A) Gear Box?

siangmh

My wira 1.5(A) got only 3 gears, At 110kmh the RPM is like 3900 already, like not enough gears to use.....not enough for low end torque nor higher speed use....

I will still like to stick with auto box, any solution? noob here...

My preference: Concentrade on low end torque & speed COLOR] (me drives like uncle :X-: ) (Should look for lower ratio gear box with OD, right?)

Possibilities:

1) add 1 more gear into existing gear box? (cant be done, right?)

2) change to wira 1.6(A) gear box?

3) change to other Mitsubishi's 1500cc or 1600cc auto gearbox?

4) change to wira 1.8(A) gear box? (but 1.5 too underpower for any 1.8 gear box right?)

By the way, do i need some extra gadget to helps cool down gear box? Any side effects of it?

Any sifu can offer an opinion?

Is that true wira 1.6 or 1.8 or Mitsu's gear box ratio are all the same except the final drive? so actually changing gear box from 1.5 to 1.6/1.8 will have the same 1st to 3rd gear except got additional final drive in 1.6/1.8 gear box which 1.5 dont have?

hi bro
1)u cant add 1 more gear to ur existing gearbox
2)wira 1.6(A) gearbox got many ppl complain bout it,so better don change it
3)ya,u can always change to 4G91 or 4G92 dohc non mivec or mivec gearbox
4)1.8(A) gearbox gear ratio is very different for ur 1.5.but if u wan u can do it but not to say too underpower

gsrTurbo9166 said:
hi bro
1)u cant add 1 more gear to ur existing gearbox
2)wira 1.6(A) gearbox got many ppl complain bout it,so better don change it
3)ya,u can always change to 4G91 or 4G92 dohc non mivec or mivec gearbox
4)1.8(A) gearbox gear ratio is very different for ur 1.5.but if u wan u can do it but not to say too underpower

Hi Bro gsrTurbo9166,

How to add extra gear into existing gearbox? got enough space ar?

Is this extra gear the OD gear?

Is this the cheapest way to mod gearbox to 4 gear+OD?

Roughly how much to do so ar?

gbox

1.5 gbox is 3 speed all theway..
(very simple direct operation/mechanical fully)

1.5(4g91)1.6/1.8 is 3 speed + over drive (4th gear) controlled electronically by TCU
Trans controll Unit with lots of wiring....

Swapping a 1.5dohc/1.6/1.8 into a 1.5 is quite messy, lotsa wiring but
shud be able to be done...

Anyway the box doesn't last as long as the 1.5's.....dunno why....

My frens putra auto, despite changinig atf frequently..box konged...Now chaanged manual.....

Aiks.......auto gearbox not lasting is an issue for me lar.

Have u heard of any particular 4Gxx auto gearbox (with 4gears &or OD) that is reliable?

My mech also told me that 1.5 auto gb is better than 1.6 one....sigh

gbox

Bro, why dun you change the whole engine to 1.6 auto straight 4G92 DOHC or SOHC.. U will like the power & performance....

Furthermore ur 1.5A engine can still fetch u some $$..
Is it injection ?

yupe, my 1.5A is injection, yr2000 gli model.

Wouldn't it more costly & cumbersome to change the whole engine to 1.6? instead of just change or mod an auto gbox?

how much $$ if: just change auto gbox VS change whole 1.6 sohc engine with auto gbox ?

I know 1.6 engine is sweeter than 1.5, but i am not pursuing speed most of the time, so.....didn't cross my mind lor.

I thought just change the gbox can have better usage of the engine power + more fuel savings maybe....

Besides, if change to 1.6 auto gbox, how much RPM will be @ 110kmh?

If change to 1.6 engine altogether, how much RPM @ 110kmh?