Convert wira auto 1.6 to manual

ah lee

Dear Sifu,

i am driving a 12 yrs old wira with an auto gearbox. Recently, I
experience some rough gear shift esp during the low gear and reverse.
Sometime the gearbox will make this "tong" or "kerk" sound when the gear
lower down. I have consulted a few mechanic in Kepong and they advice me
to either flush it or just change to manual.

1. to flush the gearbox, wat is the process and a rough estimate cost.

Wanna ask all expert here,, how is the procuder to change the gear box and roughly how much the
cost?

Any diff between gear box option? any thing i shud put in to
consideration?

Try getting lancer gearbox instead of Proton's ... last time my frens uncle changed Proton gearbox, auto costs RM8k new include installations.

Get a used good condition gearbox from Mitsubishi cars which may fit nicely to ures, anyway why putting manual, get an auto ... suits cruise driving unless u play hard in cars .. then get manual ;)

try get a manual 1.6 lancer gearbox from halfcut shop should be around 700++
clutch pump, pedal and accessori (donno how much-because 1.3/1.5 wira no need clutch pump)
whole clutch set around 200
gear box oil 32
installation another 100 ++
then u feel the power already!!

another thing is condition of that halfcut gearbox and clutch pump "un-know"

dont buy used g/box from half cut shops as most will def b in bad cond.....& its best not to transplant manual g/box into an auto car (especially saga/iswara/wira). if yours is originally auto then repair your auto transm or you can buy recond auto transm also.....u can try Sun Eng Hp Auto Transmission (No.61 persiaran segambut tengah)

dont waste money with the conversion as a lot of stuffs need to be changed & in the hands of a mechanic who has not got enough experience doing this conversion, then be ready for unconfortable gear shifts & continuos problems thereafter.

1.6 auto cant last that long IF u maintain the gearbox oil each 40k km, n the gb oil change with filter cost arround rm300++...

better take gb manual coz auto gbx need to take care very well since 1.6 auto gb very sensitive... manual got cabel n hydraulic type, n cabel clutch available only 1.3/1.5 gbx, n 1.5 gbx also got hydraulic one n the price is lower then 1.6 gbx....

i use cabel clutch which now my side wall have broke n need to 'patri' back... so i recomended u to find 1.5 gbx hydraulic type which less the cost... if u still prefer auto then the same prob will occure at another time IF u not take attention on the gbx oil...

OIC... really appreciate the info u gave about g/b repair. Since I stay kepong, I wil pay them a visit.

I think most foreman nowadays dunno how to fix a auto g/b especially and they dun wan to loose a customer. Then they will propose their customer to change a new recon g/b without considering repair ur old g/b. This thing happen to me and I wish to share wt other forumer.

Will update more on my g/b repair later.

Ya one more thing, do ensure dat the gearbox code for 1.6 model is F5M222 not F5M221 cos F5M221 is 1.5 model 1...

mark said:
Ya one more thing, do ensure dat the gearbox code for 1.6 model is F5M222 not F5M221 cos F5M221 is 1.5 model 1...

izzit for auto gbx?
what i've heard that F5M221 is TCU (transmission control unit) for 1995 wira 1.6 auto, and F5M222 is TCU for 1996 n above for wira 1.6 auto...

if u change gear box from auto to manual it will cost alot brother.. especially if u want to change like lancer or any other model coz u need to change alot of things and wiring especially ...dont forget bout that..manual and auto are different

say if you are interested...i've got a 4G93P 1.8 DOHC engine + manual gbox + ecu and etc for sale....stock and good condition for sale...

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=112318&page=4

Just wanna ask wat the price for the 1.5 wira manual gearbox and include the clutch pump set from the kedai potong?

I go ask today they say 2k wor :(

shawn82 said:
Just wanna ask wat the price for the 1.5 wira manual gearbox and include the clutch pump set from the kedai potong?

I go ask today they say 2k wor :(

if 2k, better buy the whole hufcut... then sell the engine..