Tyre size

whatdamn

hey guys,

was wondering if you can list down for me the best tyre sizes for my putra here.

the car came with 15" enkeis and i've currently put 195/55 R15 yokohama es100s but the problem is that the left rear passanger side keeps scraping under hard cornering.

at first it was due to konged rear absorbers but now after changing to OEM kayaba replacements, the problem still persists but only on the left rear side.

my mech was telling me that my tyres should be 195/50 R15 and also suggested another alternative which was to fold the mudguard piece inwards.

could anyone help me out here pls? thanks :)

if anyone wants to buy these 99% new yokohama es100s pls PM or call me k. got reciept as proof of purchase too.

Originally posted by whatdamn@Feb 25 2005, 13:25
hey guys,

was wondering if you can list down for me the best tyre sizes for my putra here.

the car came with 15" enkeis and i've currently put 195/55 R15 yokohama es100s but the problem is that the left rear passanger side keeps scraping under hard cornering.

at first it was due to konged rear absorbers but now after changing to OEM kayaba replacements, the problem still persists but only on the left rear side.

my mech was telling me that my tyres should be 195/50 R15 and also suggested another alternative which was to fold the mudguard piece inwards.

could anyone help me out here pls? thanks :)

if anyone wants to buy these 99% new yokohama es100s pls PM or call me k. got reciept as proof of purchase too.
I am using Gti's 16" rims on my putra. No problems with scapping. Think my tyre size is 205/something something. Is it because the absorbers are too soft, hence body roll too much? Check your springs too, the previous owner might have cut it to give a lower ride.

yeah, putra shud hv no problem installing 16 inch wheels what more 15 inch? if kena both side ok laa..but onli one side...what can happened?

my sincere advice, knock a bit ur wheel arch to avoid contact. if u feel the springs had softened, maybe try to get a replacement set.

in the end, do 4 wheel alignment..better check why both tyres like that?

good luck! :)

any major accident b4?

what u were told was correct...the size should be 195/50R15...not 55 series! even so...it shouldnt be coming into contact with anything...unless the rear is really loaded up la! :)

yeah it's scraping the wheel arch when there's a 50kg++ placed in the back seat.

already done alignment, my mech suggested negative camber but he said it would wear out the tyres pretty fast.

yes, there has been an accident to THAT side before. which is why i'm thinking it could be one of the reasons la.

anyone have any suggestions.

normally 55 series are for what type of cars i mean what model eh?

thanks guys. appreciate it alot.

Originally posted by whatdamn@Feb 25 2005, 22:14
yeah it's scraping the wheel arch when there's a 50kg++ placed in the back seat.

already done alignment, my mech suggested negative camber but he said it would wear out the tyres pretty fast.

yes, there has been an accident to THAT side before. which is why i'm thinking it could be one of the reasons la.

just sell the car and buy an a31.....just playing with u.....u could modify the inner wheel arch.....

aijo dude....don't la say like that...cause i WAS gonna buy an a31 but couldn't find one in a satisfactory condition! :(

What chamber setting is it now on? Back to original? It could be previous owner lowered his car and set his chamber before but now switch back to original height but didnt reset his chamber. Which part of the tyre is scrapping the body? The inner side of the tyre (which suggest chamber setting wrong) or the top part of the tyre (which suggests suspension and absorbers problem)? You might need to crawl under ur car to see all this. At least by checking you'll be better informed when u send it to the mechanic, else u kena potong. Since u mentioned also kena accident on that side before too, is there any misalignment of the suspension arms.

As for 55 series, it measures the height of the tyre wall and it is actually a percentage. So 55 here means 55%. To convert this to the height of your tyre in mm, take the width (195/55, the width is 195mm) multiply by 55 ie. 55% x 195mm = 107.25mm. So the height of ur tyre from the edge of the rim is 107.25mm.

trex92,
oh thanks ya. my mech did this calculation for me this afternoon haha, 2cm closer to the wheel arch...anyway, loss some m oney but now satisfied with the new es100s....50 series this time.

ugh...spent so much money on the tyres..blardy hell, could've turbocharged my car hahaha.

thanks dude.

Originally posted by whatdamn@Feb 26 2005, 19:55
trex92,
oh thanks ya. my mech did this calculation for me this afternoon haha, 2cm closer to the wheel arch...anyway, loss some m oney but now satisfied with the new es100s....50 series this time.

ugh...spent so much money on the tyres..blardy hell, could've turbocharged my car hahaha.

thanks dude.
No problems. Glad to be of service. How much u bought ur 2nd Putra and mileage? Any problems with it so far? Putras are well known for engine idle problems. I had problems with mine too but managed to overcome it.

Originally posted by whatdamn@Feb 25 2005, 23:17
aijo dude....don't la say like that...cause i WAS gonna buy an a31 but couldn't find one in a satisfactory condition! :(

wei now got one for sale.....cooll :lol: :D :P

bought mine for 39k 1998/1999 manual. mileage was 170k+ km already. no probs with idling only when i start the car, the rev goes up to 2-3k rpm, stays there for a second or two and then drops down to about 950rpm and stays there.

no probs with the engine internals. only spent alot of money on the stupid tyres and changing the timing + fan belts and all the gaskets to fix some leaks and flushed the gearbox oil and spent 100+ ringgit on car care products to wash the exterior and interior of the car. cause there was a wierd smell...stale tobacco i think. anyway it's gone now.

fun car to drive. :)

jeffblazed,
dude, i just bought my car on the eve of chinese new year la...you crazy ar asking me to sell the car now! hahah.

if involved in an accident before, i suggest the rear suspension trailing arm had disaligned after the impact. and maybe...the rear lower arm also. its not easy to confirm then. only measurement using tape can reveal whether this is true. hey gud luck with ur new car.

p/s cant afford such car myself.. :unsure:

actually the tyre is in contact wit the body panel...go 2 tyre shop n they'll ketuk the thing 4 u...make it bent inside...dun worry...is not visible...its good 4 ur tyre tho...

Originally posted by whatdamn@Feb 27 2005, 22:00
zan,
tape measure which part. could you tell me more?
thanks.
ok, get a tape to measure distance between left and right. u know the place to jack ur car in case of puncture right? it is call running board (also known as side sill or rocker panel). measure the distance between left trailing arm and left running board. do the same to the right hand side.

the readings shud be similar with small differences between both sides. try to measure from 2 or 3 different points also. do this if 4 wheel alignment says nothing is wrong. my fren is suffering from same problem, rear left hand tyre kena body. but he is using 18 inch on his perdana and lowered summore. so, i kenot komen further.

i hope everything is ok wif ur putra.

ohhh icic. will try that one of these days. uni starting in 8 hrs la hahah. sheit.

thanks zan.

everything's alright now la, since i've changed to the 50 series tyres.