tweeter too loud... wat to do??

ahchuan

i'm using sony component set, 1pair 5' and 1pair tweeter for the front..
the problem is my tweeter is too loud and sound is too sharp.. i had switch to the min (trable) at my amp, now is ok for the tweeter, but my front and rear 5'spk sound is terrible..:confused_smile: .

wat to do wif my tweeter??
can add anythings to the tweeter??

thanks....

ahchuan said:
i'm using sony component set, 1pair 5' and 1pair tweeter for the front..
the problem is my tweeter is too loud and sound is too sharp.. i had switch to the min (trable) at my amp, now is ok for the tweeter, but my front and rear 5'spk sound is terrible..:confused_smile: .

wat to do wif my tweeter??
can add anythings to the tweeter??

thanks....

You can place your tweeter furthur fromt your ear like kick panel. Or set your tweets -3Db from your Xover or adjust it from EQ.

erm..placing the tweet at the kick panel..it wont really give u good sound staging would it?

Since you power your tweeter with your amp, you can try to power it from your HU direct, this can help. Or add a bulb to your tweeter to control power input to it.

tweeter at kickpanel is good for sharp tweeters. sometimes the staging sucks but the imaging is great, bit of a compromise lah....

1) adjust the tweeter level on you passive Xover
2) make the tweeter face each other instead of facing to the driver/passenger

the reason ppl said their tweetr is too bright is because they palce them near to their ears. To overcome this you try and place your tweets away from your ear or set -3Db from the xover or EQ it. I myself facing the same problems with my tweets. What i did was i set it -4Db and place the tweets near the mids rather than the dash or A pillar.

My staging is not so great but i have good blend of trebble and kick drums which turns out to be balance musically.

in some cases of bright tweeters ive tried them pulling closer to me but then pointing them toward the windscreen. use the windscreen reflection instead. worked well once in a firned's car, he got 3rd in his first comp. :shades_smile:

i'm using helix blue mk2
but now, i found that the sound is too sharp
like sometimes we are listening to R&B music
i odnt have Amp yet, can u all tell me wat to do?
plz.................
thanks a lot

thanks 4 the rply....
my problem is fix due to amp brun...haha.. now using HU to power it....:cry_smile: ..

i hear some ppl said sony comp set n sony HU, the sound quality is abit sharp?? izzit truth??

Huh?? amp burn will lead to sharp tweets?? There r few reasons that leads to sharp tweets, u hav to find the cause b4 solving it.

Did u guys check ur component polarity??

i dun think amp burn will not lead to sharp tweeters.. is like tat... tat day i post my problem here.. then the other day.. when i on the way to college, suddenly left spk got sound,right dun hav.. then i went to check.. my man said amp rosak...
WTF.... just use 1 years++ only(cheap thing no good things,good things not cheap) .... wallet bleeding again lo.... LOL..

You can start to reduce the treble first from your HU or amp setting if the tweeters is powered by passive XO from your comp set. If still cannot then use your HU to power it.

if your tweets are on the dash then try facing it on eash other... rather than facing it towards you... this should helps...