turbo lag

lan evo

whats the cause of turbo lag?my car turbo fully spool too late around 4k rpm

crack turbine housing maybe , cause i use to have that problem and still having the same problem after changing to a nother turbo . mitsu's turbine housing & exhaust manifold very famous for cracking .

like ves said....crack crack crack...i oso dunno why it happend....issit bcoz a/f to lean or engine bay too hot...or mitsu engineer forget to put bigger down pipes???.... -sigh-

but see ur engine oso lar...if compression low due to compression pistons kong aledi can be oso....or if u use bigger turbo oso can be the problem...change bigger turbo usually invites turbo lag to join becoz of (hukum fizik)....so jangan lah melawan takdir.......

u have to open the 4 screws on the exhaust side of the turbo and u will see 2 holes...1 is exhaust wan n 1 more is the internal wastegate holes...usually the wastegate section is prone to crack....thats why the turbo misses to compress the air that is being suck ....it closes to make sure all the exhaust gas pressure will be pushing the turbo fins on the exhaust side n when certain boos is reached the actuator will open the wastegate for letting the Ex gasses to flow through it...it will be pushing the turbo not so fast lar when wastegate open....

Originally posted by antonio@Feb 24 2005, 12:16
u have to open the 4 screws on the exhaust side of the turbo and u will see 2 holes...1 is exhaust wan n 1 more is the internal wastegate holes...usually the wastegate section is prone to crack....thats why the turbo misses to compress the air that is being suck ....it closes to make sure all the exhaust gas pressure will be pushing the turbo fins on the exhaust side n when certain boos is reached the actuator will open the wastegate for letting the Ex gasses to flow through it...it will be pushing the turbo not so fast lar when wastegate open....
the car using external wastegate now.normally how long will mechanic takes to check the problem

lan..

what car u using ?
what did u modify lately ? hardwares...like ?
intercooler changed ?
larger intercooler pipings ?
what turbo u using ?

Originally posted by sum-dum-fuk@Feb 24 2005, 20:09
lan..

what car u using ?
what did u modify lately ? hardwares...like ?
intercooler changed ?
larger intercooler pipings ?
what turbo u using ?
melvin,ken here

haven modify,just bought. :lol:

engine 4g63

intercooler standard,intercooler piping bigger than original,airflow buang,external wastegate,stardard turbo

wrong wastegate setting ? maybe the spring too soft ? intercooler piping also play roles here. too big will cause more lag (i think the correct term is boost threshold..not lag)

just another idea may be piping or intercooler get a good bar and plate u will feel the different

Originally posted by flamefox850@Feb 24 2005, 22:27
wrong wastegate setting ? maybe the spring too soft ? intercooler piping also play roles here. too big will cause more lag (i think the correct term is boost threshold..not lag)
how to set the wastegate?

set by he springs inside the w/g itself or sumtimes got top screw like Bov style...but by adjusting do you know how many boost u r getting...any indication??but the again maybe the w/g opens easily so the turbine cannot spin fast enuff to get instance boost reaction....

no airflow???no managemnet oso???uik standard ECU can use w/o airflow meh???this is new nie??then mr karman sure will be spitting in his grave...hahahahha...i think u mean no air filter kot...but then mebbe i'm wrong... :lol:

i/c piping can do some lag's issue oso...out of specs pipings or bending too far like traveling on a highway oso promotes to lag....but in ur case i think its either w/g or i/c piping... :lol:

how long??depends la on the confirmation of problem...try n seek professional help from diffrent² ppl lah to see their opinions on what is wrong.... B)

Originally posted by Sky88@Feb 24 2005, 23:20
just another idea may be piping or intercooler get a good bar and plate u will feel the different
what does this means ahh?? :rolleyes: :huh:

Originally posted by antonio@Feb 25 2005, 10:42
set by he springs inside the w/g itself or sumtimes got top screw like Bov style...but by adjusting do you know how many boost u r getting...any indication??but the again maybe the w/g opens easily so the turbine cannot spin fast enuff to get instance boost reaction....

no airflow???no managemnet oso???uik standard ECU can use w/o airflow meh???this is new nie??then mr karman sure will be spitting in his grave...hahahahha...i think u mean no air filter kot...but then mebbe i'm wrong... :lol:

i/c piping can do some lag's issue oso...out of specs pipings or bending too far like traveling on a highway oso promotes to lag....but in ur case i think its either w/g or i/c piping... :lol:

how long??depends la on the confirmation of problem...try n seek professional help from diffrent² ppl lah to see their opinions on what is wrong.... B)
ha?dunno wo.have to confirm 1st.boosting 1 bar

Ken,

Before doing anything else, I think u MUST put back your Air Flow sensor first.

Your air fuel mixture is all fucked up.

AFter putting back, lets see how things turn out.

lag is like suddenly u step on the gas pedal and then it take a couple of seconds b4 the turbo spools up....

the other wan mentioned is the boost threshold...it is the time of the turbo spools up from 0 - ? what ever bar set....

ur having which wan problem???

1 bar???hmmm ok ler...but issit reaches full boost at 7000rpm??if it is that is lag....and if it takes 10 secs to reach full boost that is lag also....
same like urs???

ken..

joe n antonio can help oredi..hehe...they lotsa info fer u to follow up first.. ;)

good luck..

sorry,made a mistake the airflow still there.so what should i do now?adjust the wastegate?