Tuning engine timing..

hehe... rpm at 5 or 5.5 lidat. n a lil take off, 130km/h jz nice.
well, maybe using 14s or 15s rim would be stable at 140km/h

built said:
knight,

mechanics charge for tunning b'cos there are
more to just to turning a screw behind the carb.

basically, are only 2 elements, initial timing and
air-fuel ratio.

1st set your engine to the recommended idling
speed. then set the engine timing (initial timing).
this can only be seen with a timing light. it look
like a laser gun. the timing is mark at the pulley.
after your initial timing is set, you have to fine tune
the air fuel-ratio until you get your idling to specs.
refer to your car manual for the idling speed and
the initial timing. air-fuel ratio is usually 14:1 (if i
remember correctly).

if you do not have knowledge about initial timing
(position before or after TDC) and dun own a timing
light, forget about tuning the kancil yourself. you'll
screw the engine up. you may get better mileage
but the car will be under power and stuff like that.
or you'll get black smoke from your exhaust b'cos
of incomplete combustion. many things can happen.

have a nice day.

broter...i think u should gain more experience.
wat u talk juz from book.
witout timing light stil can adjust the timing...
even the fuel ratio oso can.
is depend how u work on it.
after u work 1 or 2 year...u can do it.
these all juz basic tuning.not a big matter.
add oil !!!
im oso a student actually.

isnt that there are some medcine that can last the battery life(only for maintance battery)
i've saw this thing called 'batt aid' but i havent try it
it is cube that we put it inside battery to clean up the plat
it can be found at the car accessories shop
i've saw it b4 at eneos car accessories shop
tell me if u've tried it

skyline2m said:
isnt that there are some medcine that can last the battery life(only for maintance battery)
i've saw this thing called 'batt aid' but i havent try it
it is cube that we put it inside battery to clean up the plat
it can be found at the car accessories shop
i've saw it b4 at eneos car accessories shop
tell me if u've tried it

a good maintenance battery can last for few years...mine didnt add anything oso use until now...bout 4 years in wrx. juz make sure ur car running at expected voltage/current flow....

my2cent

built said:
if kancil has a auto choke, the idling speed
shud be the same with or without the air-
cond on, imo.

isn't auto choke are used for adjust the air fuel when the engine is cold so the engine is easier to start and can warm up faster? how come related to aircon on/off idling?

hehe.. floating ah? we both same lah howiechoo.. 145km/h still ok.. although my needle show over 140km/h.. i still can get enuf of the speed.. damn..

Write your reply...