TTT Session on 17th Dec 2004

Confirm List
----------------
(1) TRD16v @ Mike
(2) limandy AE101 Silvertop Auto (very powerfull) mike i follow you.
(3) EG9
(4) GT20v shud be coming.
(5) yolk
(6) QiW (should be coming oso laaa)
(7) bucho_jr (1st time joint)
(8) netmatrix @ Micheal
(9) tom's

FFK List
---------------
(1) i not going liao (limandy) FFK.
(2) AE82GT
(3) 4agze @ Lee (talak money for petrol

Confirm List
----------------
(1) TRD16v @ Mike
(2) EG9
(3) GT20v shud be coming.
(4) yolk
(5) QiW (should be coming oso laaa)
(6) bucho_jr (1st time joint)
(7) netmatrix @ Micheal
(8) tom's
(9) AE80TypeD @ Kay

FFK List
---------------
(1) i not going liao (limandy) FFK.
(2) AE82GT
(3) 4agze @ Lee (talak money for petrol

Originally posted by ajnone@Dec 17 2004, 11:43
sorry, i am newbie from kampung lama, got location map kah? :P
http://www.kevinc.fivio.com/pics/maps/syed_ariff.jpg

Preliminary Report:

Aftermath of my personal secret short term project with sifu master levin driver zul akira.

Report of activities done after my session at TTT was concluded:

Body Restoration and Strengthening tutorial by Master Sifu Pro Driver Zul.

Background: following the conclusion of my latest engine transplant, several fundamental but important problems came to light in the new experience of modding my car. One of these problems was the increasing feel of flex in my car body under hard acceleration and hard cornering. Today it was finally concluded that the problem came from 2 sources. The main cause of the problem was attributed to the weakening chassis due to rust and age. Jerking motions which impared smooth power delivery was attributed to broken bottom mountings.

The illustration below shows the problem area where the weakened structure was found.
Chassisdamage.GIF

The test involved turning the left front wheel to its extreme point and pulling the tyre towards the front of the vehicle; this was done in a way to put a force that stresses the chassis frame. the area circled in blue moved and flexed noticably even when stress was applied by hand pulling the tire/knuckle/absorber/lower arm assembly.

The red line denotes the seam where multiple layers of chassis plating meet to form the car's front support structure. the long line shows section of plating edges that became detached from its base (bigger) plate behind it. the gap and movement (flexing) between these platings were obvious during the test conducted (see above paragraph). The short red line follows a crack found to cross the underfloor plating where the lower arm's rear clips were fastened.

Thus, with fingers crossed, we determined that it should be welded and hoped it cures the acceleration and handling problem i was facing.

We reached Master Zul's recommended workshop at 12.20am after a spirited sprint along the NPE, whereby Master Zul finally found and swiftly dealt with the elusive and haunting Ghost of NPE; wrapping him up neatly and throwing him behind kow2 3-4 poles. (DAMN his LSD :P) It is with utter gladness i report that the exorcism worked very well and the NPE stretch is cleansed of all Red Coloured Apparitions :lol:

I was introduced to Ah Pau, quite a jolly fellow to tiao back and fro :lol:. Very colourful character indeed. We showed our own inspection of the problem and ah pau promptly agreed that it should and can be welded immediately; to which i am very grateful for.

The welded area follows the red line exactly and the entire seam section was not spot welded, it was welded end to end all along the cracked and gapped seams. (refer to previous illustration). the process took less than half an hour. he assured me that it is very strong and proceeded to check the right side of my front chassis. We found that the seams are still strong and intact.

With Master sifu Zul presence gracing my passenger seat, we tested the feel of the vehicle under hard acceleration. VIOLA! no more veering from left to right! i was gobsmacked and happy all at the same time. a problem has been solved for the time being and more importantly; we now have the knowledge and means to proceed to solve it further.

An important reminder to future body restorations/strengthening attempts; the welds must be tidied properly and protected by a strong coat of anti-rust and/or paint to avoid the formation of rust. This is paramount to those who still want to keep their mod vehicles as street commuter for a long time.

On my way back home, the cornering of the car never felt more solid. If anything, now the right side feels too soft from hard turning because i never strengthened the right side chassis :lol: the handling problem during acceleration has been greatly reduced. I am so happy with the results and hope that the welds will hold together under hard driving (my everyday style :P ) for a long time. It was worth every penny i payed ah pau and it was a good price to start with (for a high quality argon MiG weld)

Conclusion:
I feel that every serious car modder should give chassis/body strengthening serious consideration; and get the highest quality available to our financial capabilities. Even this one front left corner weld has made me feel a significant difference in handling, imagined how a vehicle prepared like the best track cars will feel like in SIC!

sorry for the long read. im still so excited and pumped up with adrenaline from my trip back from Ampang :) Thank you so much to Master Sifu Zul and Ah Pau for kindly helping me in the wee hours of the night to solve one of my greatest headache! :lol:

Khairul,
hey! Glad to hear your problem has been solved! Should be having a great feeling of driving on your car now.. ehehehehe.. :)

TTT Attendance
----------------------
(1) yolk
(2) tom's
(3) fx20v
(4) QiW
(5) bucho_jr
(6) trd16v
(7) ae80typeD
(8) GT20v
(9) chinozie
(10) netmatrix
(11) EG9 + a fren
(12) Zul_jr + wife + a fren
(13) shamburke + family
(14) banzai
(15) Levin818
(16) EFN

Any name i missed out? if yes, sorry cause lately i pelupa cepat.. ahhahahaaah!

TTT Field Report
-----------------------

(1) First of all, we would like to welcome new member joining our TTT session Mr.Bucho_JR.. thanks for taking the effort to join us although u had to stay somewhere so far at seremban.. thanks again :)

(2) I arrived at about 9pm++ n oredi sifo2 sekalian tengah shiok menjamah makanan.. ehehehehe.. so me oso order one nasi lemak, sotong n ayam makan too.... den later chinozie order another separate sotong n ayam cause i think he saw my plate one.. ahahahaha.. den later when his one arrived sifoo allan oso gatal mau makan oso n order too.. ahhaahahahaha..

(3) I would like to say Thannk You Arigato Gozaimash to Master of super sifo Allan aka QiW for giving me the SEG steering.. thanks again.. i'll get it fix 2day.. ehehehehehehe..

(4) Next, came our super samurai sifo master zul n while he was walking to our table he show off his new t-shirt.. cheh.. ingat apa.. ahahahahaahahahaha.. den as usual he will sit down n start his sifoo teaching apprentice punya class.. ahhahaahahaha.. den chinozie bring his cable plug n show to master sifooo zul but sifooo gave him one piece of advise "watever u buy only look for BRANDED".. dis is the quote of the day for TTT session last night.. ahahahahahaah! den i ask sifo zul about oil temp from brothers oso cap ayam but he said dat one lain case mar i oredi got test liao mar.. proven ok la.. so kira SIRIM chop oredi by sifo zul for stuff at brothers accessories shop.. keekekekekeke.... :D

(5) Next came EG9 sifooo the super IMEC.. heheehehe.. opppps... came wif one of his fren n den i join him at one corner side talking about 4A-GTE plan! wahhh dengar oredi shiokkk la dun wanna play NA liao.... ahahahahahaahahaa! dat time oso our discussion was also commented by sifu netmatrix n banzai oso.. eehehehee.. hmmm 4A-GTE? can consider man.. heehhehee.... Chu, good for u la all oso planned out oredi for the next development.. ehhhehehe...

(6) Many of us were asking where is super duper sifooo acoustic? why he din turn up? it leaves us to many worries, suspicious, etc.. hmmm.. some said sifoo acoustic mebbe still havin beer, some said he might on MC, some said he dun wan come cause malu of the photo posted by brian, some said he mebbe got lots of work at office, etc... hmmm.. i wonder which reason is dat.. ahahahahahaahahaha! sorry chin juz joking.. eheheheheeh...

(7) So tom's @ alvin was the 1st one to chow 1st n as usual he will answer 2moro kerja la beb.. mau balik awal tidor ohhh.. heheehehehe.. he oso said his gf car belom lagi buat sound system.. hmm.. mebbe can ask sifoo acoustic he can do it for u? heheheeh... somemore alvin was seen shaking hand to a guy whom i dun know his name but he was oso being announced by sifooo zul dat alvin got great placing overtaking somebody at SS04.. ehehehehe... congrats alvin san!

(8) Later, after a while of session, there seem to be 2 group separated from the TTT session.. one group heading north n the other one heading south.. ahahahahaha.. north team leaded by master sifooo zul goes to check out khairul fast car n oso other car also.. ehehhehehe.. n de other group go n check out bucho_jr car.. nice AE92 headlamp and front body! arrrrggggggggggggg! when can i do mine?? So it left only me and netmatrix sitting n tok kok sing song.. hahaahahaha....

(9) Later the group back n at dat time sifooo zul n khairul sudah chow oredi n rupa-rupanya heading to ampang.. patot la 2 of them signalling each other where i accidentally notice upon during the entire TT session.. ahahahahaahahahahah!

(10) Chang, the O2 sensor u can check it out at kg subang there after terminal 3 further in a bit got 2 halfcut shop.. i bought from there only mine for RM50.. no need spend so much RM400 for one O2 sensor.. the most important is to get the reading work n oso make sure ur fuel consumption back 2 normal although spending new u get new feeling but 2nd hand O2 sensor oso works de same.. u check urs how many wires one n den try ask.. if urs is 2 wire den try get 4 wire one which is more advisable by sifooo aussie william.. ehehehehehehe.... :)

Last but not least, the TT ended at about 12.30am midnite.. so it was only left me, chang, netmatrix, shamburke & fx20v.. we chow at that time n thanks to all for coming n glad that we all have a great time.. ehehehehe.. but b4 we chow that time there is one monster black SEG tengah shiok testing car lap at nearby TTT.. fuhhh! although he is using auto tranny the sound n speed memang menakutkan.. hahaahahahahahahahahaah... ok la guys till then our next TTT session will be at JANUARY 2005! So to all of you Merry X'mas & Happy New Year 2005! New year wif new vision & mission! Sayonara!

Regards,
Mike

No problem...im glad im helping in a way........

but serious blacktop is damn kaw fast wooorrr....

anyway...chasiss is very2 important...i remember watch option n best motoring...keiichi and gan san.......

whenever they test a new car..............mesti keluar about body rigidity..last time i tot its the absorber...........but lastly its the chasis itself.and fuck,they can sense a weak and strong chasiss wooorrr

Originally posted by TRD16v@Dec 18 2004, 09:20
(10) Chang, the O2 sensor u can check it out at kg subang there after terminal 3 further in a bit got 2 halfcut shop.. i bought from there only mine for RM50.. no need spend so much RM400 for one O2 sensor.. the most important is to get the reading work n oso make sure ur fuel consumption back 2 normal although spending new u get new feeling but 2nd hand O2 sensor oso works de same.. u check urs how many wires one n den try ask.. if urs is 2 wire den try get 4 wire one which is more advisable by sifooo aussie william.. ehehehehehehe.... :)
OK Mike, thanx for the report & ur info. will get it fixed by today itself..

$40 for 200km... bankrupt siol

wahahaahahhahahahah ... ghost of NPE is back in business this time with a stiffer chassis .... be afraid .. be very afraid :ph34r:

mike,
thanks a usual for the report B)

chang,
our is 4 wire o2 sensor ... but ermmm silvertop and blacktop got a bit difference la :ph34r: :lol:

yoga,
no prob man.. heehehehe... :)

chang,
yeap try to test out 1st n check ngam or not.. rm40 for 200km pokkai man...

zul,
yep chassis important man somemore our car old liao sure got place karat.. dats why when i repaint it next year i'll ask the person 2 check n weld if any place are not so good.. :)

Aisehhh i forgot to add one thing into the TTT Report but i would juz said it here.. during the TT time i was talking to allan den suddenly i turn my head n noticed one cun gal wearing red t-shirt n oso tight short jeans.. wahhh damn cun.. good body n nice.. den allan saw me looking he oso looking den duno who call allan n allan says "dun tok to me i am concentrating at other things now".. ahahahahahaahahahahaha! :D :D

Regards,
Mike

Originally posted by TRD16v@Dec 18 2004, 10:53
yoga,
no prob man.. heehehehe... :)

chang,
yeap try to test out 1st n check ngam or not.. rm40 for 200km pokkai man...

zul,
yep chassis important man somemore our car old liao sure got place karat.. dats why when i repaint it next year i'll ask the person 2 check n weld if any place are not so good.. :)

Aisehhh i forgot to add one thing into the TTT Report but i would juz said it here.. during the TT time i was talking to allan den suddenly i turn my head n noticed one cun gal wearing red t-shirt n oso tight short jeans.. wahhh damn cun.. good body n nice.. den allan saw me looking he oso looking den duno who call allan n allan says "dun tok to me i am concentrating at other things now".. ahahahahahaahahahahaha! :D :D

Regards,
Mike
I noticed that girl too...huh...damn! :P

Originally posted by banzai+Dec 18 2004, 09:37 -->
QUOTE (banzai @ Dec 18 2004, 09:37 )
--QuoteBegin-TRD16v
@Dec 18 2004, 09:20

OK Mike, thanx for the report & ur info. will get it fixed by today itself..

$40 for 200km... bankrupt siol [/b][/quote]
Chang, when you go there and buy? let me know haa... i also looking for one la... suspecting my O2 also kong edi... or if you go then buy one for me ya..

TQ :D

Chang,
U can buy for 4agze @ Lee but dun 4get to charge interest rate n petrol claim. hahaahahahahahaahah! :D :lol: :ph34r:

Regards,
Mike

Originally posted by yolk@Dec 18 2004, 10:35
wahahaahahhahahahah ... ghost of NPE is back in business this time with a stiffer chassis .... be afraid .. be very afraid :ph34r:

mike,
thanks a usual for the report B)

chang,
our is 4 wire o2 sensor ... but ermmm silvertop and blacktop got a bit difference la :ph34r: :lol:
mch knn ccb (allan style :lol:) i told u oledy, the ghost sudah kena halau (tapau) liao! i witnessed it with my own eyes!! iketani pengsan! oops wrong news :P

i mean the ghost has been banished by the power of LSD! sao pei liao :lol:

the stretch is cleaned, everyone dun have to be afraid to travel there anymore, except sifu yolk lah.. coz the ghost got cling on his back like the movie "Shutter" one.. always target him liao... :lol: coz its idol mah wakakakakaa

haha good report mike, thanks! :D

Yoga, i already found one, it's taken from blktop engine. 4 wire O2 sensor. pinjam from my mech 1st. if confirm my sensor kaput, then i'll go source for it.

Lee, i'll inform you when i go look for it. ur car high fuel consumption also ar?? trying revving at 7-8K back, instead of your usual 9-10K rpm. it works.

Hi mike, I took a short nap around 9pm and thought of going around 11, but woke up 1am liao, so didn't go.

Congrats AE80typeD and GT20v for supreb chassis improvement :) - sifu GT20v, when help improve my sis's LE ???

hmm... wanted to join... but company dinner ended at almost 11pm.. then bla bla.. yada yada.. 12am+... sigh...

chang,
:lol: :lol: :lol:

brian,
wahhh company dinner ar? manyak nice food n cun chicks kar? ehehehehehe.. :D

Regards,
Mike

no mention of the DIY workshop one ??? hahaahahahaa .. :P
pics to come later .. huahahaahahahaa ...