Toyota SEG(AE101) Speedometer/RPM meter problem

Adam6262

Hi sifus,

I am new here and have purchased one SEG(Auto) recently. As I found out the speedometer(the needle) is not working and the RPM is not accurate too. I have gone to many kereta potong shops and could not find any similar except the Japan version. However the Jap's version has got 4 sockets compare to mine only 3 sockets. Also my existing cluster meter I believe is not ori. It could be from a Manual Transmission. It has been changed before. But potong kereta shop will not sell the meter with socket, rite.

Sent to wireman, the guys will just said changed the whole cluster meter but where to find?? And they said this cannot be repaired. But I believe there is probably a way to do it. I have opened up the odometer and can't find any obvious physical defect.
I'm thinking if i can just directly change the speedometer/rpm from the jap's cluster meter to solve this problem. Can anyone give some advice or if you have any contact, pls let me know.

Thanks.:driver:

Attached are photos of my cluster meter.

• 25062013(006).jpg
    25062013(006).jpg
    104.3 KB · Views: 1,874
  • 26062013(002).jpg
    26062013(002).jpg
    121.6 KB · Views: 1,082
toyota xpert mechanic that i know : -

1) Ah Nga - Kajang Bandar Tek, - 012-704 8869
2) Boy - Kajang Town -016973 1527

Thank you Mr Wong. I will probably look for them once I am running out of choices as their distance is a bit far from my place in Klang. Right now I have found one in Klang for help. I will probably need to do some tuning as the current FC is on the high side.

I am just thinking since everyone said the meter cannot be repaired, any suggestion if i can just take out the speedometer and rpm meter and changed it directly with one from kereta potong but the meter is a jap's one - up to 180km/h only. Any recommendation or anyone has tried it before. For this i will hv to fork out rm150-200...

if you know some electronics stuff try repair yourself. My rpm meter also same not accurate and sometimes not working. Dismantle it and take out the meter. High chance is the capacitor leaking, buy the caps from rs-online or locally and solder yourself if possible. I replace the caps on my speedo and tachnometer.

Dude, doubt if Adam ever came back visiting this forum. Last login was 2013. You having same problem can proceed creating new topic.