toyota mrs?

Originally posted by MK84@Jan 2 2005, 03:41
Hmmm 138 is another engine I think, got mixed up. 130 is correct.

MR-S has no boot at the rear, it has an oven instead. :lol:
1ZZFE on MRS is rated at 140HP. On dyno many spyder owners seen 120-128HP. Relatively little loss of HP due to rear engine /direct transmission , unlike front engine/rear wheel drive cars where up to 30% loss is expected.

*Dyno charts of fellow members are available on my hard disk.

up to 6400rpm the 1ZZFE and the 2ZZGE on dyno you will see almost similar chart (however, the 2ZZGE has a slightly better torque) . Beyond 6800rpm, 1ZZFE has reach it peak BUT the 2ZZGE continues to climb. With port-polish and aftermarket ECU, modded valve springs a 2ZZGE could rise to 9k rpm B)

Here is the big million dollar question on WHY the stupid toyota didn't choose the 2ZZGE on the MRS.
It's been suggested the the sudden hike when the GTS (2ZGE) begins "LIFT" @6800rpm, it will upset the car balance. This could be a big liability to corporate USA when and if "normal" drivers will sue for sudden or loss of control due to the hike in HP. Technically this is not a problem for elise as only "purist enthusiast" buys over US40K for the elise mk2. (MRS is sold at MRSP US26K)

anyway, if someone who is willing to spulge for a MRS with intention of a faster car, the TOM's MRS at visionmotorsports is a good guage (if they are will to sell at RM190K) technicaly after judging the overseas (TOM's) parts they have at least RM40K worth of parts in there. (turbo, suspention, kit, etc)

Mind you a 200HP MRS (with a curb weight of under 980kg) is :o :o :o :o

BUT al this nothing compared to ahem a modded 3.0L ;)

Also, the cooler MK84 was talking about is the front compartment area where there was a spyder owner who put ice and beer in there (realitively good insulation to act as a cooler) *picture on my hard disk.

is this going to be a non stopping question on how MRS going to perform compared to other makes? i'm getting bored wif it lar...

if others dont like MRS or DOUBT the performance... we can always SLUGS it out on the KK TOUGE... :D or the BENTONG TOUGE... :lol:

REAL MEN RACE DOWNHILL.... :P

Originally posted by prophecy316@Jan 3 2005, 12:14
i thought it was mad and cheecky japanse men only. (esp the hamsap old touge master) :lol: :lol:

anyway info update on 1/4 mile times of US MRS.

URL : http://monkeywrenchracing.com/1-4miletimes/1-4milemr2s.htm

toyota USA rated the 1zzfe at 138hp. but J-spec MRS rated at 130hp.

http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/Pit/9975/dataBySubject/GasolineEngines.html
according to the link 1zzfe in finland is rated at whoopin 142hp :huh:

i'm quite blur already

Time to organize another KK/FRASER-BETONG 'convoy'. Will see how the MRS out run the bigger powered MkII at the twisties.

Originally posted by rollakid@Jan 3 2005, 16:49
toyota USA rated the 1zzfe at 138hp. but J-spec MRS rated at 130hp.

http://www.geocities.com/MotorCity/Pit/9975/dataBySubject/GasolineEngines.html
according to the link 1zzfe in finland is rated at whoopin 142hp :huh:

i'm quite blur already
US 1ZZFE ~ additional O2 sensor loop for emission. hence the slightly "lower" ratings.

JSpec MRS has only 2 O2 sensors on the cat, where as US has addional O2 sensor on exhaust downpipe.

else check www.toyota.co.jp for proper info.
http://toyota.jp/Showroom/All_toyota_lineup/Mr-s/menu/mechanism.html

displacement : 1.794L
maximum power : NET*5103kW?140PS?/6,400r.p.m.
maximum torque : NET*5171N?m?17.4kg?m?/4,400r.p.m.

http://www.corollaperformance.com/TechInfo/1ZZFE.html
140PS = 139 HP (in abouts)

BTW I have the SAE technical paper for both engines..... (as sumitted for approval for US bound vehicles by US Government law)

Originally posted by MellowYellow@Jan 3 2005, 16:52
Time to organize another KK/FRASER-BETONG 'convoy'. Will see how the MRS out run the bigger powered MkII at the twisties.
then i shall stay at home and continue producting metal oxide

FOR SALE!
METAL OXIDE FROM MR2 SW20
RM0.50 per gram
-.-"

Originally posted by koolspyda+Jan 3 2005, 12:44 -->
QUOTE (koolspyda @ Jan 3 2005, 12:44 )
--QuoteBegin-prophecy316
@Jan 3 2005, 12:14

i thought it was mad and cheecky japanse men only. (esp the hamsap old touge master) :lol: :lol: [/b][/quote]
we are half way there.... :lol:

Originally posted by MellowYellow@Jan 3 2005, 16:52
wei wei FWD uncle car allowed to follow or not !??!?! i also wanna go eat "tauge" laaaaa ... but i promise to drive with two hands and not just one hand tape to the steering :rolleyes: :lol:

Originally posted by yolk+Jan 4 2005, 12:09 -->
QUOTE (yolk @ Jan 4 2005, 12:09 )
--QuoteBegin-MellowYellow
@Jan 3 2005, 16:52

wei wei FWD uncle car allowed to follow or not !??!?! i also wanna go eat "tauge" laaaaa ... but i promise to drive with two hands and not just one hand tape to the steering :rolleyes: :lol: [/b][/quote]
no lar tape for EG6 only. :lol: FWD uncle car can go everywhere

dun tell me you corner no brake again :ph34r: :lol: