To build a driftable 180sx

TODA

warning: noob questions will be asked here so pls bear with it! :cry_smile:

I nvr own nor drifted an FR b4 but I always wanted 2 own 'flying chicken' in my younger days, now its S15 that i really dig but its far 2 much for my budget....

so Im seeking advice here for my plan 2 build a 180 for weekend use:

1) CAR: how many versions of 180sx r there?
2) CAR: which platform is the best -> worst?
3) ENGINE bay: I know we have CA18DE, DET, SR20DE, DET engine flavors rite....anything bsides that?
4) PARTS: what parts are essential to change? LSD, tyres, shocks, wheels ...etc?
5) DRIFT: hmmm.....where 2 train myself?
6) EXTRA: anything i should pay extra attention to?
7) CARE: where are the reasonably good workshops?

TQ in advance!

TODA said:
warning: noob questions will be asked here so pls bear with it! :cry_smile:

I nvr own nor drifted an FR b4 but I always wanted 2 own 'flying chicken' in my younger days, now its S15 that i really dig but its far 2 much for my budget....

so Im seeking advice here for my plan 2 build a 180 for weekend use:

1) CAR: how many versions of 180sx r there?
2) CAR: which platform is the best -> worst?
3) ENGINE bay: I know we have CA18DE, DET, SR20DE, DET engine flavors rite....anything bsides that?
4) PARTS: what parts are essential to change? LSD, tyres, shocks, wheels ...etc?
5) DRIFT: hmmm.....where 2 train myself?
6) EXTRA: anything i should pay extra attention to?
7) CARE: where are the reasonably good workshops?

TQ in advance!

1. **i'll leave this to Alex to answer**
2. **i'll leave this to Alex to answer**

3. there is also a KA24de, but thats only for US market.
4. for drift ? get a good suspension, 2 way lsd, spare rims and alot of tyres.
5. you can always join SODA sessions. (PM me for more)
6. for the 180 you'd need to pay attention to the rear part of the car.
as it doesnt have any support beams because of the 3 pieces of glass.
the Japs normally 'reinforce' this part with a lot of strut brace, etc.

When looking around for a 180, make sure you throughly check the car. :regular_smile:

1. Around 6 or 7 versions. Forgot already...try do a search on Google and see if u can find any. From my own findings b4 I got mine:

1989 March - 1991 Jan Type I CA18DET [HICAS & non-HICAS]
1991 Jan - 1992 Jan Type I & II Red Top SR20DET [Super HICAS & non-HICAS]
1992 Jan - 1994 Jan Type I, II & III Minor changes
1994 Jan - 1996 Aug Type R & X Black Top SR20DET [Super HICAS & non-HICAS]
1996 Aug - 1998 Dec Type R & X [Turbo] Round taillights :_:
1996 Aug - 1998 Dec Type S & G [NA] Round taillights, non-turbo & non-HICAS

2. Obviously newer model is better coz of chasis ageing issue but generally S13 chasis is considered by many to be on the weaker side so like gti88 said, get those braces, strut bars, stabilizer bars, roll cages etc to strengthen the overall chasis rigidity and you're good to go.

On another note, better to get one preferably with SR20DET mainly because of parts issue. CA18DET is a really nice engine [I have a soft spot for it also] but parts are hard to come by unless you know where to look or got lubang. Plus, the TOMEI kit is so darn tempting hahaha! :laugh:

Maintenance wise so far I have no major issues with mine [maybe coz I drive like apek :confused_smile: ] so you should be fine when you find one. Water pump all those wear and tear problems biasa la [mine kong-ed one week after I got the car :emoticon_U: ]

Regards;

thks for the good info guys!

actually i did some reading b4, but that time I was reading HK car magz so not sure whether it applies to all models here, now i know........any URL recommendation is appreciated.......

so far......
1) newer the better
2) as above, dun really hav any preference, but i really dig those round taillights (type X) - can add on anytime later. btw, wats HICAS?
3) my choice of engine definitely would b SR20DET,
4) 2 way LSD, good suspensions, spare rims & tyres for sideway sessions
5) SODA, sounds like a brand name heheh, anyway cool.....Nick PM u when im rdy
6) getting those reinforcements are must - noted

Alex, Tomei.......sounds turbolicious man, get it! dun say drive like apek coz i know, u know lah.......hahaahah u must hav 'kong-ed'-out the water pump!

I realize I cant get loan for this car rite? starting w a cheaper stock car would b better I think...

5.) Lots of driver seat time , it's ALL from the driver and not the car ( well at least a FR layout , lsd and decent suspension)