[Tire] - Autocross Tire

chinozie

Very Young Member... :D
Orait let us discuss what tire suitable for autoX...

- feedback
- performance wise
- have you use it, how was it ?
- which one you prefer
- UTQG graded is it as stated as it is
- ETC

it's all about tech talk...be serious we might use these as references...TQ

----------------------------------------------------

Some kick start, tech reference links (pdf files):

1) http://www.yokohamatire.com/pdf/ADVANNeovaBulletin.pdf
2) http://www.yokohamatire.com/pdf/AO48.pdf
3) http://www.yokohamatire.com/pdf/AO32Rbltn.pdf
4) http://www.yokohamatire.com/pdf/paradaspc2.pdf
5) http://www.toyojapan.com/new_tires/proxes_r888/proxes_r888.pdf

Links :

1) http://www.bfgoodrichtires.com/specs/g-force-sport/2964.html
2) http://www.bfgoodrichtires.com/specs/g-force-t-a-kd/21.html

----------------------------------------------------------
tire reviews :

1) tire rack

I've Used

On K-Car AD07 - champion tire, sharp response, grip from cold.

On FF - AD07 - as above
A048 just likeAD07 only grippier

On FR AD07 and ES100

faisal,
looks like ur a real YOKOHAMA man ei?

as 4 me...haf been using AD07 on my EF ever since i got d car....GREAT STUFF!
on my ex-EG9....tried Silverstone FTZ...bang-4-buck tires....
lasted mea few "play" sessions in BT3 Speedway n SIC

clement,
A048?familiar but wat sorta tyre r they?semis or regular street tyres?

faisal,
looks like ur a real YOKOHAMA man ei?
Not so much Yoko man but I've experienced 3 brands in AutoX an my conclusion is:

Yoko - AD07 & ES100 - I'd pay my own money

Falken - St115 oso I don't mind paying - good value actually

BFG Sports - Only if it was free. Too expensive (AD07 price) for the performance ( slightly lower than ES100)

Conti CSC1/2s... dunno how would fare in autox, but they withstood touge runs much better than ST115. However they don't fare very well for drifting.

ContiSportsContact2 are awesome. but mahal wei.

ContiSportsContact1 are OE on Satria NEO.. but not made in German. localised.

Hehe yeah.... CSC1 even localised, held up better than ST115. Now been whacking CSC2 on and off, car came with it. Hehe.

personally,i dun like d ST115....ard d track(SIC),it does not haf enough "feeL" 2 gauge if ur actually reaching/breaching d limit of d tyres....dats how i felt ler.....
now i wonder if those Silverstone EVOL8s r any good?kinda pricey if u get wat i mean..yet,ppl r still buying it....my local tyre shop seems 2 b doin good business by keeping stock if these tyres....coz no1 has it here!n der r actually demand 4 it!

hey that silverstone EVO8 is quite cheap though.~

about rm150-160 for a 15"

i had my 14" eagle F1 for RM160..quite good though...

alantan,
hurh?how come ur place so cheap?.....last i checked,even d FTZs r goin 4 dat sorta price in my place....d EVOL8 was quoted >RM2XX
anyway,wud like 2 enquire oso....wats d market price now for 195/55/15 AD07 n ST115?...will b needing new tyres soon

personally,i dun like d ST115....ard d track(SIC),it does not haf enough "feeL" 2 gauge if ur actually reaching/breaching d limit of d tyres....dats how i felt ler.....
Try running the ST115 on higher pressures. I discovered when run at 31psi cold the tires were squirmy due to softer sidewalls as compared to AD07s.

However after pumping up to 36 psi. the tires transformed.

faisal,
thx but 36psi?......err....wat will happen after say a few out n out laps ard SIC?...won it b too hard?.....hmmm...nvm..ask no use 1..must try n c 4 ownself,right?
ok ,thx again...
so,wat r u running now on ur AE?

i have driven on 2 sets of them EVO 8 silverstones liauu .. grip quite good but still lose out to AD07 la of coz .. i would say the grip is better than average but the tyres cannot tahan the heat from trashing too many corners and when overheat liauu of coz tend to under under laa .. and have to pump it up a little coz sidewalls not that great if u wanna push it .. say about 34psi and above depending on what u wanna do ..
tyres lasted apprx 8months with daily 100km+ use + 2 rounds autoX ..
noise level quite acceptable even close to threadwear habis liauu compared with some other tyres ..
was using 205/45/16 then .. purchase price was rm240 (i think) in jan 2005 when it just launched ...

faisal,
thx but 36psi?......err....wat will happen after say a few out n out laps ard SIC?...won it b too hard?.....hmmm...nvm..ask no use 1..must try n c 4 ownself,right?
ok ,thx again...
so,wat r u running now on ur AE?
In SIC, depending on driving style , on average with a properly driven car, tire pressures usually go up by 2-3 psi. Only if driven like a total idiot, say understeering everywhich way, would tire pressures go up by 5-6 psi.

With my AE, thanks to to it's chassis' inherrent grip & balance, at 38 psi it's still ok with ST115 in the dry. In fact now on the road I keep it at 40psi (cold). even for Sunday touges

My AE - AD07 (Fr) ST115 (Rr)

QiW,
ui....lasted u only 8 months?sum more daily 100km+ usage only....n it only lasted 4 8months?now dats scary.....

faisal,
thx agian 4 d tyre pressure tip.....now,since ur using AD07 (Fr) n ST115 (Rr),dis means AD07 is grippier,right?...but oiyoorr....40psi (cold)???.....either ur suspension r really supple or u got a very good back bone...hehehehe
i drive daily w 32psi oredy d ride is ridiculiously harsh....suspension medium setting