timming belt????

bullet_7037

Hi guys, hope u guys can help me. Izzit true for Mivec, Vtec, Vvti and Dvvt engine not using timming belt.....and they using timming chain????correct me if wrong, if true how to maintence n check this thing? If timming belt...got to replace every 80,000 or 100,000 km (gud quality belt one) so how about timming chain...n izzit costly than timming belt???

Thx in advance....peace

as far as i noe.. nissan cars uses timing chain.. does not haf any life spend.. use till it gives out problem n sound then only change.. usually mileage about 150000 to 200000 km.. for timing belts 80000 km mileage would be ideal to change once.. but if wana be on de safest side about 65000 km mileage can change oredi.. cheers :regular_smile:

timing belt

I know the k20a honda accord uses timing chain..

As for others..i m not sure......

putra4767 said:
I know the k20a honda accord uses timing chain..

As for others..i m not sure......

thx for replied,

even senior member oso not sure!!! i tot dis very basic2 thing.....

no wonder no topic discuss before, ada pun juz blur jerrr...

anybody or mod noe abt dis matter?

thx again.....peace

all i know is that timing chains are better and longer lasting..but heavy and noisy compared to timing belt.

mine is using timing belt but the thing is i just got this 2nd hd car for few months time and i have no idea whether the previous owner did change it before or not......... but still no time to get it fix yet. Wondering it will broken someday when i'm driving it.... touchwood

ryan05.. i think is better to change ur timing belt cause its a 2nd hand car.. u wont know how the previouse owner take car of the car.. touchwood, i'm sure u dont want it to snap cause it will give u a big headache n a big hole in ur pocket..

yeah........ understand that. Not dare to take a risk in this matter .........

new engines from Honda (all I-VTEC and I-DSI) is using timing chain as all VVTI engines from Toyota.

others like the 1.3 myvi also using timing chain even though the ogirinal 1.3 engine carbie from rusa and old kembara (EFI) was using belt driven camshaft.

this is the fight wo win customers heart. when use chain as we all know maintenance would be lower coz no need change timing belt.

and nowadays, with the technology available, timing chain is made tu run smoother and quieter unlike the days of 70s like the K series engine from Toyota.

the Unser (using 7K engine) also still maintain using chain instead of belt.

just bought it 2 days ago....... rm 95 plus bearing and seal all together will comes at rm 165 - for sohc. Btw, for those who's still using belt like me.....how long will it take b4 you all change the belt ?! 60,000 km or 80,000 ?! The shop i went to told me that even the original belt can last for 60k only, bear the risk if you wanna wait longer ......

Write your reply...