timing belt

eddie368

any sifu knows how long can wira 1.5 timing belt lasts?
the timing belt tat i use now are mitsuoka brand. If mmc timing belt how long can it last
tq ..

eddie368 said:
any sifu knows how long can wira 1.5 timing belt lasts?
the timing belt tat i use now are mitsuoka brand. If mmc timing belt how long can it last
tq ..

normally is 100,000km...but u can chage it at 80,000-90,000 if u wan....

in cold weather countries, we can always stick to 100,000km recommended cam belt change.

due to our extreme hot weather and drive environment it is strongly recommended to change earlier. the range is, as huakenny mentioned, between 80-90,000km. some people do take the limit to an extend but its a very high risk game. once the belt snapped, repairs could be expensive.

certain engines however are designed to have minimal damage even after timing belt snapped.

in my knowledge most Toyota 8V petrol and 16V petrol engines can still run just by changing the timing belt set even after the belt snapped or jumped few teeth. the 12V wont make it anyway.

all Mitsubishi engines (including Proton) will have internal engine damage if timing belt snapped. Alfa Romeo's Boxer 8V and 16V engines as well as the 2.5/3.0 V6 require belt replacement at 30,000km. u try to extend and the belt will snapped not long after..say, like 31,000km. the 1.8 8V and 2.0 8V twin spark however chain driven camshaft.

only since mid nineties did the inline 16 valves engine series with twin spark (sharing the same block as Fiat cars) require 100,000km change.

timing chain used to be noisier than toothed cam belt, but as technology improves the timing chain is back in use. low maintenance is one of important criteria of good car sales. all toyota cars are now utilising fully the use of timing chain. this includes 1NZ-FE 1.5 for VIOS, 1ZZ-FE and 3ZZ-FE for Altis, and AZ-FE series for Camry.

sorry other topics...
i owned a slk 660....oledi 5 yrs..i bought 2nd hand one..and buy oledi bout 2 yrs..but never change timing belt...not sure previous owner change o not....should i change it??ask oledi and cost bout RM280.....mileage now oledi 60k....

100,000km alredy got tolerance .
but have to change early , especially if u always stuck in traffic jam .

trueno said:
sorry other topics...
i owned a slk 660....oledi 5 yrs..i bought 2nd hand one..and buy oledi bout 2 yrs..but never change timing belt...not sure previous owner change o not....should i change it??ask oledi and cost bout RM280.....mileage now oledi 60k....

60,000km...........stil can drive la....change at 70k-80k la if u so worry....

rm280 is not expensive if completed set wit bearing...al tat..

hehehe...ask Accord Racing la...maybe cheaper..he got sell ma..

normally the tmg belt kits got 2 type,100k or 60k,price quite much different,100k tmg kits need to change around 80k or within 3 year,60k need to change around 50k within 2 year,if more than tat,just take ur own risk ^^;
huekenny,thank 4 ur recommendation

my timing belt also start giving me sqeeky noisy, especially after going through puddle of waters... i've done 55k km on my mileage... mayb my next trip balik ipoh only change la....

sifu sifu, what happen if the timing belt snapped ar??... will it break any part of ur engine??... jz have to call AAM and ask them replace the belt on the spot??... no need tow rite??...

dont wrongly understand between timing belt and auxiliary fan belt. they are 2 different items with specific function.

if power strg belt snapped, we will lose power assist to the steering. for altenator, we will lose charging to the battery.

some cars for example use only 1 auxiliary belt to drives power steering pump, alternator and aircond compressor instead of normally.

if timing belt snapped, there is huge possibility the engine has internal damage. normally caused by piston surface hit the valve surface.

the end result = valve bengkok, piston caved-in.

best to change a timing belt around 70k to b safe o the lastest 80k dun try goin higher.. higher u go, the higher ur risk... cause follow manufacturer spec, cause when u r stuck at traffic, idling n etc ur milage meter is not moving so how u wat the milage when u r idling o stuck at traffic jam... :smile:

means any belt snap no big problem but if timing belt snap then cialat la...
okok, thanks sifu sifu...

try not to snap any belt in the car... all those belt got reason there... but timing belt worse... cost a bigger amount of money compared to the other beltings..

hmm.. my car's auxiliary belt actually drives the water pump if i'm not wrong. Coz it happened once that the belt snapped, i lost both power stering and temperature shot sky high.

Back to timing belt... never take it for granted. My old engine's belt snapped once... crapz all the valves bent...

best to resort to chain driven camshaft...he he..easily can go 400,000km! :D

which is equivalent to 5 times timing belt change.

SkYwAlKeR said:
chain??... how to convert to chain type??... waa...

sky..change engine laa.... :lol:

otherwise change to latest japanese cars like camry, altis, vios if not mistaken other manufacturers like nissan and honda also now using timing chain. back to the future??